Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Pappy's Kernel Seeds Part III<Closed. Please use new thread>
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 22, 23, 24  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It probably could be made to happen, but I'm not a coder, so I can't say for sure. Learning to code is on my list of things to do when I get rich and can afford to go back to college to see how much more I know now than do my professors, or to learn...whichever.

If you can get others interested in the idea, or can find something to borrow from another distro that does this thing, then by all means, have at it. If you want to code it yourself, even better. I get the feeling though that this might be a more intense project than it appears to be on its face.

If you do decide to pursue this idea, start a new thread for it, and post that thread here so interested parties could follow your progress.

Cheers,
Pappy
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1clue,

There would be a huge maintainence burden keeping up with kernel changes and hardware database changes.

You should find that after you have made a seed and got it to work, migrating it to new kernel versions is fairly trivial.
Do you know what
Code:
make oldconfig
is for ?

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
1clue
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote