Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
embedding a dos application
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
flameman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 3:41 pm    Post subject: embedding a dos application Reply with quote

Hello,
we are working on a remote board which doesn't have X11 support.
I need to run a dos non interactive application (old compiler binary, written for dos).
Googling i found "dosbox", which should have a pretty dos binary support.
unfortunately DOSBox is designed for games. Not for embedding-dos applications.

However, there seams to to be a dummy output for SDL available: any idea ?



or, any suggestions about a better dos-emulator application ?


regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahdi1234
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 485
Location: far from new world orderia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can have a look at http://www.dosemu.org it's in the portage as well, though not sure whether it fits your needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flameman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, but isn't dosemu only for x86 arch ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahdi1234
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 485
Location: far from new world orderia

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ooops I haven't noticed PPC section, you're right dosemu is not an alternative here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blob999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: NATO area

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qemu
_________________
LinuxPPC user!
my blog: http://linuxpowerpc.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flameman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blob999 wrote:
qemu


is qemu able to run as text console app (no X11 support required, i mean) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blob999
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2009
Posts: 64
Location: NATO area

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, it does.

It's long time i don't use qemu.. if i still remember you need:
Code:
-serial stdio -nographic


anyway man qemu should help.
_________________
LinuxPPC user!
my blog: http://linuxpowerpc.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
flameman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a bit of noises using ncurses ...
... i mean i can see a freedos box in my text console
but what i see is issued by a lot of noises
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dobbs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Aug 2005
Posts: 88
Location: Wenatchee, WA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not used it much, but you might also try Bochs. Both Qemu and Bochs also support VNC output as well if networking is an option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bnl
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Aug 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try dosbox?
I run it on an x86, and on an mac ppc.

it can be used to paly games on, I play The 7th guest and a ponball game,
but I also rin win 3.11 in it.
And If I dont start win 3.11, I am i a dos prompt.
The config is not to bad, you can play with lots of stuff, like
Code:

[serial]
# serial1-4 -- set type of device connected to com port.
#              Can be disabled, dummy, modem, directserial.
#              Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
#              parameter:value. Parameters for all types are irq, startbps, bytesize,
#              stopbits, parity (all optional).
#              for directserial: realport (required).
#              for modem: listenport (optional).
#              Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
# xms -- Enable XMS support.
# ems -- Enable EMS support.
# umb -- Enable UMB support (false,true,max).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true

[sdl]
# fullscreen -- Start dosbox directly in fullscreen.
# fulldouble -- Use double buffering in fullscreen.
# fullresolution -- What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
# windowresolution -- Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
# output -- What to use for output: surface,overlay,opengl,openglnb.
# autolock -- Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen.
# sensitiviy -- Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror -- Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
# priority -- Priority levels for dosbox: lowest,lower,normal,higher,highest.
#             Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
# mapperfile -- File used to load/save the key/event mappings from.
# usescancodes -- Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.txt
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language -- Select another language file.
# memsize -- Amount of memory dosbox has in megabytes.
# machine -- The type of machine tries to emulate:hercules,cga,tandy,pcjr,vga.
# captures -- Directory where things like wave,midi,screenshot get captured.

language=
machine=vga
captures=capture
memsize=16



To run it, you mount stuff first, like

#!/bin/bash
dosbox -conf /home/bnl/dosbox/dosbox.conf \
-c "mount c /home/bnl/dosbox/win311" \
-c "mount d /media/cdrom0 -t cdrom -usecd 0 -ioctl" \
-c "mount e /home/bnl/dosbox/entombed" \
-c "mount f /home/bnl/dosbox/s3drivers" \
-c "mount i /home/bnl/dosbox/in311" \
-c "c:" \
-c "cd windows" \
-c "win"


This id for me starting win 3.11 so my kids can play the old game 'Entombed'
But remove the lst two lines, and you have a prompt.
A binary should be able to run there, just mount the dir first
_________________
--
Björn
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum