Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Pappy's Kernel Seeds Part II <CLOSED>Please use new thread
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 22, 23, 24  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2010 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gh0str1d3r wrote:
Thank you very much Pappy, with your .config I dont have kernel panics any more. What was wrong in my config?


If I were to guess, I'd say it was having IOMMU turned on with a machine that doesn't have that option. It could have also been turning off DMA redirection, turning off yenta, turning off wimax, turning on the random number generator, or turning off all filesystems but ext4.

The best way for you to find out is to experiment. Keep the known good .config somewhere safe, and re-enable the options until you find the one that makes the machine have issues again. If you do go that route, then let me know the exact cause.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Sun May 02, 2010 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aCOSwt wrote:
Since things changed with 2.6.32, Could I humbly and respectfully suggest to pappy_mcfae, some conclusive investigations / testings around rcu subsystem settings for modest SMPs. (fanout)
I no longer hope being capable of this myself. :oops:


I have a better idea. If there is someone who is a regular here who would like to tackle that issue, please step up and do so. At the moment, my plate is fairly full. I would like to know the answer to this in a practical sense.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewthomas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm trying to compile the 2.6.33-gentoo-r1 kernel with KMS and am getting a kernel panic. When I boot the previous 2.6.33-gentoo-r1 kernel that I compiled without KMS it is OK. I changed a few other settings, but not anything that I thought was important. I would really appreciate any ideas at to why this does not work.
.config with KMS http://pastebin.com/EzCvD2wB
.config w/o KMS http://pastebin.com/ei2HUpCS
Code:
ndrew@asus ~ $ cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : AuthenticAMD
cpu family   : 16
model      : 2
model name   : AMD Phenom(tm) 9500 Quad-Core Processor
stepping   : 2
cpu MHz      : 1100.000
cache size   : 512 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 4
core id      : 0
cpu cores   : 4
apicid      : 0
initial apicid   : 0
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 5
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs
bogomips   : 4413.00
TLB size   : 1024 4K pages
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate

processor   : 1
vendor_id   : AuthenticAMD
cpu family   : 16
model      : 2
model name   : AMD Phenom(tm) 9500 Quad-Core Processor
stepping   : 2
cpu MHz      : 1100.000
cache size   : 512 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 4
core id      : 1
cpu cores   : 4
apicid      : 1
initial apicid   : 1
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 5
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs
bogomips   : 4413.23
TLB size   : 1024 4K pages
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate

processor   : 2
vendor_id   : AuthenticAMD
cpu family   : 16
model      : 2
model name   : AMD Phenom(tm) 9500 Quad-Core Processor
stepping   : 2
cpu MHz      : 1100.000
cache size   : 512 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 4
core id      : 2
cpu cores   : 4
apicid      : 2
initial apicid   : 2
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 5
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs
bogomips   : 4413.23
TLB size   : 1024 4K pages
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate

processor   : 3
vendor_id   : AuthenticAMD
cpu family   : 16
model      : 2
model name   : AMD Phenom(tm) 9500 Quad-Core Processor
stepping   : 2
cpu MHz      : 1100.000
cache size   : 512 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 4
core id      : 3
cpu cores   : 4
apicid      : 3
initial apicid   : 3
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 5
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs
bogomips   : 4413.23
TLB size   : 1024 4K pages
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps hwpstate

Code:
asus andrew # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 Northbridge only dual slot PCI-e_GFX and HT3 K8 part
00:02.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (external gfx0 port A)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port A)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port C)
00:07.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD790 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port D)
00:12.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 Non-Raid-5 SATA
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI0)
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI1)
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI2)
00:13.3 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI3)
00:13.4 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB (OHCI4)
00:13.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 USB Controller (EHCI)
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 14)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 IDE
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 PCI to LPC Bridge
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Link Control
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3870
01:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3870 Audio device
02:00.0 IDE interface: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88SE6121 SATA II Controller (rev b1)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 12)
04:00.0 IDE interface: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88SE6121 SATA II Controller (rev b2)
05:08.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Agere Systems FW322/323 (rev 70)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the results of lspci -n and your /etc/fstab file. I'll take a look.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewthomas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for responding. I now have it working, but not quite how I want it.
I think that the problem was
Code:
#CONFIG_SATA_AHCI is not set

instead of
Code:
CONFIG_SATA_AHCI=y

here is the new .config
http://pastebin.com/a8TNADbq
The problem is now I am getting a version mismatch error in my Xorg.log
Code:
(EE) RADEON(0): [dri] RADEONDRIGetVersion failed because of a version mismatch.
[dri] radeon kernel module version is 2.0.0 but version 1.17.0 or newer is needed.
[dri] Disabling DRI.

I am also getting a 60 sec hang during boot
Code:
[    0.486049] [drm] Loading RV670 Microcode
[    0.486094] platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: using built-in firmware radeon/RV670_pfp.bin
[    0.486143] platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: using built-in firmware radeon/RV670_me.bin
[    0.486192] platform radeon_cp.0: firmware: requesting radeon/R600_rlc.bin
[   60.429185] r600_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R600_rlc.bin"
[   60.429229] [drm:r600_startup] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!

and my cpu isn't using powernow-k8 to run at 50% on idle

I'm not sure which options I should enable in this section
Code:
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEBUG=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_POWERSAVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE is not set

#
# CPUFreq processor drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8=y

Code:
lspci -n
00:00.0 0600: 1002:5956
00:02.0 0604: 1002:5978
00:04.0 0604: 1002:597a
00:06.0 0604: 1002:597c
00:07.0 0604: 1002:597d
00:12.0 0106: 1002:4380
00:13.0 0c03: 1002:4387
00:13.1 0c03: 1002:4388
00:13.2 0c03: 1002:4389
00:13.3 0c03: 1002:438a
00:13.4 0c03: 1002:438b
00:13.5 0c03: 1002:4386
00:14.0 0c05: 1002:4385 (rev 14)
00:14.1 0101: 1002:438c
00:14.2 0403: 1002:4383
00:14.3 0601: 1002:438d
00:14.4 0604: 1002:4384
00:18.0 0600: 1022:1200
00:18.1 0600: 1022:1201
00:18.2 0600: 1022:1202
00:18.3 0600: 1022:1203
00:18.4 0600: 1022:1204
01:00.0 0300: 1002:9501
01:00.1 0403: 1002:aa18
02:00.0 0101: 11ab:6121 (rev b1)
03:00.0 0200: 11ab:4364 (rev 12)
04:00.0 0101: 11ab:6121 (rev b2)
05:08.0 0c00: 11c1:5811 (rev 70)

Code:
/etc/fstab
/dev/sda13      /      ext3      noatime      0 1
/dev/sda7      none              swap      sw              0 0
shm         /dev/shm           tmpfs   nodev,nosuid,noexec   0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You weren't too far off. I just did a bit of tweaking here and there so you'd be starting from a stable base.

As far as KMS, I highly recommend you don't use it. It began life as a parasite on Intel GPU's. Its instability has been documented in many places. Beyond that, it remains buggy with the Intel GPU. I can't see as they're doing much better with ATI.

Because some "wise" individual decided crappy is the new good, I am now forced to remain with xorg-server-1.7.6. This is because the drivers that work with xorg-server-1.8.0 require KMS. Since KMS remains unstable, xorg-server-1.8.0 is also unstable with the Intel GPU. I can only imagine the kind of instability ATI GPU's are subject to.

If you do plan on using KMS, turn off the VESA VGA framebuffer. KMS is a "framebuffer" as well the drm infrastructure. Having KMS, and VESA VGA, AND RADEON framebuffer is a good way to generate a minute wait.

Click here for your new .config. Compile as is.

For the best results, please do the following:

1) Move your .config file out of your kernel source directory (/usr/src/linux- ).
2) Issue the command make mrproper. This is a destructive step. It returns the source to pristine condition. Unmoved .config files will be deleted!
3) Copy my .config into your source directory.
4) Issue the command make && make modules_install.
5) Install the kernel as you normally would, and reboot.
6) Once it boots, please post /var/log/dmesg so I can see how things loaded.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewthomas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much pappy. I have to run now, but will post the results in the morn. Just a couple questions.
Code:
# CONFIG_SENSORS_ATK0110 is not set
Why did you take my sensor out. I unfortunately have a Phenom 9500 that will not work with the k10temp module. Also, the powernow used to work well, but ....
Code:
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=y

# CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8 is not set


I do really appreciate your help, but I am curious as to the reasons for your changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewthomas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 2:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It booted up like a charm.
Here is the dmesg log
http://pastebin.com/Dk8pahy0
I did get a message that frequency scaling was unsupported. I am going to try and adjust a couple of the CPU frequency scaling & processor driver options. Thank you very much for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I started with a kernel seed to make sure of the stability of what I was sending. I probably should have just redone your .config, but I really feel most secure when I'm sending a .config borne of a seed. This is especially true since I am trying out some of my new seed settings before I commit them to the seeds.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a beautiful day to release new kernel seeds. Sure. I knew you'd agree. I've just uploaded the .configs for 2.6.32-tuxonice-r7, 2.6.33-tuxonice-r2, and 2.6.33-gentoo-r2 in both x86 and x86_64 flavors. Enjoy!

Another bit of good news. The Above and Beyond page is just about ready to go. Once I get the updated graphic, I'll be putting that page up. I'm also working on settings page ten. Lots of fun coming up in the world of kernel-seeds.org.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gh0str1d3r
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 May 2008
Posts: 411

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:

Because some "wise" individual decided crappy is the new good, I am now forced to remain with xorg-server-1.7.6. This is because the drivers that work with xorg-server-1.8.0 require KMS. Since KMS remains unstable, xorg-server-1.8.0 is also unstable with the Intel GPU. I can only imagine the kind of instability ATI GPU's are subject to.


I think that is not really true. I am using xorg-server-1.8.0 with xf86-video-intel-2.9.1 and without KMS, kernel 2.6.31-r10. This is stable for me. If you experience differently, please give a comment in this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andrewthomas
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2010
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pappy_mcfae wrote:
I started with a kernel seed to make sure of the stability of what I was sending. I probably should have just redone your .config, but I really feel most secure when I'm sending a .config borne of a seed. This is especially true since I am trying out some of my new seed settings before I commit them to the seeds.

Cheers,
Pappy

I just added in my sensor and powernow and everything is great. Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool. It's good to know I haven't lost my touch.

At long last, I've got the Above And Beyond page looking the way I've envisioned it. Please stop by and check it out. It's my homage to those who have helped make this site what it is. The page looks best with Firefox, then Chrome, and Opera. IE and Seamonkey don't reproduce it properly.

The idea has been floated that I put a link to a site of each person on the lists' choosing. If those named on the page want that, just let me know your link URL. I will see if I can make it happen without messing up the look of the page. If that can't happen, then just bask in my public praise for all of your deeds, great and small.

My humble thanks to all named.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2010 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great work everyone :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 203
Location: /proc

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi I have tried a few of your seeds, both 32 and 64 bits, added all the hardware and functionality I needed, and I come across a strange behavior during boot:
while loading the kernel the system freezes until I press any key on the keyboard
then during the sysinit same freezes happen multiple times and I have to click to finally get to command prompt
everything works after that, but its really anoying
I`m pretty sure there is something wrong with kernel configuration, because when I boot a kernel which I configured myself (long time ago and having a lot more things than needed) this issue does not exist

Have you ever come across this strange behavior?
_________________
i7 3930K @ 4GHz
MSI X79A-GD45 (8D)
32GB 1600 MHz DDR3 Samsung
Samsung 840 PRO, 2xSamsung HD502HJ in RAID 1
MSI GTX 980Ti
latest gentoo-sources on x86_64 Fluxbox (amd64)

best render farm: www.GarageFarm.NET
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've come across all sorts of behaviors. To find out the root cause, post your current .config, the results of lspci -n and cat /proc/cpuinfo as well as your /etc/fstab, and I'll see what's wrong.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cst
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 203
Location: /proc

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 7:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was experimenting with different settings and the problem was:
[*] Tickless System (Dynamic Ticks)
After I turned that off the system boots normally
_________________
i7 3930K @ 4GHz
MSI X79A-GD45 (8D)
32GB 1600 MHz DDR3 Samsung
Samsung 840 PRO, 2xSamsung HD502HJ in RAID 1
MSI GTX 980Ti
latest gentoo-sources on x86_64 Fluxbox (amd64)

best render farm: www.GarageFarm.NET
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd say you have other issues if that setting can so drastically change the operation of your machine. I can change it with ease on all systems, and it never causes an issue. Of course, if it works, why fix it?

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just uploaded .configs for 2.6.32.13 and 2.6.33.4 in both x86 and x86_64 flavors. Enjoy!

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The good news is I just uploaded the .configs for the freshest kernel version. Yes, 2.6.34 has been released. The .configs for this version have been uploaded in both x86 and x86_64 flavors. Enjoy!

The bad news is Ronnie James Dio has died. Thank the goddess he left so much awesome music to the world. May he rest in peace.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just uploaded .configs for 2.6.32-gentoo-r9 and 2.6.34-gentoo in both x86 and x86_64 flavors. Enjoy!

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2.6.34 :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Thu May 20, 2010 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems to be running well on Pappy-lap. I've been running it since it went to full release without a single issue.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

unrelated: pappy - you happen to have any info handy on zen-sources + hardened patches?

I sent kernelOfTruth a ping as I found one of his ancient threads. Got myself 5 statics, trying to build out some hardened KVM guests!

With the clusterfuck of hardened-sources being dated (enough to where it wont mount btrfs volumes!?), me having to hack up an ebuild from anarchy overlay...I'm thinking this may well be the route to go for my servers henceforth.

I'll keep googling, thought I'd ask!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will have to do some looking. I clearly remember seeing the patches, and I think I downloaded them...but it was a while back, and I haven't seen a lot of movement in zen...and hardened has stopped dead at 2.6.29. I'll look around tomorrow once I get some running done, and see what I can find.

Cheers,
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 22, 23, 24  Next
Page 23 of 24

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum