I'm back...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
zietbukuel
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 9:42 am    Post subject: I'm back... Reply with quote

Hey guys, I've been using Gentoo since 2005, left because of some major problems with the distro and switched to many different distros, right now I'm using Ubuntu. I'd really like to give Gentoo another chance, but I feel kinda lost, since I've stopped using it since 2009. Has there been any significant changes since I left? I dunno, anything? or it's almost the same thing? How stable do you consider Gentoo using its latest stable version? Thanks for any info :)
avx
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, stage3 is now the default way to install, portage (and other parts) have made (huge) steps forward and unstable is stable for me for years. But it's still not holding your hand, so if you need that, your wrong here.

Anyways, welcome back (I should really start counting these 'I am back threads', seems like there are at least 2/week)
cwr
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldn't consider Gentoo especially stable, but the problems are all upstream,
not in Gentoo. For instance, Gnome themes still crash on a regular basis, as
they have since 2.28, Gnome terminal has started producing a corrupted background
(from 2.30), ath9k wireless drivers no longer cope with hostapd changing the regional
settings, and so on.

But these aren't major problems, and mostly things work.

Will
zietbukuel
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the input guys. How stable would you say Gentoo is compared to Ubuntu?
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote