View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
matt2kjones
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:41 pm    Post subject: Suggestions for Desktop Environment for work Reply with quote

Hello,

I work for a document management company, and im currently trying to move away from windows on my work machines. At the moment I have a dual boot of windows 7 + gentoo with Xfce. As it stands I am able to use linux for most of my work. As I work in IT, most of my work is networks, servers and programming, so using Linux is ideal for me.

But occasionally, I do help out with production work, which includes working with images (convering between formats, mainly pdfs, tifs & jpegs) as well as OCR (although, there doesn't seem to be many good open source ocr packages available yet).

My main issue I have at the moment is my desktop environment. Using thunar, I am unable to just browse network shares without first mounting them. I have tried to use fuse to automount network locations with no success.

Another issue with Thunar is the lack of search. I did install catfish, to add search functionally to Thunar, but its an external implementation so I can't, for example, view thumbnails of search results.

Also, things like ristretto image viewer is very basic, and doesn't really support large images very well.

I installed Nautilus as a test. This provides network browsing and searching, which is great... but its thumbnailing isn't as good as thunar. I have to keep refreshing folders for the thumbnails to load... which gets really frustrating.