Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Qemu-kvm tap NIC error: SIOCSIFFLAGS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Stonic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:21 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] Qemu-kvm tap NIC error: SIOCSIFFLAGS Reply with quote

Hello,

I have a gentoo X86_64 host running qemu-kvm(0.13.0-r2). I am having difficulties getting a TAP interface on a gentoo guest to work.

I created a tap adapter for my guest VM, a network bridge on the host bridging eth1(LAN) and guest-tap adapter. I load up gentoo-amd64 live CD on the guest VM, eth0 is recognized on the guest and the correct network card is seen (using lspci). When I try to assign an IP address to the guest, it throws the SIOCSIFFLAGS: cannot assign requested address error and will not let me bring the nic up.

On the host I did the following:

Code:
brctl addbr br0
ifconfig br0 10.12.27.254/24 up

tunctl -b -u vxhost -t vxtap0

brctl addif br0 vxtap0
brctl addif br0 eth1


At this point I haven't done anything with the firewall, however.

eth1 looks like:
Code:
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 4e:a6:a6:c7:70:b9
          inet addr:10.12.27.1  Bcast:10.12.27.255  Mask:255.255.255.0


I run the VM as vxhost:

Code:
kvm -hda /dev/vx1/gentoo1 -vnc :1 -m 512 -net nic,macaddr=27:01:27:27:27:01 -net tap,ifname=vxtap0,script=no,downscript=no -smp 4 -cpu host -cdrom iso/install-amd64-minimal-20101118.iso -boot d


once the vm boots, I can see eth0 while running ifconfig -a (or ifconfig eth0 of course) but I can never bring it up with any address.

ex: ifconfig eth0 inet 10.12.27.15 netmask 255.255.255.0

Does anyone have any clue as to why this doesn't work? I have tried using many different NIC types as well with the same result. I also tried running the VM as root in case it needed access to a root node - same thing.


Last edited by Stonic on Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stonic
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jun 2007
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured it out. It was the stupid MAC address I assigned to it - I don't really understand what's an acceptable MAC however. I just followed the KVM convention and changed the first 2 hex to 52:54 instead. Sheesh!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nileshgr
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Location: Pune. IN

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2013 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Stonic wrote:
I figured it out. It was the stupid MAC address I assigned to it - I don't really understand what's an acceptable MAC however. I just followed the KVM convention and changed the first 2 hex to 52:54 instead. Sheesh!!


Bumping a rather old topic. Where did you find this information?!?!?! I have been digging on why my VMs won't get network and this solved it.
_________________
Nilesh Govindrajan
http://nileshgr.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum