Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
framebuffer driver and KMS radeon.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mathfeel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:04 am    Post subject: framebuffer driver and KMS radeon. Reply with quote

My machine used to boot up with fbsplash and turns on console decoration with the uvesafb driver. I did not enable the KMS option for the radeon driver (the chip is R500), but basically uvesafb as framebuffer driver and radeon as X driver works.

Now I decided to play with enabling KMS for radeo. So I turned off framebuffer driver (FB_UVESA=n and FB_RADEON=n) in kernel and modified boot option to be simply
Code:
vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1 ro quiet splash
Now when I reboot, the screen is black, but everything starts up fine in the background. Finally when X is started by gdm, then X takes over the display. I cannot CTRL-ALT-F# out to any of the console.

What am I screwing up here?
_________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
"In heaven all the interesting people are missing"
-- Friedrich Nietzsche
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chithanh
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 2158
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Black screen usually points to framebuffer console not enabled in kernel (or if built as module, not loaded).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathfeel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

chithanh wrote:
Black screen usually points to framebuffer console not enabled in kernel (or if built as module, not loaded).

Thanks, somehow I thought with:
Code:
CONFIG_DUMMY_CONSOLE=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE=m
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_DETECT_PRIMARY=y
CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE_ROTATION=y

the module would be loaded when the fbcondecor service start. Compiling it in kernel works.

I just noticed also now that CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR option is missing! What?
_________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
"In heaven all the interesting people are missing"
-- Friedrich Nietzsche


Last edited by mathfeel on Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sera
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: CET

PostPosted: Thu Jun 10, 2010 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

CONFIG_DRM_RADEON=y
CONFIG_DRM_RADEON_KMS=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_I2C=y
CONFIG_FB_RADEON_BACKLIGHT=y
# CONFIG_FB_RADEON_DEBUG is not set


is the relevant part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6196

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@sera: not really, 'CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y' would make KMS
fail to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mathfeel
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 700

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
@sera: not really, 'CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y' would make KMS
fail to work.


Exactly.

Turned out my problem was unrelated because I already have FB_RADEON=n. I found that the following conditions has to be true for CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR to appear in menuconfig:

Code:
CONFIG_FB_TILEBLITTING=n
CONFIG_FB=y (not m)


After that and enabling CONFIG_FRAMEBUFFER_CONSOLE and CONFIG_FB_CON_DECOR, things are working now.
_________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
"In heaven all the interesting people are missing"
-- Friedrich Nietzsche
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sera
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: CET

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
@sera: not really, 'CONFIG_FB_RADEON=y' would make KMS
fail to work.


this is a grep -i radeon of my running kernel 2.6.34 with enabled and working kms on a rv560, thats all I can say.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6196

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it's just like having both IDE and libata drivers enabled
for your controllers - sometimes it works, but on occasions,
you'll be getting "unexpected" failures.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sera
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Feb 2008
Posts: 1017
Location: CET

PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

VoidMage wrote:
Well, it's just like having both IDE and libata drivers enabled
for your controllers - sometimes it works, but on occasions,
you'll be getting "unexpected" failures.


I removed the radeon fb and it still works :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum