Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOUND] Intel HD audio does not work. (Solved)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
knight77
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2009
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the procedure here: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6555533.html#6555533 , maybe you find something that might be useful.

I had a very similar problem but finally it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
Well, for one, trying to use hw0,0 is asking for trouble, at least do those test with plughw0,0.
But it's better to stick to default device and for tests simply use /dev/urandom.
Does alsa-info provide any hints ?


I have no plughw0,0 device :(
The output of alsa-info is above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pgu wrote:
Eurt wrote:
Even using gstreamer, a few annoying errors occur. For example, a box saying a lot "hw:0,0 failed, reverting to hw:0,0" or something like that.
I'm going to compile the same kubuntu kernel and see if there is a module matter... If this fails I should go to the neares mental asylum as soon as possible.
BTW: Thanks for the help received


As I said. I think your alsa is working since you can play a wav file using the default device. Next step is to make sure it supports the correct formats and make sure your applications are using the correct conversion and alsa output. The reason I asked you to use hw:0,0 and 0,3 etc. was since I did not where you were listening for audio.

Does it work to play an mp3 like this:

Code:
mpg123 -o alsa:default 09\ -\ Rammstein\ -\ Ohne\ Dich\ \[Album\ Edit\].mp3


I'll try that as soon as openoffice end its compilation (I hope "soon" :roll: ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pgu wrote:
Does it work to play an mp3 like this:

Code:
mpg123 -o alsa:default 09\ -\ Rammstein\ -\ Ohne\ Dich\ \[Album\ Edit\].mp3


It does! 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
^marcs
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Mar 2005
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had a simmilar problem with gentoo installed 2 days ago. I dont know about technical details of latest udev "and friends" but everything was working out of the box - mean, modules loaded without alsaconf. I was confused at the start and been looking for a problem that doesn't exist :lol: Apparently alsasound init script only serves for restoring mixer levels.

In my case, problem was muted Front AudioOut, If i were You I would double-check alsamixer levels for various muted channels (hint: some channel names may misguide You, check them too)

Good luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 579
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eurt wrote:
pgu wrote:
Does it work to play an mp3 like this:

Code:
mpg123 -o alsa:default 09\ -\ Rammstein\ -\ Ohne\ Dich\ \[Album\ Edit\].mp3


It does! 8O


I guess your alsa is fine then. You should look at your apps, probably add "alsa" and "mp3" to your USE flags if mp3 files and alsa output is what you will be using from your apps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 39003
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eurt,

Please post your
Code:
emerge --info
output. You may well have build a desktop system using the the wrong profile.
Thats not wrong, it just means you have to select many USE flags for yourself that a deskrop profile would provide.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^marcs wrote:
I had a simmilar problem with gentoo installed 2 days ago. I dont know about technical details of latest udev "and friends" but everything was working out of the box - mean, modules loaded without alsaconf. I was confused at the start and been looking for a problem that doesn't exist :lol: Apparently alsasound init script only serves for restoring mixer levels.

In my case, problem was muted Front AudioOut, If i were You I would double-check alsamixer levels for various muted channels (hint: some channel names may misguide You, check them too)

Good luck.


In my case, there are no muted channels :( . I can play mp3 files through mpg123.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pgu wrote:
I guess your alsa is fine then. You should look at your apps, probably add "alsa" and "mp3" to your USE flags if mp3 files and alsa output is what you will be using from your apps.

I have both "alsa" and "mp3" use flags in make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Eurt,

Please post your
Code:
emerge --info
output. You may well have build a desktop system using the the wrong profile.
Thats not wrong, it just means you have to select many USE flags for yourself that a deskrop profile would provide.


This is my emerge --info output:
Code:
Portage 2.2.0_alpha19 (default/linux/amd64/10.0/no-multilib, gcc-4.4.4, glibc-2.11.2-r3, 2.6.37-escobar2 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-2.6.37-escobar2-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-_i3_CPU_M_370_@_2.40GHz-with-gentoo-1.12.14
Timestamp of tree: Sun, 23 Jan 2011 12:55:01 +0000
app-shells/bash:     4.1_p7
dev-java/java-config: 2.1.11-r3
dev-lang/python:     2.6.6-r1, 3.1.2-r4
dev-util/cmake:      2.8.1-r2
sys-apps/baselayout: 1.12.14-r1
sys-apps/sandbox:    2.4
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.65-r1
sys-devel/automake:  1.9.6-r3, 1.11.1
sys-devel/binutils:  2.20.1-r1
sys-devel/gcc:       4.4.4-r2
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.1
sys-devel/libtool:   2.2.10
sys-devel/make:      3.81-r2
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.30-r1 (sys-kernel/linux-headers)
Repositories: gentoo
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=core2 -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/config /var/lib/hsqldb"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/terminfo"
CXXFLAGS="-march=core2 -mtune=generic -O2 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="assume-digests binpkg-logs distlocks fixlafiles fixpackages news parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unknown-features-warn unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch"
FFLAGS=""
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://distfiles.gentoo.org"
LANG="es_ES.utf8"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1 -Wl,--as-needed"
LINGUAS="es es_ES"
MAKEOPTS="-j5"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY=""
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X aac aalib acl alsa amd64 berkdb bzip2 cairo cdda cddb cli cpudetection cracklib crypt cups custom-cflags cxx dbus dirac dri dvb dvd dxr3 exif faac flac fortran gdbm gpm hal iconv id3tag imagemagick ipv6 jpeg jpeg2k kde laptop libv4l libv4l2 lirc lm_sensors mmx mng modules mp3 mp3rtp mp4 mpeg mudflap musepack ncurses nls nptl nptlonly nsplugin ogg opengl openmp pam pcre perl phonon png pppd python python3 qt3support qt4 readline sdl semantic-desktop session sndfile speex sql sse sse2 ssl svg sysfs taglib tcpd tiff truetype twolame udev unicode v4l v4l2 vcd vorbis wavpack webkit xorg xvid zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache cgi cgid dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" COLLECTD_PLUGINS="df interface irq load memory rrdtool swap syslog" ELIBC="glibc" GPSD_PROTOCOLS="ashtech aivdm earthmate evermore fv18 garmin garmintxt gpsclock itrax mtk3301 nmea ntrip navcom oceanserver oldstyle oncore rtcm104v2 rtcm104v3 sirf superstar2 timing tsip tripmate tnt ubx" INPUT_DEVICES="joystick evdev mouse keyboard penmount" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LINGUAS="es es_ES" PHP_TARGETS="php5-3" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby18" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="intel" XTABLES_ADDONS="quota2 psd pknock lscan length2 ipv4options ipset ipp2p iface geoip fuzzy condition tee tarpit sysrq steal rawnat logmark ipmark dhcpmac delude chaos account"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_BUNZIP2_COMMAND, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS


Thanks everyone for your quick replies :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 39003
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eurt,

Your emerge --info looks ok, unless you have something odd in /etc/portage/package.use

What does
Code:
ls -l /dev/snd
show?
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Eurt,

Your emerge --info looks ok, unless you have something odd in /etc/portage/package.use

What does
Code:
ls -l /dev/snd
show?


Here it goes:
Code:
# ls -l /dev/snd

total 0
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root      60 ene 25 22:06 by-path
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 9 ene 25 22:06 controlC0
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 8 ene 25 22:06 hwC0D0
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 7 ene 25 22:06 hwC0D3
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 6 ene 25 22:06 pcmC0D0c
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 5 ene 25 22:06 pcmC0D0p
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 4 ene 25 22:06 pcmC0D3p
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 3 ene 25 22:06 pcmC0D7p
crw-rw---- 1 root audio 116, 2 ene 25 22:06 timer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fitzcarraldo
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 1287
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:20 pm    Post subject: What model of laptop is it? Reply with quote

Eurt, who is the manufacturer and what is the model of laptop?
_________________
Clevo W230SS: amd64, OpenRC, nvidia-drivers & xf86-video-intel.
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, OpenRC, xf86-video-ati, dual booting with Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
KDE on both laptops.

Fitzcarraldo's blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 39003
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eurt,

That looks good too - you only have one sound card with several devices on it, so alsa is not being confused by several sound cards.
Are you in the audio group?
Check with groups.

mplayer is a good diagnostic tool what does
Code:
 mplayer -ao help
show ?
It lists available output drivers
Code:
$ mplayer -ao help
MPlayer 32577-4.4.5 (C) 2000-2010 MPlayer Team
Available audio output drivers:
   oss   OSS/ioctl audio output
   alsa   ALSA-0.9.x-1.x audio output
   pulse   PulseAudio audio output
   mpegpes   DVB audio output
   v4l2   V4L2 MPEG Audio Decoder output
   null   Null audio output
   pcm   RAW PCM/WAVE file writer audio output


In alsamixer, mute (thats [MM] at the bottom of the slider, all controls with IEC or SPDI/F in their names. HDA drivers can do digital or analogue sound but not both at the same time.
When both are selected, digital works and you get nothing from your speakers.

If you have a separate Headphone Control in alsamixer, mute that too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:55 am    Post subject: Re: What model of laptop is it? Reply with quote

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
Eurt, who is the manufacturer and what is the model of laptop?

The manufacturer is emachines (Acer), model D730.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
Eurt,

That looks good too - you only have one sound card with several devices on it, so alsa is not being confused by several sound cards.
Are you in the audio group?
Check with groups.

mplayer is a good diagnostic tool what does
Code:
 mplayer -ao help
show ?
It lists available output drivers
Code:
$ mplayer -ao help
MPlayer 32577-4.4.5 (C) 2000-2010 MPlayer Team
Available audio output drivers:
   oss   OSS/ioctl audio output
   alsa   ALSA-0.9.x-1.x audio output
   pulse   PulseAudio audio output
   mpegpes   DVB audio output
   v4l2   V4L2 MPEG Audio Decoder output
   null   Null audio output
   pcm   RAW PCM/WAVE file writer audio output


In alsamixer, mute (thats [MM] at the bottom of the slider, all controls with IEC or SPDI/F in their names. HDA drivers can do digital or analogue sound but not both at the same time.
When both are selected, digital works and you get nothing from your speakers.

If you have a separate Headphone Control in alsamixer, mute that too.


I've digital outputs muted.
I tried to emerge mplayer to try "mplayer -ao help" But one of it dependencies em8300-modules, fail its compilation with an error I think have something to do with my weird problem:
Code:
>>> Emerging (1 of 6) media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4
 * em8300-0.17.4.tar.gz RMD160 SHA1 SHA256 size ;-) ...                                                                [ ok ]
 * Package:    media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4
 * Repository: gentoo
 * Maintainer: media-video@gentoo.org
 * USE:        amd64 elibc_glibc kernel_linux userland_GNU
 * FEATURES:   preserve-libs sandbox
 * Determining the location of the kernel source code
 * Found kernel source directory:
 *     /usr/src/linux
 * Found kernel object directory:
 *     /lib/modules/2.6.37-escobar2/build
 * Found sources for kernel version:
 *     2.6.37-escobar2
 * Checking for suitable kernel configuration options...                                                               [ ok ]
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking em8300-0.17.4.tar.gz to /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work
>>> Source unpacked in /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules ...
make -j5 KERNEL_LOCATION=/usr/src/linux
[ ! -x ./update_em8300_version.sh ] || ./update_em8300_version.sh em8300_version.h
make -C /usr/src/linux SUBDIRS=/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules modules
make[1]: se ingresa al directorio `/usr/src/linux-2.6.37-escobar2'
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/adv717x.o
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_main.o
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/bt865.o
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_i2c.o
  CC [M]  /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_audio.o
In file included from /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_models.h:25,
                 from /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_i2c.c:45:
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/../include/linux/em8300.h:395: error: el campo ‘audio_driver_style_lock’ tiene tipo de dato incompleto
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_i2c.c: En la función ‘em8300_i2c_init1’:
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_i2c.c:357: error: faltan argumentos para la función ‘i2c_new_probed_device’
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_i2c.c: En la función ‘em8300_i2c_init2’:
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_i2c.c:428: error: faltan argumentos para la función ‘i2c_new_probed_device’
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_i2c.c:432: error: faltan argumentos para la función ‘i2c_new_probed_device’
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/bt865.c:91: error: ‘param_ops_output_mode_t’ no se declaró aquí (no en una función)
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/adv717x.c:137: error: ‘param_ops_output_mode_t’ no se declaró aquí (no en una función)
make[2]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_i2c.o] Error 1
make[2]: *** Se espera a que terminen otras tareas....
make[2]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/bt865.o] Error 1
In file included from /var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_audio.c:50:
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/../include/linux/em8300.h:395: error: el campo ‘audio_driver_style_lock’ tiene tipo de dato incompleto
make[2]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/adv717x.o] Error 1
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_audio.c: En la función ‘preprocess_digital’:
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_audio.c:156: aviso: se descarta el valor de devolución de ‘copy_from_user’, se declaró con el atributo warn_unused_result
make[2]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_audio.o] Error 1
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_main.c:484: error: se especificó el campo desconocido ‘ioctl’ en el inicializador
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_main.c:484: aviso: inicialización desde un tipo de puntero incompatible
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_main.c:587: error: se especificó el campo desconocido ‘ioctl’ en el inicializador
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_main.c:587: aviso: inicialización desde un tipo de puntero incompatible
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_main.c: En la función ‘em8300_probe’:
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_main.c:826: error: declaración implícita de la función ‘init_MUTEX’
make[2]: *** [/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/em8300_main.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [_module_/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules] Error 2
make[1]: se sale del directorio `/usr/src/linux-2.6.37-escobar2'
make: *** [build] Error 2
emake failed


Maybe it can help to find the problem out. I don't know.

The first error translated:
Code:
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/../include/linux/em8300.h:395: error: el campo ‘audio_driver_style_lock’ tiene tipo de dato incompleto

Code:
/var/tmp/portage/media-video/em8300-modules-0.17.4/work/em8300-0.17.4/modules/../include/linux/em8300.h:395: error: field ‘audio_driver_style_lock’ has incomplete data type

Or something like that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6193

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IMHO, using mplayer for sound debugging is a rather odd idea.

Eurt, while no controls look muted, a few are at 0% or off at last alsa-info - speaker and IEC958 specifically.

For sound tests, 'aplay </dev/urandom' should be enough - white noise is still sound.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
IMHO, using mplayer for sound debugging is a rather odd idea.

Eurt, while no controls look muted, a few are at 0% or off at last alsa-info - speaker and IEC958 specifically.

For sound tests, 'aplay </dev/urandom' should be enough - white noise is still sound.


Right, I got that white sound, I see alsa works well...
The problem now is that I can't make KDE apps to see my soundcard, phonon list of devices is empty (xine engine). Maybe is a phonon issue, I installed the same phonon version I have on another PC (which works good with intel HD audio) and I still getting no devices... :(
At least I know is a KDE fault now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pgu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Jul 2009
Posts: 579
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How to tell your app to use alsa is very application dependent so I can't be much help here. You ave alsa in your USE flags so the apps that have alsa support should work if you just select the alsa output.

Since your default alsa output works you should be able to select it in mplayer like this:

Code:
mplayer  -ao alsa:device=hw=default ed_hd.avi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 39003
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eurt,

em8300-modules are pulled in the the dxr3 USE flag. The dxr3 card is a very old hardware mpeg2 overlay card. I used to use one to play DVDs on an AMD k6-2 450MHz system because it could not manage software mpeg2 decoding. I thought it was odd for you to have that USE flag set. I still have the card somewhere.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello again. I decided to make a final test to find out if KDE/Phonon was the responsible of such issue.
Results are positive.
I made a 32 bit chroot and installed wine onto it. Guess what...
Code:
$ winecfg

http://img64.imageshack.us/img64/2474/winecfg.png

I installed spotify and it runs perfectly.
I can manage volume settings through Kmix and alsamixer, a curious tip: I have no PCM bar :?: .

So... What does happen to Phonon? I've tried different versions with same results... If only were somehow to make amarok play sound directly through alsa instead of passing through phonon...

Thanks again for your help and patience. :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
knight77
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2009
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Eurt wrote:

So... What does happen to Phonon? I've tried different versions with same results... If only were somehow to make amarok play sound directly through alsa instead of passing through phonon...


You can :D

I posted a few days ago on another thread a procedure to make sound work in KDE with phonon. Today after really needing sound in some applications i discovered the problem was only partially fixed. I had sound after that procedures in firefox/flash player and kmplayer (no sound previously), but amarok kept silent today.

Solution that works for me is this:
- (THIS STEP MAY NOT BE NEEDED) unmasked and emerged phonon-4.4.4 (previously was 4.4.2) - also required unmasking of (new?) phonon-xine package, and also some tweaking so it won't pull in vlc backend
- in KDE -> System Settings -> (Computer Administration) Multimedia -> UNCHECK "Show advanced devices" and select in the NEW list "ALSA default output"

Now i have sound in amarok via Phonon :D

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6193

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect, that "Show advanced devices" means actually "Use Pulseaudio" - lately even KDE prefers it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

knight77 wrote:
You can :D

I posted a few days ago on another thread a procedure to make sound work in KDE with phonon. Today after really needing sound in some applications i discovered the problem was only partially fixed. I had sound after that procedures in firefox/flash player and kmplayer (no sound previously), but amarok kept silent today.

Solution that works for me is this:
- (THIS STEP MAY NOT BE NEEDED) unmasked and emerged phonon-4.4.4 (previously was 4.4.2) - also required unmasking of (new?) phonon-xine package, and also some tweaking so it won't pull in vlc backend
- in KDE -> System Settings -> (Computer Administration) Multimedia -> UNCHECK "Show advanced devices" and select in the NEW list "ALSA default output"

Now i have sound in amarok via Phonon :D

Hope this helps.


Empty list even with "show advanced devices" chosen. :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eurt
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 82
Location: Cádiz, Spain

PostPosted: Thu Jan 27, 2011 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
I suspect, that "Show advanced devices" means actually "Use Pulseaudio" - lately even KDE prefers it.


I think you're right.
In older amarok versions (KDE3) you could choose the engine at options tab... In newer ones just Phonon... :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum