Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
alsaconf appears to work but doesn't [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wilsonsamm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 6:56 pm    Post subject: alsaconf appears to work but doesn't [solved] Reply with quote

I wasn't quite sure whether to post this in "Kernel & Hardware" or in "Multimedia", but I went ahead and posted it here. Feel free to move it if you feel it's in the wrong place.

Having installed a fresh system, I decided to get sound working after (almost) everything else was up, so I compiled alsa into my kernel as a module, merged alsa-utils, and ran alsaconf which found my card and appeared to set it up. "Fine," I thought, "I'll just run alsamixer to set my volumes and unmute my channels, then I should be able to listen to some music".

Well, alsamixer gives me this message:
Code:
This sound device does not have any controls.

bizarre, non? :?:

aplay shows that I have no cards installed:
Code:
orangeblanket linux # aplay -l           
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****


http://pastebin.com/YRuLB5X0 here is my kernel config

If I want to play an mp3 back, mplayer behaves in the following way:
Code:
$ mplayer 01\ -\ Beck\ -\ Sexx\ Laws.mp3
MPlayer SVN-r29796-4.4.3 (C) 2000-2009 MPlayer Team
Spiller 01 - Beck - Sexx Laws.mp3
Detekterte Audio only filformat!
Clip info:
 Title: Sexx Laws
 Artist: Beck
 Album: Midnite Vultures
 Year: 1999
 Comment:
 Track: 1
 Genre: Rock
==========================================================================
Opening audio decoder: [mp3lib] MPEG layer-2, layer-3
AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 128.0 kbit/9.07% (ratio: 16000->176400)
Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm: mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
==========================================================================
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_dmix.c:1010:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
[AO_ALSA] Playback open error: No such file or directory
[AO SDL] Samplerate: 44100Hz Channels: Stereo Format s16le
[AO_ALSA] alsa-lib: pcm_dmix.c:1010:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
[AO SDL] Unable to open audio: No available audio device
DVB card number must be between 1 and 4
AO: [null] 44100Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Video: no video
Starter avspilling...
A:   5.7 (05.6) of 436.0 (07:16.0)  0.6%
Avslutter... (Avslutt)


my kernel is linux-2.6.33-gentoo-r2
I have media-sound/alsa-utils-1.0.21-r1 USE="nls -doc -minimal"

Is anyone able to tell me what I'm doing wrong?


Last edited by wilsonsamm on Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6193

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lets start with /proc/asound/cards to see what card is it exactly.
Perhaps you simply didn't load correct module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilsonsamm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
sam@orangeblanket ~ $ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [VT82xx         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA VIA VT82xx
                      HDA VIA VT82xx at 0xbfffc000 irq 17

that matches with this information from lspci:
Code:
80:01.0 Audio device: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT1708/A [Azalia HDAC] (VIA High Definition Audio Controller) (rev 10)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6193

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does speaker-test produce noise ?
Anything interesting in /proc/asound/ ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilsonsamm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh, speaker-test. I didn't know about that one. Well, I gave it a go but it didn't make a noise. It just gave an error:
Code:
orangeblanket sam # speaker-test

speaker-test 1.0.21

Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 1 channels
Using 16 octaves of pink noise
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1010:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
Playback open error: -2,No such file or directory


as for /proc/asound:
Code:

orangeblanket sam # ls -al /proc/asound/
total 0
dr-xr-xr-x  5 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 .
dr-xr-xr-x 94 root root 0 Jul  2 18:21 ..
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 5 Jul  2 21:28 VT82xx -> card0
dr-xr-xr-x  2 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 card0
-r--r--r--  1 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 cards
-r--r--r--  1 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 devices
-r--r--r--  1 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 hwdep
-r--r--r--  1 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 modules
dr-xr-xr-x  2 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 oss
-r--r--r--  1 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 pcm
dr-xr-xr-x  2 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 seq
-r--r--r--  1 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 timers
-r--r--r--  1 root root 0 Jul  2 21:28 version

didn't really know what to look for in there... I'll have a scout and see if I can find anything out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 6632

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eheh, you might find that tweaky, but don't just assume VIA HDA= VIA codec :)

look at me for example :
Code:
 cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [Intel          ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
                      HDA Intel at 0xf7cf8000 irq 55


so as you see i have an HDA-Intel, and the codec is ... HDA Intel

and it's fine for this card
Code:

lspci | grep Audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller

but, well, no :
Code:
lsmod | grep snd
snd_seq_dummy           1178  0
snd_seq_oss            21292  0
snd_seq_midi_event      4766  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                38076  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          4827  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            29257  0
snd_mixer_oss          10968  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_hda_codec_realtek   189521  1
snd_hda_intel          18595  1
snd_hda_codec          56670  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               4548  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                53767  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              14471  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    43324  15 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               4918  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          5901  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm


got it ? look, the realtek codec is load.

and looking at my kernel source...
Code:

cat /usr/src/linux/.config | grep SND_HDA
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_RECONFIG=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_JACK=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ATIHDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_NVHDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_INTELHDMI=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_ELD=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=0


It was pickup even i agree alsa to use any. So it's certain the realtek codek is needed for me


to sum up: rebuild the kernel and enable every HDA codec to let alsa have a chance to find the good one for you (even alsa told you it's VIA)



edit: found a real proof it's Realtek one.
Code:
cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#0 | head
Codec: Realtek ALC1200
Address: 0
Function Id: 0x1
Vendor Id: 0x10ec0888
Subsystem Id: 0x104383c0
Revision Id: 0x100101
No Modem Function Group found
Default PCM:
    rates [0x560]: 44100 48000 96000 192000
    bits [0xe]: 16 20 24
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilsonsamm
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is fantastic!
It works. Thank you both for your invaluable help and for solving this problem.

You've made someone very happy today.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
joehni
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jul 2003
Posts: 175

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2010 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, that helped me also a lot. I had sound, but only the front channel was reacting - no master channel or something else. Activating the Realtek stuff for intel_hda solved this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum