Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Adobe AIR on Gentoo (NOT the SDK)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
remkade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 74
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:11 am    Post subject: Adobe AIR on Gentoo (NOT the SDK) Reply with quote

After much head banging I finally figured out how to install AIR using the standard installer you get straight off of adobe's website:
http://get.adobe.com/air/

This is NOT the SDK! This is important because the SDK cannot update applications you have installed.

Now to begin:

The reason the AIR installer does not work on Gentoo even when RPM is installed is because the rpm database created by gentoo does not contain an entry for itself. So in order to get it to work we will inject a dummy rpm for the rpm package itself. This is done like so (change the version to match yours):

Code:
cat <<EOF>>rpm.spec
Summary: The RPM package management system
Name: rpm
Version: 4.4.7
Release: 1
Group: System Environment/Base
Url: http://www.rpm.org/
License: GPLv2+
BuildArch: noarch
Provides: /bin/sh

%description
The RPM Package Manager (RPM) is a powerful command line driven
package management system capable of installing, uninstalling,
verifying, querying, and updating software packages. Each software
package consists of an archive of files along with information about
the package like its version, a description, etc.
 
%files
EOF


That will put the correct RPM spec together for your RPM setup.

Next build the rpm, and then install it:
Code:
rpmbuild -ba rpm.spec
rpm -ivh /usr/src/rpm/SRPMS/rpm-4.4.7-1.noarch.rpm


Once that is installed you might be able to run the installer without any problems. If however you get an error about this not being allowed by your Administrator, you can do this:
Code:
mv /usr/bin/rpm /usr/bin/rpm.orig
echo <<EOF>>/usr/bin/rpm
#!/bin/bash

if [ "$1" == '-qa' ] || [ "$1" == '--qf' ]
then
   /usr/bin/rpm.orig $@
else
   /usr/bin/rpm.orig --nodeps $@
fi
EOF
chmod a+x /usr/bin/rpm

That will force rpm to install without dependencies, which might be required by some. Just put the rpm.orig back when you are done with it!

Finally because of a bug in AIR, the app installer will give you a SIGSEGV unless their config.xml file by putting <UserPreferences/> after every "<certificate ...". This can be done easily with sed like so, but make sure you check with your version that this is actually still a problem!
Code:
sed '/certificate trustAnchor/a \
<UserPreferences/>' /etc/opt/Adobe/certificates/crypt/config.xml


You can now install .air files using "/usr/bin/Adobe AIR Application Installer"

Getting AIR Programs to install through Chrome
For some reason Chrome will let you install any AIR apps unless you first go through the whole mess of installing one with firefox. Just do this to get it to work:
  • Open firefox
  • Go to the air marketplace
  • Find any app you want and install it
  • Say yes to installing AIR and everything (even if you already have).
  • Once the installed AIR app launches, you can quit firefox and (re)start Chrome.




For future reference, here are the RPM commands that the AIR installer runs:
Code:
/usr/bin/rpm -q rpm
/usr/bin/rpm -q rpm
/usr/bin/rpm -q adobe-certs --qf %{VERSION}.%{RELEASE}
/usr/bin/rpm --qf %{VERSION} -q rpm
/usr/bin/rpm -q rpm
/usr/bin/rpm -U --percent /tmp/air.3xyE1f/setup.deb
/usr/bin/rpm --qf %{VERSION} -q rpm
/usr/bin/rpm -q rpm
/usr/bin/rpm -U --percent /tmp/air.3xyE1f/setup.deb
/usr/bin/rpm -q adobeair1.0 --qf %{VERSION}.%{RELEASE}
/usr/bin/rpm -q adobeair --qf %{VERSION}.%{RELEASE}
/usr/bin/rpm -q adobeair1.0 --qf %{VERSION}.%{RELEASE}
/usr/bin/rpm -q adobeair --qf %{VERSION}.%{RELEASE}


Resources:
Original Inspiration
XML Fix
_________________
generic signature here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Telemin
l33t
l33t


Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 654
Location: Glasgow, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much for this Remkade, I might be able to get the iPlayer download manager working now:)

-Telemin-
_________________
The Geek formerly known as -Freestyling-
When you feel your problem has been solved please add [Solved] to the topic title.
Please adopt an unanswered post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm I'm getting the standard Can't install because this isn't an RPM based distribution.

Do I need any other packages?

EDIT:

Ok, I installed rpm properly, and that worked. I'm now getting an issue with rpm builder:
Code:
kernel: [42390.178204] rpmbuilder[8935]: segfault at 200 ip 00000000f776d7fd sp 00000000fffb82c0 error 4 in ld-2.10.1.so[f7759000+1c000]


EDIT 2:

I tried a different version of rpm (4.4.7). same problem:
Code:
kernel: [43867.275024] rpmbuilder[6088]: segfault at 200 ip 00000000f77587fd sp 00000000ffbed2c0 error 4 in ld-2.10.1.so[f7744000+1c000]

_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
remkade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 74
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not a whole lot I can do for you with that. You may need to do some looking around to see if there is some documentation on rpmbuilder segfaults. What architecture and kernel version are you on?
_________________
generic signature here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

remkade wrote:
Not a whole lot I can do for you with that. You may need to do some looking around to see if there is some documentation on rpmbuilder segfaults. What architecture and kernel version are you on?


Well, I'm not alone!

KDE4 and AMD64 seem to be a problem.
_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I tried the Air2 release candidate, available here.

It still doesn't work, but there's no segfault either.

For info, rpm call list:
Code:

rpm -q rpm
rpm -q adobe-certs --qf %{VERSION}.%{RELEASE}
rpm -q rpm
rpm -q adobeair
rpm -q adobeair1.0
rpm --qf %{VERSION} -q rpm
rpm -q rpm

_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
remkade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 74
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is it doing when you say it doesn't work? And by it do you mean rpm builder or the air installer?
_________________
generic signature here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry!

Running air2_rc1_runtime_lin_051110.bin gives me the message:

"An error occurred while installing Adobe AIR. Installation may not be allowed by your administrator. Please contact your administrator."

I am using the rpm hack you provided (and modified it to give me the rpm call log).
_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Herring42
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 366
Location: Buckinghamshire

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I managed to install the rpm file provided on that page, but:

Code:

$> /opt/Adobe\ AIR/Versions/1.0/Adobe\ AIR\ Application\ Installer  TweetDeck_0_34.3.air
[Adobe AIR Application Installer:11452][ERR] Unsupported package manager!


Argh!
_________________
"The problem with quotes on the internet is that it is difficult
to determine whether or not they are genuine." -- Abraham Lincoln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikegpitt
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 3200

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool... I was messing around with AIR a few months ago. I'll need to try this out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
remkade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 74
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Herring42 wrote:
I managed to install the rpm file provided on that page, but:

Code:

$> /opt/Adobe\ AIR/Versions/1.0/Adobe\ AIR\ Application\ Installer  TweetDeck_0_34.3.air
[Adobe AIR Application Installer:11452][ERR] Unsupported package manager!


Argh!

My guess is that rpm is reporting something wrong when it does rpm -qa.

Try creating ~/.airappinstall.log and tailing it as you install the air file.
_________________
generic signature here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spy20
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Nov 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm sorry but I can't install an air application.

I do this this on root
Code:
/opt/Adobe\ AIR/Versions/1.0/Adobe\ AIR\ Application\ Installer /home/sylspy20/Downloads/Sendoid.air

And I have any message and any logs on my ~directory

I downloaded the .rpm version
So I do this
Code:
rpm2targz adobeair.i386.rpm

then an extract

Finally I have three folders that I copy on my / (opt, var and etc)

I can't run this
Code:
rpm -ivh /usr/src/rpm/SRPMS/rpm-4.4.7-1.noarch.rpm

beacause the only file that I have on this folder is
Code:
.keep_app-arch_rpm-0



What is my mistake ? I don't understand.
Thanks in advance for your advices.
Sincerely
Sylvain

Sorry I don't speak English fluently
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
remkade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 74
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you provide the error messages you get when you try to run the Air installer (the .bin file)?

To see errors in the log you must first "touch ~/.airappinstall.log". The installer will then log to that file.
_________________
generic signature here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spy20
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Nov 2010
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

remkade wrote:
Could you provide the error messages you get when you try to run the Air installer (the .bin file)?

To see errors in the log you must first "touch ~/.airappinstall.log". The installer will then log to that file.


In fact I can launch the .bin installer
But I have this message
"Adobe AIR n'a pas pu être installé car il ne s'agit pas d'une distribution Linux prise en charge. Seules les distributions de type RPM et Debian sont prises en charge."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
remkade
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2003
Posts: 74
Location: Somewhere

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you follow the instructions in the first post you should be able to install using the .bin file. RPM2tgz doesn't properly run all the scripts necessary for installing AIR.

Let me know if the instructions in the first post don't work.
_________________
generic signature here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaDDeePee
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2004
Posts: 297
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice work remkade!

Tyvm! :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum