Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
consolekit sessions and qingy (fixed)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10305
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:39 am    Post subject: consolekit sessions and qingy (fixed) Reply with quote

Hello.

I am trying to get these two working together. I know there are some threads arous, but none helped me, and I've already tried a number of things they suggest.

So, to sum up:

  • I've emerge --noconfmem dbus consolekit polkit shadow pambase udisks upower and maybe a couple more.
  • consolekit and pam are enabled globally (USE="consolekit pam" emerge -auDvN world reports nothing).
  • audit is enabled into the kernel, shadow is emerged with USE=audit, in case it matters at all.


This happens if I login to kde4 from qingy:

Code:
# ck-list-sessions
Session1:
        unix-user = '1000'
        realname = '(null)'
        seat = 'Seat1'
        session-type = ''
        active = FALSE
        x11-display = ''
        x11-display-device = ''
        display-device = '/dev/tty3'
        remote-host-name = ''
        is-local = TRUE
        on-since = '2011-06-23T09:24:02.220531Z'
        login-session-id = '1'
        idle-since-hint = '2011-06-23T09:24:32.421184Z'


This happens if I login to console, then startx:

Code:
# ck-list-sessions
Session3:
        unix-user = '1000'
        realname = '(null)'
        seat = 'Seat1'
        session-type = ''
        active = FALSE
        x11-display = ':0'
        x11-display-device = '/dev/tty3'
        display-device = '/dev/tty1'
        remote-host-name = ''
        is-local = TRUE
        on-since = '2011-06-23T09:25:46.439282Z'
        login-session-id = '2'
Session2:
        unix-user = '1000'
        realname = '(null)'
        seat = 'Seat1'
        session-type = ''
        active = TRUE
        x11-display = ''
        x11-display-device = ''
        display-device = '/dev/tty3'
        remote-host-name = ''
        is-local = TRUE
        on-since = '2011-06-23T09:25:28.821517Z'
        login-session-id = '2'


.xinitrc is

Code:
#!/bin/bash
ck-launch-session startkde > ${HOME}/logs/kde.log 2>&1


As a result of this, I can't use the power features, and I can't mount volumes using the kde device notifier.

Any ideas on what else to check? I haven't modified any pam file or something. As far as I know, everything should work out of the box provided pambase has consolekit support nowadays, shouldn't it?

Code:
# zgrep AUDIT /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_AUDIT_ARCH=y
CONFIG_AUDIT=y
CONFIG_AUDITSYSCALL=y
CONFIG_AUDIT_WATCH=y
CONFIG_AUDIT_TREE=y
# CONFIG_NETFILTER_XT_TARGET_AUDIT is not set

_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website


Last edited by i92guboj on Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:06 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aCOSwt
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 19 Oct 2007
Posts: 2537
Location: Hilbert space

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guboj,

Well so, apparently, you do not use kdm.
If so, why do you bother with consolekit ? and why do you bother launching kde via ck-launch-sessions ?

- I personally emerged -consolekit +polkit +pam,
- With my fingers / console / vi, I set the authorizations I wish under all the files in /usr/share/polkit-1/actions (<allow any>yes</allow any>)
- I then directly exec startkde in my .xinitrc


Last edited by aCOSwt on Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:57 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10305
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been using kdm for a long time in this system.

The reason why I want consolekit is because all the nice things it brings into modern desktops like kde. Truly, if I was not using consolekit kde would make little sense to me, and I would simply use fvwm just like I've been doing for years, and still do in some other machines.

qingy is supposed to bring consolekit support in 1.0.0, but it doesn't seem to be working at all. At least, not in Gentoo.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10305
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed. It turned out to be a silly thing, as always.

I found the solution here:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-858965-postdays-0-postorder-asc-start-225.html?sid=ae8f4cf7a5d766d78d11781f7047d5e0

It seems that the session starts as inactive if qingy starts X in the same tty where qingy lives when using the DirectFB backend. I think I should now be opening an enhancement bug, so at least we get an ewarn or something when emerging qingy. It's a hard thing to guess when you don't know it.

So, now, the power stuff works again, and I can mount my disks using kde.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10305
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=372675
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum