Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[ solved] hdmi video output ati 4200, how to enable
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1607
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 6:56 pm    Post subject: [ solved] hdmi video output ati 4200, how to enable Reply with quote

hi there, how to use the hdmi connector on my laptop ? i connected the laptop to my lcd and shutdown the system but after restarting it there was no signal being received by the tv... do i need any modules ?? i just use the kernel drm with xorg-drivers for radeon (no ati-drivers are installed). any suggestions ?? thanks a lot
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE


Last edited by Mgiese on Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snkmoorthy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Nov 2002
Posts: 376

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does xrandr say about devices?
Quote:
lspci -k
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device 0206
Kernel driver in use: radeon


Code:


Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1366 x 768, maximum 8192 x 8192
LVDS connected 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 193mm
   1366x768       59.6*+
   1280x720       59.9
   1152x768       59.8 
   1024x768       59.9 
   800x600        59.9 
   848x480        59.7 
   720x480        59.7 
   640x480        59.4 
VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1607
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc M880G [Mobility Radeon HD 4200]
   Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 1475
   Kernel driver in use: fglrx_pci
   Kernel modules: fglrx


Code:
 # xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1366 x 768, maximum 1600 x 1600
LVDS connected 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 194mm
   1366x768       59.6*+
   1280x768       59.6 +
   1280x720       59.6 +
   1024x768       59.6 +
   1280x600       59.6 +
   1024x600       59.6 +
   800x600        59.6 +
   800x480        59.6 +
   720x480        59.6 +
   640x480        59.6 +
DFP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
CRT1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1607
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

after switching to ati-drivers(fglrx) instead of radeon(kernel dri) hdmi output works. but i still have issues here. even if i set up the resolution to 1920*1080 i see blank borders around the picture, it`s not fullscreen :( don`t understand why ... plus i have no hdmi sound, although the mixer is unmuted.. suggestions ?

edit regarding the audio problem: after playing around with various options, everthing worked except firefox/flash (see post below howto fix this)
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE


Last edited by Mgiese on Sat Aug 06, 2011 1:28 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1607
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the solution was to put the following code in ~/.asoundrc :

Code:
pcm.dmixer {
type dmix
ipc_key 1024
ipc_key_add_uid false
ipc_perm 0660
slave {
pcm "hw:1,3"
rate 48000
channels 2
period_time 0
period_size 1024
buffer_time 0
buffer_size 4096
}
}

pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmixer"
}



where these 2 lines did the trick :

Code:
pcm "hw:1,3"
rate 48000


flash needed the 48khz option as well as the correct card 1,3 for digital output *happy*
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2158
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The borders around the picture are because there is a mismatch between the driver and display overscan settings.

If you cannot change overscan settings in the monitor's OSD, then you can use "xrandr --prop" to toggle overscan for the output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1607
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi, "xrandr --prop" puts out some information but changes nothing... in my philips tv i can not set overscan settings, not as far as i know right now, my model is "Philips 40 PFL 7605 H"

Code:

 # xrandr --prop
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 1920 x 1920
LVDS connected 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 194mm
   BACKLIGHT: 24 (0x00000018)   range:  (0,24)
   SignalFormat:   DisplayPort
   ConnectorType:   Panel
   1366x768       59.6*+
   1280x768       59.6 +
   1280x720       59.6 +
   1024x768       59.6 +
   1280x600       59.6 +
   1024x600       59.6 +
   800x600        59.6 +
   800x480        59.6 +
   720x480        59.6 +
   640x480        59.6 +
DFP1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 1280mm x 720mm
   EDID_DATA:
      00ffffffffffff00410c000001010101
      03140103808048780ae692a3544a9926
      0f4a4c2108008bc08180a94001010101
      010101010101023a801871382d40582c
      450000d05200001e023a80d072382d40
      102c458000d05200001e000000fc0050
      68696c697073204654560a20000000fd
      00303e0f4611000a20202020202001c9
   SignalFormat:   unknown
   ConnectorType:   unknown
   1920x1080      60.0*+   50.0     30.0     25.0     24.0 
   1776x1000      60.0 +   50.0     30.0     25.0     24.0 
   1680x1050      60.0 +   50.0     24.0 
   1152x648       60.0 +   50.0 
   1600x1200      60.0 
   1400x1050      60.0     50.0     24.0 
   1280x1024      60.0     50.0     24.0 
   1440x900       59.9     50.0     24.0 
   1280x960       60.0     50.0     24.0 
   1366x768       59.9     49.9     24.0 
   1280x800       60.0     50.0     24.0 
   1152x864       60.0     50.0     24.0 
   1280x768       59.9     50.0     24.0 
   1280x720       60.0     50.0     24.0 
   1024x768       60.0     50.0     24.0 
   1280x600       60.0     50.0     24.0 
   1024x600       60.0     50.0     24.0 
   800x600        60.3     50.0     24.0 
   720x576        50.0 
   800x480        60.0     50.0     24.0 
   720x480        60.0     50.0     24.0 
   640x480        60.0     50.0     24.0 
CRT1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
   SignalFormat:   VGA
   ConnectorType:   VGA"


any more hints ?? thanks a lot
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2158
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:51 am    Post subject: Re: hdmi video output ati 4200, how to enable Reply with quote

It seems that your are not using kernel modesetting. You will get all xrandr controls only if you enable KMS. See http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/xorg-config.xml how to configure your kernel for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1607
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

your guide leads me to the assumption that KMS only works with kernel based DRI ??? i am using the FGLRX driver, the kernel DRI used to be buggy on my system!!
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2158
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 9:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah sorry, if you use the proprietary driver then you have to use the Catalyst control center to toggle this.
Alternatively, set Option "TVOverscan" in xorg.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1607
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

either way it does not work :( setting xorg.conf to Option "TVOverScan" "0.2" or Option "TVOverScan" "9.0" makes no difference. in ati catalyst center i did not find the option at all...
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2158
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah sorry you are right. The TVOverscan option is only for TV-out, not for HDMI. You have to find the option in CCC somewhere.

Google image search turned up this, maybe it will help you find the option: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/121/ccce.jpg/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mgiese
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 1607
Location: indiana

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
Ah sorry you are right. The TVOverscan option is only for TV-out, not for HDMI. You have to find the option in CCC somewhere.

Google image search turned up this, maybe it will help you find the option: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/121/ccce.jpg/


that did the trick, thanks a lot :) the problem was the moment i was looking for any setting, i did not connect the tv :D but solved now....
_________________
I do not have a Superman complex, for I am God not Superman :D

Ryzen9 7950x ; Geforce1650 ; kernel 6.5 ; XFCE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum