Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Lost HDMI audio at some point
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 7:07 pm    Post subject: Lost HDMI audio at some point Reply with quote

Hi,

I've noticed that sometime in the last few months audio over HDMI stopped working on my htpc. I know it used to work, but I'm not sure which change broke it.

Code:

# lspci | grep -i audio
00:07.0 Audio device: NVIDIA Corporation MCP72XE/MCP72P/MCP78U/MCP78S High Definition Audio (rev a1)


Code:

# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Code:

# aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
hdmi:CARD=NVidia,DEV=0
    HDA NVidia, HDMI 0
    HDMI Audio Output


Code:

# egrep "^[^#].*SND.*" .config
CONFIG_SND=y
CONFIG_SND_TIMER=y
CONFIG_SND_PCM=y
CONFIG_SND_DYNAMIC_MINORS=y
CONFIG_SND_VMASTER=y
CONFIG_SND_KCTL_JACK=y
CONFIG_SND_DMA_SGBUF=y
CONFIG_SND_PCI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_PREALLOC_SIZE=64
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y


I can't get anything out of
Code:
speaker-test -c2 -Dhw:0,3
or
Code:
mplayer -ao alsa:device=hdmi
, but neither report any errors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5909

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

usually it is either driver or kernel update, which of them was updated recently?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
usually it is either driver or kernel update, which of them was updated recently?


It's been months since I've used audio, over which the kernel has been upgraded multiple times(Currently running gentoo-sources-3.4.0)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5909

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
usually it is either driver or kernel update, which of them was updated recently?


It's been months since I've used audio, over which the kernel has been upgraded multiple times(Currently running gentoo-sources-3.4.0)


you can try doing a regression test by booting different kernel images (assuming you save them) and find the right one.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
usually it is either driver or kernel update, which of them was updated recently?


It's been months since I've used audio, over which the kernel has been upgraded multiple times(Currently running gentoo-sources-3.4.0)


you can try doing a regression test by booting different kernel images (assuming you save them) and find the right one.


Well, 3.0.3, 3.3.0, and 3.4.0 are all broken. I'll hunt down some older ones when I have some free time, I guess...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Methinks you may have stumbled across same issue as me. The driver advanced and needs configuring now. What's in your /etc/asound.conf.
_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2012 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jaglover wrote:
Methinks you may have stumbled across same issue as me. The driver advanced and needs configuring now. What's in your /etc/asound.conf.


Code:

$ cat /etc/asound.conf
pcm.!default {
        type hw
        card 0
        device 3
}
ctl.!default {
        type hw
        card 0
        device 3
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
usually it is either driver or kernel update, which of them was updated recently?


It's been months since I've used audio, over which the kernel has been upgraded multiple times(Currently running gentoo-sources-3.4.0)


you can try doing a regression test by booting different kernel images (assuming you save them) and find the right one.


I've tried back to vanilla-sources-2.6.32.59 which is the oldest in portage.

Any ideas on how to debug this as if I were starting from scratch?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5909

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
usually it is either driver or kernel update, which of them was updated recently?


It's been months since I've used audio, over which the kernel has been upgraded multiple times(Currently running gentoo-sources-3.4.0)


you can try doing a regression test by booting different kernel images (assuming you save them) and find the right one.


I've tried back to vanilla-sources-2.6.32.59 which is the oldest in portage.

Any ideas on how to debug this as if I were starting from scratch?

have you found a pivot point?
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DaggyStyle wrote:
El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
usually it is either driver or kernel update, which of them was updated recently?


It's been months since I've used audio, over which the kernel has been upgraded multiple times(Currently running gentoo-sources-3.4.0)


you can try doing a regression test by booting different kernel images (assuming you save them) and find the right one.


I've tried back to vanilla-sources-2.6.32.59 which is the oldest in portage.

Any ideas on how to debug this as if I were starting from scratch?

have you found a pivot point?


Sorry, I meant to say that no kernel I've tried worked, going back to 2.6.32.59. So no, I have not found a pivot point
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 5909

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 6:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
El_Presidente_Pufferfish wrote:
DaggyStyle wrote:
usually it is either driver or kernel update, which of them was updated recently?


It's been months since I've used audio, over which the kernel has been upgraded multiple times(Currently running gentoo-sources-3.4.0)


you can try doing a regression test by booting different kernel images (assuming you save them) and find the right one.


I've tried back to vanilla-sources-2.6.32.59 which is the oldest in portage.

Any ideas on how to debug this as if I were starting from scratch?

have you found a pivot point?


Sorry, I meant to say that no kernel I've tried worked, going back to 2.6.32.59. So no, I have not found a pivot point

you can try looking at portage's attic of something like this for older ebuild.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jaglover
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 8291
Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2012 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just booted up one of my MythTV frontends with similar hardware and snd_hda_codec_realtek wasn't loaded automatically.

If you have your sound built as modules check if they load. I have:
Code:

  │ │              --- Intel HD Audio                                                                   │ │ 
  │ │              (64)  Pre-allocated buffer size for HD-audio driver                                  │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build hwdep interface for HD-audio driver                                      │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Support digital beep via input layer                                           │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Support jack plugging notification via input layer                             │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Support initialization patch loading for HD-audio                              │ │ 
  │ │              [*]   Build Realtek HD-audio codec support                                           │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]     Build static quirks for Realtek codecs                                       │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build Analog Device HD-audio codec support                                     │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build IDT/Sigmatel HD-audio codec support                                      │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build VIA HD-audio codec support                                               │ │ 
  │ │              [*]   Build HDMI/DisplayPort HD-audio codec support                                  │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build Cirrus Logic codec support                                               │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build Conexant HD-audio codec support                                          │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build Creative CA0110-IBG codec support                                        │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build Creative CA0132 codec support                                            │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build C-Media HD-audio codec support                                           │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Build Silicon Labs 3054 HD-modem codec support                                 │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Enable generic HD-audio codec parser                                           │ │ 
  │ │              [ ]   Aggressive power-saving on HD-audio                                            │ │ 

_________________
My Gentoo installation notes.
Please learn how to denote units correctly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

*shrugs*

Didn't change any kernel settings, but picked up 3 weeks of other changes after a vacation, including nvidia-drivers-304.43 and I have sound again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
v_andal
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 541
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2012 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have the same problem. With kernel 2.6.39-gentoo-r3 works, with 3.4.9-gentoo the HDMI does not work. I did "make oldconfig" for upgrade. The sound inside PC works fine, but when I try to play video through HDMI on TV I get fast playback and no sound. If I boot old kernel things work fine.

lspci:
00:14.2 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Any advice?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
E-Razor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2004
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this in your alsa.conf:

options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
prffzc
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Sep 2005
Posts: 105

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Having same problem as v_andal
Tried E-Razor's solution. Same mplayer running too fast and no sound.

Other ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum