Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
lost all portage functionality [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
photomaskman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:45 pm    Post subject: lost all portage functionality [SOLVED] Reply with quote

After doing an emerge --depclean this morning, the emerge program no longer functions. No matter what I type, whether it be "#emerge --info", "#emerge --sync" nothing happens. There is no error message . . . nothing. The binary for emerge still exists on the system and qlist shows that portage is still installed, but apparently it was hosed somehow.

Can I fix this by downloading and unpacking a portage snapshot in the root directory as is done in the original installation of Gentoo?

EDIT: I don't think a new portage snapshot will fix the problem. I downloaded a snapshot and unpacked it in a temporary directory and realized that everything in the portage snapshot goes into /usr/portage If portage doesn't work at all, this is not going to help.

So can I download an unpack a stage 3 tarball and fix the problem. This seems like it will have a great possibility of messing up a bunch of other things. Any ideas?


Last edited by photomaskman on Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:25 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dol-sen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 30 Jun 2002
Posts: 2503
Location: Richmond, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you probably unmerged the active python during the depclean. That was recently fixed in portage this past week.

Code:
eselect python list
eselect python set <whatever>


should fix it.
_________________
Brian
Porthole, the Portage GUI frontend irc@freenode: #gentoo-guis, #porthole, Blog
layman, gentoolkit, CoreBuilder, esearch...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
photomaskman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2006
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's it! Thank you so much. I had just begun to figure out that it was probably a Python issue, but your post cut right to the problem and fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2180
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And run python-updater!
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has midori to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomk
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 23 Sep 2003
Posts: 7219
Location: Sat in front of my computer

PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads, please see Python 2.7 upgrade?
_________________
Search | Read | Answer | Report | Strip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum