Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[Half-Solved] Raid not found at boot, but "mdadm -A -s" ok
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sglorz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:23 am    Post subject: [Half-Solved] Raid not found at boot, but "mdadm -A -s& Reply with quote

Hello,

I have 3 disks on LSI SAS card in software RAID5.

Here is a sample of dmesg:
Code:

[    1.577026] ioc0: LSISAS1068 B0: Capabilities={Initiator}
[    3.994315] scsi6 : ioc0: LSISAS1068 B0, FwRev=000a3300h, Ports=1, MaxQ=286, IRQ=16
[    4.032140] mptsas: ioc0: attaching sata device: fw_channel 0, fw_id 1, phy 1, sas_addr 0x1221000001000000
[    4.040211] scsi 6:0:0:0: Direct-Access     ATA      WDC WD15EARS-00Z 0A80 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[    4.042340] sd 6:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg3 type 0
[    4.042797] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdd] 2930277168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.50 TB/1.36 TiB)
[    4.043975] mptsas: ioc0: attaching sata device: fw_channel 0, fw_id 2, phy 2, sas_addr 0x1221000002000000
[    4.051387] scsi 6:0:1:0: Direct-Access     ATA      WDC WD15EARS-00Z 0A80 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[    4.053469] sd 6:0:1:0: Attached scsi generic sg4 type 0
[    4.053927] sd 6:0:1:0: [sde] 2930277168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.50 TB/1.36 TiB)
[    4.055107] mptsas: ioc0: attaching sata device: fw_channel 0, fw_id 3, phy 3, sas_addr 0x1221000003000000
[    4.059475] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdd] Write Protect is off
[    4.059667] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdd] Mode Sense: 73 00 00 08
[    4.062528] scsi 6:0:2:0: Direct-Access     ATA      WDC WD15EARS-00M AB51 PQ: 0 ANSI: 5
[    4.064729] sd 6:0:2:0: Attached scsi generic sg5 type 0
[    4.065186] sd 6:0:2:0: [sdf] 2930277168 512-byte logical blocks: (1.50 TB/1.36 TiB)
[    4.066547] sd 6:0:0:0: [sdd] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[    4.066702] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [APC3] enabled at IRQ 18
[    4.066714] firewire_ohci 0000:01:07.0: PCI INT A -> Link[APC3] -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
[    4.069354] sd 6:0:1:0: [sde] Write Protect is off
[    4.069546] sd 6:0:1:0: [sde] Mode Sense: 73 00 00 08
[    4.076283] sd 6:0:1:0: [sde] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA
[    4.081242] sd 6:0:2:0: [sdf] Write Protect is off
[    4.081441] sd 6:0:2:0: [sdf] Mode Sense: 73 00 00 08
[    4.088100] sd 6:0:2:0: [sdf] Write cache: enabled, read cache: enabled, doesn't support DPO or FUA


At boot time, kernel cannot find the RAID5:

Code:
[    4.599466] md: Waiting for all devices to be available before autodetect
[    4.599655] md: If you don't use raid, use raid=noautodetect
[    4.600034] md: Autodetecting RAID arrays.
[    4.600219] md: Scanned 0 and added 0 devices.
[    4.600403] md: autorun ...
[    4.600586] md: ... autorun DONE.


But at end of boot, mdadm is fine:

Code:
bach / # mdadm -A -s
mdadm: /dev/md0 has been started with 3 drives.

Code:

bach / # cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4]
md0 : active raid5 sdd[0] sdf[2] sde[1]
      2930276992 blocks level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [3/3] [UUU]

unused devices: <none>


And here is mdadm.conf:

Code:
bach / # cat /etc/mdadm.conf
ARRAY /dev/md0 level=raid5 num-devices=3 metadata=0.90 UUID=0d357e33:2a6bebb6:3f069d62:12d82675
   devices=/dev/sdd,/dev/sde,/dev/sdf


How can I resolve this?

Thanks


Last edited by sglorz on Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BradN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2391
Location: Wisconsin (USA)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are your partitions containing the raid data set to the raid auto-detect partition type (value FD)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sglorz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That what I was thinking of.

My disks have a GPT partition.

parted report this:

Code:
bach ~ # parted -l
Error: /dev/sdd: unrecognised disk label

Error: /dev/sde: unrecognised disk label

Error: /dev/sdf: unrecognised disk label

Error: partition length of 5860553984 sectors exceeds the
loop-partition-table-imposed maximum of 4294967295


So I don't know if the raid (fd) flag is on and I don't like the "unrecognised disk label", but as it is RAID, it may be ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sglorz,

A piece of my /proc/mdstat reads
Code:
md5 : active raid5 sdd5[3] sdb5[1] sdc5[2] sda5[0]
      15759360 blocks level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [4/4] [UUUU]


Yours says
Code:
 md0 : active raid5 sdd[0] sdf[2] sde[1]
      2930276992 blocks level 5, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [3/3] [UUU]

You have donated whole unpartitioned drives to the raid set. There is no partition table to hold the type FD, that askes the kernel to auto assemble the raid set. You must use an initrd with mdadm if your root is on that raid set.

Traps for the unwary. The kernel will only auto assemble raid sets with raid superblock version 0.90. The default now is version 1.2
If your /boot is raided, is must be raid1 with superblock version 0.90 or grub will not start.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sglorz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My /boot is not raided and is on another disk (/dev/sdc1).

So, do I have to use an initrd or may be call "mdadm -A -s" at boot time ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sglorz,

Provided your /etc/mdam.conf describes your raid sets, just add mdadm to the boot runlevel. It will start the raid before /etc/fstab if fed to mount to mount your filesystems.

Code:
rc-update add mdadm boot

_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sglorz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already done that, but it doesn't work :cry:

Code:
bach e-sata # rc-update
mdadm |         boot


Moreover, /etc/init.d/mdam script seems to launch mdadm monitor and not assembling raid arrays:

Code:
bach etc # cat /etc/init.d/mdadm
#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright 1999-2006 Gentoo Technologies, Inc.
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/sys-fs/mdadm/files/mdadm.rc,v 1.2 2006/04/25 05:41:51 vapier Exp $

depend() {
        use logger dns net
}

start() {
        ebegin "Starting mdadm monitor"
        mdadm --monitor --scan \
                --daemonise \
                --pid-file /var/run/mdadm.pid \
                ${MDADM_OPTS}
        eend $?
}

stop() {
        local ret
        ebegin "Stopping mdadm monitor"
        start-stop-daemon --stop --pidfile /var/run/mdadm.pid
        ret=$?
        rm -f /var/run/mdadm.pid
        eend ${ret}
}


So, should I add a mdadm-assemble script? or there is a more 'nice' way to do that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sglorz,

--scan says to assemble your raid using /etc/mdadm.conf

Please post your /etc/mdadm.conf
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sglorz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is my mdadm.conf:

Code:
bach / # cat /etc/mdadm.conf
# mdadm configuration file
#
# mdadm will function properly without the use of a configuration file,
# but this file is useful for keeping track of arrays and member disks.
# In general, a mdadm.conf file is created, and updated, after arrays
# are created. This is the opposite behavior of /etc/raidtab which is
# created prior to array construction.
#
#
# the config file takes two types of lines:
#
#       DEVICE lines specify a list of devices of where to look for
#         potential member disks
#
#       ARRAY lines specify information about how to identify arrays so
#         so that they can be activated
#
# You can have more than one device line and use wild cards. The first
# example includes SCSI the first partition of SCSI disks /dev/sdb,
# /dev/sdc, /dev/sdd, /dev/sdj, /dev/sdk, and /dev/sdl. The second
# line looks for array slices on IDE disks.
#
#DEVICE /dev/sd[bcdjkl]1
#DEVICE /dev/hda1 /dev/hdb1
#
# If you mount devfs on /dev, then a suitable way to list all devices is:
#DEVICE /dev/discs/*/*
#
#
# The AUTO line can control which arrays get assembled by auto-assembly,
# meaing either "mdadm -As" when there are no 'ARRAY' lines in this file,
# or "mdadm --incremental" when the array found is not listed in this file.
# By default, all arrays that are found are assembled.
# If you want to ignore all DDF arrays (maybe they are managed by dmraid),
# and only assemble 1.x arrays if which are marked for 'this' homehost,
# but assemble all others, then use
#AUTO -ddf homehost -1.x +all
#
# ARRAY lines specify an array to assemble and a method of identification.
# Arrays can currently be identified by using a UUID, superblock minor number,
# or a listing of devices.
#
#       super-minor is usually the minor number of the metadevice
#       UUID is the Universally Unique Identifier for the array
# Each can be obtained using
#
#       mdadm -D <md>
#
#ARRAY /dev/md0 UUID=3aaa0122:29827cfa:5331ad66:ca767371
#ARRAY /dev/md1 super-minor=1
#ARRAY /dev/md2 devices=/dev/hda1,/dev/hdb1
#
# ARRAY lines can also specify a "spare-group" for each array.  mdadm --monitor
# will then move a spare between arrays in a spare-group if one array has a failed
# drive but no spare
#ARRAY /dev/md4 uuid=b23f3c6d:aec43a9f:fd65db85:369432df spare-group=group1
#ARRAY /dev/md5 uuid=19464854:03f71b1b:e0df2edd:246cc977 spare-group=group1
#
# When used in --follow (aka --monitor) mode, mdadm needs a
# mail address and/or a program.  This can be given with "mailaddr"
# and "program" lines to that monitoring can be started using
#    mdadm --follow --scan & echo $! > /var/run/mdadm
# If the lines are not found, mdadm will exit quietly
#MAILADDR root@mydomain.tld
#PROGRAM /usr/sbin/handle-mdadm-events
ARRAY /dev/md0 level=raid5 num-devices=3 metadata=0.90 UUID=0d357e33:2a6bebb6:3f069d62:12d82675
   devices=/dev/sdd,/dev/sde,/dev/sdf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sglorz,

Code:
ARRAY /dev/md0 level=raid5 num-devices=3 metadata=0.90 UUID=0d357e33:2a6bebb6:3f069d62:12d82675
   devices=/dev/sdd,/dev/sde,/dev/sdf

Thas correct if its a single line but from your post, its not clear.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BradN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2391
Location: Wisconsin (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2011 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Traps for the unwary. The kernel will only auto assemble raid sets with raid superblock version 0.90. The default now is version 1.2
If your /boot is raided, is must be raid1 with superblock version 0.90 or grub will not start.


Oh nice, another pointless issue to deal with... Why do they make a new superblock version default without the kernel's autodetection and grub knowing about it? I can understand having it an option for testing, but damn, people don't think things like that through as often or as thoroughly as they should.

Well, OK, maybe we can ignore grub in the event that newer grub versions do handle it (I have no idea), after all, not all linux is gentoo and lots use newer grub or maybe even other bootloaders. But the kernel? I mean, really? If I were in charge of the mdadm ebuild I would patch in a 0.90 default and print a warning message, that way most people know what's up and the terminally un-aware won't hit as many problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sglorz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
sglorz,

--scan says to assemble your raid using /etc/mdadm.conf

Please post your /etc/mdadm.conf


No the --scan is not for scanning disks:


Code:
bach ~ # mdadm --monitor --help
Usage: mdadm --monitor options devices

[...]

Options that are valid with the monitor (-F --follow) mode are:
[...]
  --scan        -s   : find mail-address/program in config file
[...]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sglorz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
sglorz,

Code:
ARRAY /dev/md0 level=raid5 num-devices=3 metadata=0.90 UUID=0d357e33:2a6bebb6:3f069d62:12d82675
   devices=/dev/sdd,/dev/sde,/dev/sdf

Thas correct if its a single line but from your post, its not clear.


This line is coming from
Code:
mdadm --detail --scan --verbose


But, I may have a solution:

Code:
mdadm --daemonise /dev/md0


I'll tell you if it helps me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sglorz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2011
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, it does not work

I've added an init script then, until I found a better solution.

Here is the script:

Code:

bach ~ # cat /etc/init.d/mdadm-assemble
#!/sbin/runscript
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2

depend() {
        before localmount
}

start() {
        ebegin "Assembling all RAID"
        mdadm --assemble -s
        eend $?
}

stop() {
        ebegin "Stopping all RAID"
        mdadm --stop -s
        eend $?
}


Added at boot time:

Code:
rc-update add mdadm-assemble boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tox2ik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Jun 2009
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 5:00 am    Post subject: Issues assambling array at boot Reply with quote

I experienced a similar problem after upgrading the kernel from 2.6.31 to 2.6.38 (gentoo-sources amd64). During boot, the kernel or the system (I'm suspecting the kernel) tried to assemble my raid0 array without luck. What happened was it started different /dev/md* devices for every member disk with the result that neither would start. This was clearly evident after a quick look at /proc/mdstat. In a naive attempt to solve the problem I tried disabling the kernel option CONFIG_MD_AUTODETECT. This did not help because after booting into single or multiuser the arrays were still partially assembled and member discs were assigned to different /dev/md* devices. I tried also to disable the various kernel options at boot time incuding domdadm dodmraid and dolvm (because I use them before with initramfs) to make sure the genkernel-included linuxrc was not causing the problem. I'm booting without initramfs, mind you.

On the bright side:
I was able to assemble the array with mdadm -As after stopping all partially detected arrays with mdadm -S /dev/md*. This works well because my /etc/mdadm.conf contains correct information about the array.

And to force the array being assembled during boot I added a line to /lib/rcscripts/addons/raid-start.sh
Code:

# Start software raid with mdadm
if [ -x /sbin/mdadm ] ; then
        ebegin "Starting up RAID devices"

--->     mdadm -S /dev/md*

        output=$(mdadm -As 2>&1)
        ret=$?
        [ ${ret} -ne 0 ] && echo "${output}"
        eend ${ret}
fi

I'm not going to recommend this solution to anyone, but it works for me at least. Would be glad to read anyone shed some light on this and explain why the kernel (or whatever) fails to detect the arrays. Should I perhaps set the partition type to FD like described above? Seems weird that I would need to because I never needed it before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel raid auto assembly is going away some time soon.
We will all have to move to the initrd solution if we have root on raid.

For new installs, I've moved to GPT, a raid1 /boot and everything else in a lvm2 volume.
I'm still avoiding grub2 though.

Other than raid, the same thing works for single drive installs.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BradN
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2391
Location: Wisconsin (USA)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Kernel raid auto assembly is going away some time soon.
We will all have to move to the initrd solution if we have root on raid.


Aha, so this explains why the kernel was never updated for the new superblock format.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dahoste
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just posting a 'me too' reply. I got burnt on a recent massive update (triggered by the openrc upgrade). Upon reboot, all of my 0.90 arrays came online, but I had one 1.0 array that behaved as described by tox2ik. I recovered by using his 'not recommended' hack on raid-start.sh.

I'd love to know if there's a more appropriate (upstream compliant) means of addressing this issue. I'm going to be using a lot more 1.*-based arrays, and would very much prefer to comply with a best-practice solution for bootstrapping them in gentoo. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dahoste,

Upstream want you to use mdadm in an initrd. That works even for root on raid.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dahoste
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey NeddySeagoon, thanks for the reply.

But what exactly does that mean, in gentoo-land? I already had (what I thought was) a thoroughly specified mdadm.conf.

And with baselayout2, mdraid is hooked into the boot runlevel (that's what actually invokes the 'mdadm -As' step).

My confusion stems from the fact that I thought mdraid (via raid-start.sh) was indeed the source of array activation, and thus I didn't (and still don't) understand why my 1.0-based array didn't activate properly, despite being declared in mdadm.conf.

Any insight you can provide will be most welcome.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reavertm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 265
Location: Wrocław

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On a bit unrelated and funny (or less for me) note, while my two 0.90 RAID1 arrays are assembled fine with 2.6.38 kernel, they don't work anymore just when I switch to wireless-testing kernel 3.0.0-rc4
Nearly the same kernel config, both built using genkernel (MDADM="yes" LVM="yes"), both booting from initrd with 'domdadm dolvm' params.

In kernel-3.0.0-rc4 case, running mdadm -a (by initrd domdadm itself) or manually in busybox ends up with 'Invalid argument' (mind you, exactly the same /etc/mdadm.conf).

May I kindly ask, WTF? :)
0.90 metadata support silently removed or what?
_________________
Maciek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dahoste
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, NeddySeagoon, disregard my question. I wasn't reading closely enough. I see that an initrd-based boot is a completely different beast, and something about which I'll need to go educate myself thoroughly, before attempting.

[sigh]... you'd think system setup would get *easier* over time, but this stuff seems more convoluted than ever.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 21489

PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dahoste wrote:
[sigh]... you'd think system setup would get *easier* over time, but this stuff seems more convoluted than ever.
There is a general push to move as much policy out of the kernel as possible. This makes it much easier to do fancy things without the kernel guessing incorrect defaults. However, one of the unfortunate consequences of this is that anyone who relied on the automatic defaults needs to take action to keep the system working. For what it is worth, you should be able to write an initramfs that works with the future kernel and also works with the auto-detection enabled kernels you have previously used.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dahoste
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Dec 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Maryland, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 2:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Hu,

I'm certainly not objecting to the migration of general system configuration *out* of the kernel.

It's the "write an initramfs" part that frustrates. The consequence is that now instead of just having to understand mdadm, the casual sysadmin has to completely refactor how their system boots, just to be able to enjoy the benefits of raid. Oh well. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 19 May 2003
Posts: 1497
Location: Oxfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your using the latest genkernel (v3.4.16) the old way of booting root on RAID won't work anymore 8O

You need to do this to get it all to work:

Code:
# mdadm --detail --scan >> /etc/mdadm.conf
# genkernel --mdadm --mdadm-config=/etc/mdadm.conf ramdisk


to build your initramfs with mdadm support.

oh, don't forget to add the domdadm option to your kernel boot args as follows:

Code:
title=Gentoo (2.6.39-hardened-r7)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.39-hardened-r7 root=/dev/ram0 init=/linuxrc real_root=/dev/md2 vga=792 domdadm
initrd /initramfs-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.39-hardened-r7


Hope this helps someone.

Rich
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum