Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bridging with wireless
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jserink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 1008

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 7:57 am    Post subject: Bridging with wireless Reply with quote

Hi All;

I just spent the morning trying to get bridging working via my wireless (ath5K) and my ethernet port. The other end of the bridge is a Compex access point. I had another compex AP at this end setup in what compex calls "transparent cleint mode" and compex used linux inside so figured I should be able to do the same with my laptop.

Was unsuccessful however. My steps were:
run this:
wpa_supplicant -i wlan1 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -D wext &

after which my laptop would associate with the compex AP.

I then setup my bridge:
ip link set dev eth0 up
ip addr add dev wlan1 0.0.0.0/32
ip addr add dev eth0 0.0.0.0/32
brctl addbr br0
brctl addif br0 eth0
brctl addif br0 wlan1
ip addr add dev br0 192.168.1.99/24 brd 192.168.1.255
ip addr add dev br0 10.3.36.77/24 brd 10.3.36.255
ip link set dev br0 up

as soon as the last command is entered, that is, I bring the bridge interface up, I get this:
CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED - Disconnect event - remove keys
CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
Trying to associate with 00:80:48:5c:80:c3 (SSID='MSK' freq=2457 MHz)
Associated with 00:80:48:5c:80:c3
CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED - Disconnect event - remove keys
CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
Trying to associate with 00:80:48:5c:80:c3 (SSID='MSK' freq=2457 MHz)
Associated with 00:80:48:5c:80:c3
CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED - Disconnect event - remove keys
CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
Trying to associate with 00:80:48:5c:80:c3 (SSID='MSK' freq=2457 MHz)
Associated with 00:80:48:5c:80:c3
CTRL-EVENT-DISCONNECTED - Disconnect event - remove keys
CTRL-EVENT-SCAN-RESULTS
Trying to associate with 00:80:48:5c:80:c3 (SSID='MSK' freq=2457 MHz)
Associated with 00:80:48:5c:80:c3

And it can never associate again. I'm concluding that wpa_supplicant cannot be used in bridged configuration. The only references I can find are people that have used hostapd on APs to do bridging but no one using wpa_supplicant on the lcient side to do the same.

A few questions for any experts:
1. Can hostapd be used on a client to associate with an AP?
2. Are there any known tweaks for wpa_supplicant to get it to work when wlan1 is used in a bridge?

My work around meant I had to change the DNS entry on the hosts in the segment I was bridging to (I could have used DNSmas but that's enough playing for today) and just did this:
ip addr add deb eth0 192.168.29.1 brd 192.168.29.255
ip link set dev eth0 up
iptables -t nat -I POSTROUTING -o wlan1 -j MASQUERADE
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward

So, its working but, would really like to see if bridging would work.

Cheers,
john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to add the wifi port to the bridge first so it inherits the same MAC address. It's a hardware limitation in the wifi card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 1008

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant_P wrote:
You need to add the wifi port to the bridge first so it inherits the same MAC address. It's a hardware limitation in the wifi card.


You mean add wlan0 to the bridge BEFORE running wpa_supplicant?

I'll give that a go.

Thanx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Add it before eth0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mad Merlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

IIRC, most wireless cards cannot be (usefully) bridged as the hardware refuses to emit more than one MAC address. Wired cards do not have this limitation.
_________________
Game! - Where the stick is mightier than the sword!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 1008

PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ant_P wrote:
Add it before eth0.


No joy. Interesting explaination here:
http://kerneltrap.org/mailarchive/linux-ath5k-devel/2010/3/21/6871553/thread

O need to use hostapd. Apparently, wpa_supllicant forces the atheros into managed mode for which I can confirm as iwconfig cannot change its mode no matter what....tried ad-hoc, secondary, etc....
As long wpa_supplicant is running, no go.

Will try setting up the bridge first, then running wpa_supplicant.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jserink
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 1008

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Guys:

Ok, I have decided to go back to the Madwifi drivers, specifically the madwifi-hal-0.10.5.6-r4126-20100324.tar and NOT the ones in portage as they are horribly dated. The madwifi drivers can be used in transparent bridging as they have a WDS option that when set to 1 sets the packets to 4 address frames for Etherent bridging to work (http://madwifi-project.org/wiki/UserDocs/TransparentBridge). However, this makes things messy with portage:
-if I wnabled the madwifi USE flag for wpa_supplicant, portage will try and pull in the obsolete madwifi in portage,

How can I prevent portage from doing this without having to manually supply the madwifi USE flag everything I emerge wpa-supplicant? Does any one have a work around?

On way is if I could find an overlay with the latest madwifi development build.

Looking for suggestions here.

Cheers,
john
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mad Merlin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears there's quite a bit of noise about newer versions (and cooresponding ebuilds) of madwifi in Gentoo's bug tracker. It looks like a long story, but try starting here: https://bugs.gentoo.org/buglist.cgi?quicksearch=ALL+madwifi, then sort by bug id descending. If you don't care about the whole story, you could probably safely just drop one of the attached ebuilds into a local overlay and hope for the best.

If it's not already obvious, I would suggest you finding (or creating) a newer ebuild and using that.
_________________
Game! - Where the stick is mightier than the sword!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum