Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Odd network.....
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Greven
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jul 2002
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 10:44 pm    Post subject: Odd network..... Reply with quote

I can get my network to work but I have to type dhcpcd eth0 to get it to start.... And I don't want to do that at boot up every time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you added net.eth0 to your default runlevel?
Code:
# rc-update add net.eth0 default

_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greven
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Jul 2002
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 11:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That may help..... but now I can't stop KDE from auto starting....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do:
Code:

rc-update del xdm default

to prevent display managers from starting at the default runlevel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2002 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rac wrote:
Have you added net.eth0 to your default runlevel?
Code:
# rc-update add net.eth0 default


will
Code:
# rc-update add net.eth0 default
do the same as
Code:
#dhcpcd eth0 -h blabla
?
I'm a bit confused as in what the rc-update exactly does you see?

one other question: if I specify my host name in etc/host, will dhcpcd eth0 automaticelly check etc/host?
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2002 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rc-update "just" adds the script in the init.d directory to the runlevel you specify (it actually puts in a symlink). This means that the script will be started at the runlevel when you reboot (or change your soft runlevel or initlevel...)

When net.eth0 runs, upon the next reboot, e.g., it does something dependent on what you have /etc/conf.d/net. If you comment out the #iface_eth0="dhcp" line in it, it will set up eth0 based on dhcp.

Not sure what you mean by your /etc/hosts question. dhcpcd gets your ip address, hostname, domain, dns servers, etc.
freshy98 wrote:
...
will
Code:
# rc-update add net.eth0 default
do the same as
Code:
#dhcpcd eth0 -h blabla
?
I'm a bit confused as in what the rc-update exactly does you see?

one other question: if I specify my host name in etc/host, will dhcpcd eth0 automaticelly check etc/host?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sequentious
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 290
Location: London Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2002 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I did, since my ISP requires both a specific hostname *AND* binds it to a specific MAC address, was the following:

in /etc/conf.d/net, there are options for your NICs. if you didnt set this up already, do the following:
- comment out the following line that is near the top of the file (where ... is actually alot more stuff)
Code:
iface_eth0 ...

-uncomment the following lines (where "..." is actually "..."
Code:
iface_eth0="dhcp"
dhcpcd_eth0="..."

-Change the afore mentioned dhcpcd_eth0="..." line so that instead of "..." you have "-h HOSTNAME" (obviously HOSTNAME should be replaced by your hostname)

Then do
Code:
rc-update add net.eth0 default
.

That is the "proper gentoo way". Another method you might feel more comfortable doing would be to open up

/etc/conf.d/local.start
and put your dhcpcd command (and anything else you want to run at boot) in there. The catch is that it will not release your dhcp lease when you shut down (unless of course you add that command to local.stop)

good luck
_________________
--
Chris I
chris@cidesign.ca :: www.cidesign.ca/~chris/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2002 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

using "rc-update add net.eth0 default" reports that net.eth0 is already used so I can't do that one again.

Naan Yaar, what Sequentious says is what I think I need to.
DHCPCD doesn't use -h blabla by standard, therefor I thought using /etc/host was needed. using /etc.host as a variable. get what I mean?

greetz!
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Sat Aug 17, 2002 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the clarification. I wasn't sure whether you were referring to the -h option for dhcpcd or the -H option or something else re: /etc/hostname itself :wink:
freshy98 wrote:
...
Naan Yaar, what Sequentious says is what I think I need to.
DHCPCD doesn't use -h blabla by standard, therefor I thought using /etc/host was needed. using /etc.host as a variable. get what I mean?

greetz!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
freshy98
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 274
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2002 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

:D you're welcome! hehe

freshy98
_________________
Mac Pro single quad 2.8GHz, 6GB RAM, 8800GT. MacBook. Plus way too many SUN/Cobatl/SGI and a lonely Alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum