Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Can t scan for wifi network
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
xmaes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 69
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:19 pm    Post subject: Can t scan for wifi network Reply with quote

Hi,

I try to configure wifi on my laptop.
My wifi adapter is :
Code:
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless WiFi Link 5300

i configured the kernel like that: http://paste.pocoo.org/show/255712/
and installed
Code:
I--] [  ] net-wireless/iwl5000-ucode-8.24.2.12 (1)

and the firmware is loaded at start up
Code:
laptop xavier # dmesg | grep iwl
iwlagn: Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link AGN driver for Linux, in-tree:d
iwlagn: Copyright(c) 2003-2010 Intel Corporation
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 17
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: setting latency timer to 64
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: Detected Intel Wireless WiFi Link 5300AGN REV=0x24
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: Tunable channels: 13 802.11bg, 24 802.11a channels
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: firmware: requesting iwlwifi-5000-2.ucode
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: loaded firmware version 8.24.2.12
phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'iwl-agn-rs'
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: RF_KILL bit toggled to disable radio.
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: RF_KILL bit toggled to enable radio.
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: RF_KILL bit toggled to disable radio.
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: Radio disabled by HW RF Kill switch
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: Radio disabled by HW RF Kill switch
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: Radio disabled by HW RF Kill switch
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: Radio disabled by HW RF Kill switch
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: Radio disabled by HW RF Kill switch

I can see the interface
Code:
laptop xavier # ifconfig wlan0
wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:21:6a:79:c9:3a 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

if i try to stat the wpa_supplicant service i get the following
Code:
laptop xavier # /etc/init.d/wpa_supplicant start
 * Starting WPA Supplicant Daemon ...
ioctl[SIOCSIWAP]: Input/output error
ioctl[SIOCSIWESSID]: Input/output error                                                                                                                                                                  [ ok ]
laptop xavier #

and then
Code:
laptop xavier # wpa_cli
wpa_cli v0.6.10
Selected interface 'wlan0'
Interactive mode
> scan
<2>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
OK
> <2>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
scan_<2>CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
results
bssid / frequency / signal level / flags / ssid
>

but i never get a result of any network.
if i run
Code:
laptop xavier # wpa_supplicant -iwlan0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ioctl[SIOCSIWAP]: Input/output error
ioctl[SIOCSIWESSID]: Input/output error
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Input/output error
Failed to initiate AP scan.
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Input/output error
Failed to initiate AP scan.
ioctl[SIOCSIWSCAN]: Input/output error
Failed to initiate AP scan.

I keep getting the Failed to initiate AP scan
my /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
# The below line not be changed otherwise we refuse to work
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
network={
        ssid="something"
        proto=WPA
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        psk=something
        priority=2
}

and my vim /etc/conf.d/net
Code:
config_eth0="dhcp"
modules="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=15

I configure my route to use WPA2-PSK and AES.
I use to have debian install and the same machine and wifi was working fine with network-manager but now i want it on gentoo with wpa_supplicant.
Any help would be apreciated,
Thanks,

Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xmaes,

Code:
iwlagn 0000:02:00.0: Radio disabled by HW RF Kill switch

You need to switch the wireless on. You have a physical switch you must operate.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmaes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 69
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Sat Aug 28, 2010 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you the message make sense now..but the physical switch is on, actually that more like a panel of lights.

Maybe i have to install a package to control those buttons.
Even if i can physically activate/deactivate them maybe it is not actually doing anything (there is no additional entry in dmesg)

My laptop is a HP elitebook 6930p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmaes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 69
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i have to disconnect in order to activate the wifi.
Bringing down eth0 is not enough...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum