Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
bcm4318 restart problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SomeoneHere
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 11:04 am    Post subject: bcm4318 restart problem Reply with quote

Hi

I've got Broadcom bcm4318 network card and it's running ok. Problem arises when I try to restart it. I use script restartWireless:
Code:

/etc/init.d/net.wlan1 stop
rfkill unblock all
/etc/init.d/net.wlan1 start
/etc/init.d/sshd restart


When I execute:
date; date >> asdf.log;./restartWireless >> asdf.log;ping -c 3 onet.pl >> asdf.log;date >> asdf.log


In asdf.log I've got:
Code:

Sat Jun 12 14:47:54 CEST 2010
 * Stopping wlan1
 *   Loading networking modules for wlan1
 *     modules: apipa arping ccwgroup macchanger macnet rename iwconfig wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig iproute2 pppd system dhclient ip6to4
 *   Bringing down wlan1
 *     Shutting down wlan1 ...                                            [ ok ]
 * Starting wlan1
 *   Loading networking modules for wlan1
 *     modules: apipa arping ccwgroup macchanger macnet rename iwconfig essidnet iptunnel iproute2 pppd system dhclient ip6to4
 *       iwconfig provides wireless
 *       iproute2 provides interface
 *       pppd provides ppp
 *       dhclient provides dhcp
 *   Configuring wlan1 for MAC address XXXXXX ...              [ ok ]
 *   Configuring wireless network for wlan1
 *   Connecting to "XXXXX" in managed mode (WEP Disabled) ...            [ ok ]
 *     wlan1 connected to ESSID "XXXX" at XXXXXXXXXX
 *     in managed mode on channel 11 (WEP disabled)
 *   Configuring wlan1 for ESSID "XXXXX" ...                             [ ok ]
 *   Bringing up wlan1
 *     192.168.1.111/24                                                   [ ok ]
 *   Adding routes
 *     default via 192.168.1.1 ...                                        [ ok ]
 * Stopping sshd ...                                                      [ ok ]
 * Starting sshd ...                                                      [ ok ]
PING onet.pl (213.180.146.27) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from s4.m1r2.onet.pl (213.180.146.27): icmp_seq=1 ttl=52 time=23.0 ms
64 bytes from s4.m1r2.onet.pl (213.180.146.27): icmp_seq=2 ttl=52 time=21.0 ms
64 bytes from s4.m1r2.onet.pl (213.180.146.27): icmp_seq=3 ttl=52 time=22.0 ms

--- onet.pl ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 21.000/22.000/23.000/0.816 ms
Sat Jun 12 14:48:02 CEST 2010


So in theory it's working after restart. But, despite the fact that ping from machine is working, ping to that machine shows that Destination host is unreachable and I can't remotely connect to that machine using sshd. To make it possible I have to restart system...


Can anyone help me with that problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 3:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
lspci -k

Network controller ?
Subsystem ?
Kernel driver in use ?
Kernel modules ?
Code:
cat /etc/conf.d/net
?
with due regard to protecting security
Code:
cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
?
Code:
grep -i rfkill /usr/src/linux/.config
?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SomeoneHere
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kernel: linux-2.6.34-rc6

lspci -k
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE/PE DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 01)
        Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation Device 00c5
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation Device 00c5
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation Device 00c5
        Kernel driver in use: uhci_hcd
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation Device 00c5
        Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 81)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL (ICH4/ICH4-L) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DB (ICH4) IDE Controller (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation Device 00c5
        Kernel driver in use: ata_piix
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 01)
        Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation Device 00c5
05:04.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4318 [AirForce One 54g] 802.11g Wireless LAN Controller (rev 02)
        Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. WL-138G V2 802.11g WLAN PCI Card
        Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
        Kernel modules: ssb
05:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB PRO/100 VE (LOM) Ethernet Controller (rev 81)
        Subsystem: Compaq Computer Corporation Device 0091
        Kernel driver in use: e100


lsmod
Code:

Module                  Size  Used by
b43                   139399  0
ssb                    27565  1 b43


cat /et/conf.d/net
Code:

config_wlan1=( "192.168.1.111/24" )
routes_wlan1=( "default via 192.168.1.1" )

modules=( "iwconfig" )

essid_wlan1="XXX"

preferred_aps=( "prezes" )
associate_order_wlan1="forcepreferredonly"


grep -i rfkill /usr/src/linux/.config
Code:

CONFIG_RFKILL=y
CONFIG_RFKILL_LEDS=y
CONFIG_RFKILL_INPUT=y



I don't use WPA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does
Quote:
essid_wlan1="XXX"
conflict with
Quote:
preferred_aps=( "prezes" )
associate_order_wlan1="forcepreferredonly"

If not, have you found the redundancy necessary?

Long ago used this script as /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 instead of gentoo's symlink to /etc/init.d/net.lo (adapted from http://ciaranm.wordpress.com/2008/07/14/edimax-ew-7728in-80211n-ralink-rt2860-with-linux-2626/#comments )
Quote:
#!/sbin/runscript

depend() {
need localmount
after bootmisc hostname net.lo net.lo0
use isapnp isdn pcmcia usb wlan
}

start() {
bash -x -c 'ifconfig wlan0 192.168.0.4 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255'
bash -x -c 'route add default gw 192.168.0.1'
bash -x -c 'ifconfig wlan0 up'
bash -x -c 'iwconfig wlan0 mode managed'
bash -x -c 'iwconfig wlan0 essid "Wireless"'
}

stop() {
:
}

restart() {
:
}

you might want to adapt, make executable, and see if it changes behavior
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what happens if you add
Quote:
preup () {
if [[ ${IFACE} == "wlan1" ]]; then
rfkill unblock all
fi
}
to /etc/conf.d/net and run
Code:
/etc/init.d/net.wlan1 restart
?

is there a difference in the output of
Code:
rc-status
when run just after booting and just after restart?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SomeoneHere
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2010
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's no difference in rc-status before and after restart. Also addin preup() doesn't help. Still after restart I can see network from computer, but network doesn't see me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum