Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Brother HL-5370DW installation howto
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2359
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:24 pm    Post subject: Brother HL-5370DW installation howto Reply with quote

Here are the instructions on how to install Brother cupswrapper ppd driver for HL-5370DW

I've combined information from two sources + an additional info.
http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Brother_HL-5150D
http://www.gentoo-wiki.info/Brother_MFC-3240C

You will find Brother drivers at:
http://welcome.solutions.brother.com/bsc/public_s/id/linux/en/download_prn.html#HL-5370DW

Note: Brother has a PPD driver based on: BR-Script3 (ppd file on their web-page)
This driver is of a poor quality (do not use it).
It prints text OK, but if you have a text and graphics mixed on one page the font quality will be very poor (choppy); in addition if you try to print from a scanner through this driver the printer will only prints:
Code:
ERROR NAME;
ioerror
COMMAND;
image
OPERAND STACK;


Better options is to use their cupswrapper driver. Download two files: LPR driver and cupswrapper driver
hl5370dwlpr-2.0.3-1.i386.rpm
cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4-1.i386.rpm

Convert them to tar.gz
Code:
rpm2targz ./hl5370dwlpr-2.0.3-1.i386.rpm
rpm2targz ./cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4-1.i386.rpm

Extract the files:
Code:
# tar zxvf ./hl5370dwlpr-2.0.3-1.i386.tar.gz -C /
./
./usr/
./usr/local/
./usr/local/Brother/
./usr/local/Brother/lpd/
./usr/local/Brother/lpd/psconvert2
./usr/local/Brother/lpd/filterHL5370DW
./usr/local/Brother/lpd/rawtobr2
./usr/local/Brother/inf/
./usr/local/Brother/inf/setupPrintcap
./usr/local/Brother/inf/paperinf
./usr/local/Brother/inf/brHL5370DWfunc
./usr/local/Brother/inf/braddprinter
./usr/local/Brother/inf/brHL5370DWrc
./usr/lib/
./usr/lib/libbrcomplpr2.so
./usr/bin/
./usr/bin/brprintconflsr2
./var/
./var/spool/
./var/spool/lpd/
./var/spool/lpd/HL5370DW/

# tar zxvf ./cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4-1.i386.tar.gz -C /
./
./usr/
./usr/local/
./usr/local/Brother/
./usr/local/Brother/cupswrapper/
./usr/local/Brother/cupswrapper/brcupsconfig3
./usr/local/Brother/cupswrapper/cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4

Code:
# cd /usr/local/Brother/cupswrapper
# mv cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4 cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4.bak

(Change all occurrences of /etc/init.d/cups to /etc/init.d/cupsd)
Code:
# /bin/sed 's/\/etc\/init.d\/cups\ restart/\/etc\/init.d\/cupsd\ restart/g' ./cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4.bak > ./cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4

(If you're on a 64bit system, change all occurrences of /usr/lib/ to /usr/lib32/ )
Can someone add "sed code :-)"

In cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4 change:
Code:
*DefaultOptionTrays: 1Trays

 (Change all occurances of "A4" to "Letter" - for North America) :
*DefaultPageSize: A4
*DefaultPageSize: A4
*DefaultPageRegion: A4
*DefaultImageableArea: A4
*DefaultPaperDimension: A4
Code:
# chmod 755 cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4

Code:
nano -w cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4 (change at the end line "port=usb:/dev/usb/lp0" )
to:
port=lpd://10.0.0.106/BINARY_P1
Substitute your Printer IP address


Modify the file below as listed below:
Code:
nano -w /usr/local/Brother/inf/brHL5370DWrc

[HL5370DW]
Language=LANG_USA
Resolution=600
PaperSource=AutoSelect
Duplex=ON
DuplexType=Long
PaperType=Letter
Media=PlainPaper
Copies=1
Sleep=PrinterDefault
TonerSaveMode=OFF


and the last, install the printer:
Code:
# ./cupswrapperHL5370DW-2.0.4 -i

(for amd64 link from .../lib32/...)

ln -s /usr/lib/cups/filter/brlpdwrapperHL5370DW /usr/libexec/cups/filter/brlpdwrapperHL5370DW
/etc/init.d/cupsd restart

Your printer should be up and running.
_________________
#Joseph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SlashBeast
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 2799

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like all brother drivers are crap, You may be interesed in the ebuild I did https://github.com/slashbeast/foo-overlay/blob/master/net-print/brother-dcp-j315w-drivers/brother-dcp-j315w-drivers-1.ebuild for the DCP-j315w.

Took me awhile time to find one that brother did not provided brlpdwrapperdcpj315w file which is needed by its drivers and I have to symlink it to filterdcpj315w.
_________________
BitBucket -- better-initramfs to address many usecases and linux's limitations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2359
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SlashBeast wrote:
Looks like all brother drivers are crap, You may be interesed in the ebuild I did https://github.com/slashbeast/foo-overlay/blob/master/net-print/brother-dcp-j315w-drivers/brother-dcp-j315w-drivers-1.ebuild for the DCP-j315w.

Took me awhile time to find one that brother did not provided brlpdwrapperdcpj315w file which is needed by its drivers and I have to symlink it to filterdcpj315w.


You took the words out of my mouth, yes Brother printer drivers are complete crap when it comes to Linux.
If one did not modify the file: /usr/local/Brother/inf/br..xxx..rc according to setting I provided the printer will not print Duplex nor you will be able to use front Manual Tray.
They are outdated and not maintained, installation instructions are a dog.

It took me a while to figure all these options.

While we are at it there is a good guide how to reset "toner gear" on Brother cartridges (page 10 on this pdf), resetting the gear will give you few 100-pages more.

http://iwt.kiev.ua/files/BrotherTN550.pdf
_________________
#Joseph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SlashBeast
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 2799

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To modify the settings I think you should use brprintconf_*
_________________
BitBucket -- better-initramfs to address many usecases and linux's limitations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2359
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SlashBeast wrote:
To modify the settings I think you should use brprintconf_*


I modified this file using normal text editor "nano -w ..." restart the cuspd and everything almost worked except Duplexing.
_________________
#Joseph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmadonna1401
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:30 am    Post subject: HL4570cdw Reply with quote

Does anyone know what file I need to place into /usr/lib/cups/filter. I tried using the brother RPMs with rpm with no luck so then I followed your guide for this other model printer but the problem is it never drops any file into /usr/lib/cups/filter so I tried making a copy of cups wrapper in /usr/lib/cups/filter and renaming it to brlpdwrapperhl4570cdw and cups claims I have print jobs completing but nothing every comes out of my printer still. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2359
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 1:16 pm    Post subject: Re: HL4570cdw Reply with quote

bmadonna1401 wrote:
Does anyone know what file I need to place into /usr/lib/cups/filter. I tried using the brother RPMs with rpm with no luck so then I followed your guide for this other model printer but the problem is it never drops any file into /usr/lib/cups/filter so I tried making a copy of cups wrapper in /usr/lib/cups/filter and renaming it to brlpdwrapperhl4570cdw and cups claims I have print jobs completing but nothing every comes out of my printer still. Any help would be greatly appreciated.


I don't have any files in "/usr/lib/cups/" or "/usr/lib64/cups/" the directory don't even exist.
Why do you need any file in there?
Just convert rpm to tar.gz and the instruction above and follow the remaining instructions.
_________________
#Joseph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmadonna1401
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How would you have done the sys link if there wasn't something to syslink? Also the printer shows that it is idle and the jobs vanish when I print it looks like the job printed and nothing prints. Could there be some sort of bug with cups perhaps? I vagey recall something like this happening a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Joseph_sys
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 08 Jun 2004
Posts: 2359
Location: Edmonton, AB

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you go to: http://localhost:631/printers/
do you see your printer?
_________________
#Joseph
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmadonna1401
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes and it's idle I print a test page and the job disappears and nothing comes out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jimmy Jazz
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 273
Location: Strasbourg

PostPosted: Wed Jan 15, 2014 5:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Brother HL-5370DW installation howto Reply with quote

Joseph_sys wrote:

Note: Brother has a PPD driver based on: BR-Script3 (ppd file on their web-page)


I always thought BR-Script3 was another postscript compatible language.
Why not use cups/foomatic generic postscript driver instead ?
_________________
« La seule condition au triomphe du mal, c'est l'inaction des gens de bien » E.Burke
Code:

+----+----+----+
|    |::::|    |
|    |::::|    |
+----+----+----+

motto: WeLCRO
WritE Less Code, Repeat Often
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmadonna1401
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jul 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Washington, DC

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:54 am    Post subject: Solved Reply with quote

Not sure what I did but my printer is working now. I read somewhere that you have to make a /user/lib64/cups/filterfolder first then install the RPMs. I thought that what I did before seeing that lib and lib64 go to lbi64 but making the syslink to /usr/lib64/cups/filer after re-installing the RPMs again also seemed to make a difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum