Noob Portage question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
TheNotSoGreat
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 4:30 am    Post subject: Noob Portage question Reply with quote

Hello, I am new to gentoo and just have a small question so please bear with me.
Are packages from Portage signed? I am not asking if the functionality is there, but whether all packages in the repo are signed and their signatures checked for verification. I have refrained from using Arch because Arch does not have package signing making it horribly insecure.
bjlockie
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 5:01 am    Post subject: Re: Noob Portage question Reply with quote

TheNotSoGreat wrote:
Hello, I am new to gentoo and just have a small question so please bear with me.
Are packages from Portage signed? I am not asking if the functionality is there, but whether all packages in the repo are signed and their signatures checked for verification. I have refrained from using Arch because Arch does not have package signing making it horribly insecure.

Yes, I think it uses md5.

See
Quote:
Code Listing 5.12: Digest verification failure of http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=2&chap=1

jdhore
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:23 am    Post subject: Re: Noob Portage question Reply with quote

bjlockie wrote:
TheNotSoGreat wrote:

Yes, I think it uses md5.

See
Quote:
Code Listing 5.12: Digest verification failure of http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=2&chap=1

Close. It uses RIPEMD160, SHA-1, size *AND* SHA-256.
Genone
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Tue Aug 30, 2011 7:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is some signature infrastructure, but last I know signatures aren't validated yet. But that information could very well be outdated.