Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0 can't handle Python 3?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1435
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 10:11 am    Post subject: dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0 can't handle Python 3? Reply with quote

'emerge' says:

Code:
>>> Emerging (19 of 49) dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0
 * dbus-python-1.1.0.tar.gz RMD160 SHA1 SHA256 size ;-) ...                        [ ok ]
 * ERROR: dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0 failed (setup phase):
 *   Active version of CPython 3 is not supported by dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0
 *
 * Call stack:
 *       ebuild.sh, line  85:  Called pkg_setup
 *       ebuild.sh, line 319:  Called python_pkg_setup
 *   python.eclass, line 431:  Called _python_calculate_PYTHON_ABIS
 *   python.eclass, line 845:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *                                              die "Active version of CPython 3 is not supported by ${CATEGORY}/${PF}"
 *
 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0'`,
 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0'`.
 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0/temp/die.env'.
 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0'
 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-python/dbus-python-1.1.0/work/dbus-python-1.1.0'
Is that a particular component of python, or is there a specific package of cpython I should be looking at? Should I just block this package and wait for a compatible version?

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6196

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most likely reason for this message is that dbus-python 1.1.0, as far as python 3 is concerned, supports only >=python-3.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you've set python to 3.
Do
Code:

eselect python list

It should look like this:
Code:

pietje@gerard ~ $ eselect python list
Available Python interpreters:
  [1]   python2.7 *
  [2]   python3.2
pietje@gerard ~ $

If it's set to 3.2 reset it to 2.7.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
virtguru
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Aug 2010
Posts: 148
Location: The Greatest Country in the World

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2012 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Im having the same exact problem as well after syncing today:

Code:
Available Python interpreters:
  [1]   python2.7 *
  [2]   python3.1
  [3]   python3.2


*edit*

In my case setting python to 3.2 then it emerged correctly, now running updater, maybe has to do with 3.1 still being active 3.x version ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ExecutorElassus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Posts: 1435
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like the part where two vets give completely contradicting answers :wink:

I've updated to python 3.2, and now I'll see if dbus-python pukes.

Are we still at a stage where some packages simply can't handle python 3? Is it safe to upgrade?

Cheers,

EE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SamuliSuominen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 2133
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2012 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dbus-python-1.1.0 doesn't support Python 3.1, only 3.2.

See,

http://cgit.freedesktop.org/dbus/dbus-python/commit/?id=cdc0ca5c72686aab38a172f14da3b38fe304baa9

Quote:

"+* Python 2.6 or later is now required. If Python 3 is used, it must be version 3.2 or later."


If you don't use Python 3.1 for your own development for some reason, it is recommended to make sure Python 3.2 is installed and uninstall Python 3.1.

Something like,

Code:

emerge -av python:3.2
emerge -C python:3.1
eselect python list
eselect python set python3.2
python-updater


I'm trying to get Python 3.1 removed from Portage here https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=416171 or at least mask it, but some people are being reclutant.

Exactly for reasons like this thread. The obsolete version is causing issues and only confusing people for no gain. Annoying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrozekma
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Jun 2012
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just having the system python set to 2 won't work; it still checks which version of 3 was set. Setting the system python to 3.2 and then switching back to 2 is enough to update the symlink, which will fix the build

Code:
# ls -l /usr/bin/python3
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 9 Jun  7 22:15 /usr/bin/python3 -> python3.1

# eselect python list
Available Python interpreters:
  [1]   python2.6
  [2]   python2.7 *
  [3]   python3.1
  [4]   python3.2

# eselect python set 4
# eselect python set 2
# ls -l /usr/bin/python3
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 9 Jun  7 22:21 /usr/bin/python3 -> python3.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kfirufk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Location: Israel

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:25 am    Post subject: finally resolved the issue Reply with quote

Hello.
I resolved the problem by issuing the following commands:
eselect python update --python2
eselect python update --python3

this sets active interpreter to the latest version which allowed me to compile dbus-python.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logical_guy
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Sep 2007
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrozekma wrote:
Just having the system python set to 2 won't work; it still checks which version of 3 was set. Setting the system python to 3.2 and then switching back to 2 is enough to update the symlink, which will fix the build


Thanks! worked for me too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thistled
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2011
Posts: 572
Location: Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Jul 23, 2012 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I got hit by this today.
I had to eselect to python 3.2 in order for dbus-python to successfully compile. Then I couldn't run the eix-update command, or maybe it was eselect ? :oops:
Anyway, when I eselect python back to 2.7, everything worked again.
_________________
Whatever you do, do it properly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulj
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Sep 2004
Posts: 507
Location: Wales, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 4:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrozekma wrote:
Just having the system python set to 2 won't work; it still checks which version of 3 was set. Setting the system python to 3.2 and then switching back to 2 is enough to update the symlink, which will fix the build


Worked for me too - Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fbcyborg
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 3056
Location: ROMA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!

I've got this problem too, but I have a question now: is it safe to switch to python 3?
I remember that I was suggested to remain to python-2.7 since the version 3 was creating some problem with sources compilation and other issues I've encountered when I switched to python 3 in the past.
As far as I can say, I only use python 3 with portage.
_________________
[HOWTO] Come criptare la /home usando cryptsetup e luks
[HOWTO] Abilitare il supporto al dom0 XEN su kernel 3.X
Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum