Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
firefox + adobe-flash
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dermartn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Feb 07, 2010 7:38 pm    Post subject: firefox + adobe-flash Reply with quote

hello *,

i emerged firefox + adobe-flash on my amd64. so everything is fine and works.
BUT when I restart my system, the flash is not working anymore. after an re-emerge of flash, it is fine again...

so how can I run firefox + adobe-flash without re-emerge flash every time??

thanks,
dermartn



Code:

[ebuild   R   ] www-plugins/adobe-flash-10.0.42.34  USE="64bit (multilib) -32bit" 0 kB
[ebuild   R   ] www-client/mozilla-firefox-3.5.6  USE="alsa dbus java startup-notification -bindist -custom-optimization -gnome -iceweasel -mozdevelop -sqlite" LINGUAS="de -af -ar -as -be -bg -bn -bn_BD -bn_IN -ca -cs -cy -da -el -en -en_GB -en_US -eo -es -es_AR -es_CL -es_ES -es_MX -et -eu -fa -fi -fr -fy -fy_NL -ga -ga_IE -gl -gu -gu_IN -he -hi -hi_IN -hr -hu -id -is -it -ja -ka -kk -kn -ko -ku -lt -lv -mk -ml -mn -mr -nb -nb_NO -nl -nn -nn_NO -oc -or -pa -pa_IN -pl -pt -pt_BR -pt_PT -rm -ro -ru -si -sk -sl -sq -sr -sv -sv_SE -ta -ta_LK -te -th -tr -uk -vi -zh_CN -zh_TW" 0 kB


Code:

emerge --info
Portage 2.1.7.16 (default/linux/amd64/10.0/desktop, gcc-4.3.4, glibc-2.10.1-r1, 2.6.31-gentoo-r6 x86_64)
=================================================================                                       
System uname: Linux-2.6.31-gentoo-r6-x86_64-AMD_Athlon-tm-_64_X2_Dual_Core_Processor_4800+-with-gentoo-1.12.13
Timestamp of tree: Sat, 06 Feb 2010 20:30:01 +0000                                                           
ccache version 2.4 [disabled]                                                                                 
app-shells/bash:     4.0_p35                                                                                 
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7-r1, 2.1.9-r2                                                                     
dev-lang/python:     2.4.6, 2.5.4-r4, 2.6.4                                                                   
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r6                                                                                 
dev-util/ccache:     2.4-r7                                                                                   
dev-util/cmake:      2.6.4-r3                                                                                 
sys-apps/baselayout: 1.12.13                                                                                 
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.6-r2                                                                                   
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.63-r1                                                                           
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10.2                                 
sys-devel/binutils:  2.18-r3                                                                                 
sys-devel/gcc:       4.3.4                                                                                   
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.1                                                                                   
sys-devel/libtool:   2.2.6b
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.27-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
ACCEPT_LICENSE="* -@EULA"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe -msse3 -fomit-frame-pointer"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/share/X11/xkb /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/php/apache2-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cgi-php5/ext-active/ /etc/php/cli-php5/ext-active/ /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/sandbox.d /etc/splash /etc/terminfo /etc/udev/rules.d"
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe -msse3 -fomit-frame-pointer"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="CCACHE assume-digests distlocks fixpackages news parallel-fetch protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-logs unmerge-orphans userfetch userpriv"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="ftp://mirror.netcologne.de/gentoo/ ftp://linux.rz.ruhr-uni-bochum.de/gentoo-mirror/ http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/gentoo/ http://pandemonium.tiscali.de/pub/gentoo/ ftp://pandemonium.tiscali.de/pub/gentoo/ http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mirrors/gentoo/ http://85.25.128.62"
LANG="de_DE@euro"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
LINGUAS="de"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_CONFIGROOT="/"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/portage/local/layman/sunrise"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="3dnow X a52 aac aalib acl acpi akonadi alsa amd64 bash-completion berkdb bluetooth branding browserplugin bzip2 cairo cdr cli consolekit cracklib crypt cups cxx dbus designer-plugin desktopglobe dlloader dri dts dvd dvdr dvdread eds emboss encode esd evo fam ffmpeg firefox flac floppy fortran gdbm gif glut gmp google-gadgets gphoto2 gpm graphviz gstreamer gtk hal iconv ieee1394 imagemagick ipod java jpeg kde lcms libcaca libnotify lm_sensors logitech-mouse mad mikmod mmx mng modules mozilla mp3 mp4 mpeg mplayer mudflap multilib musepack musicbrainz ncurses network networkmanager nls nptl nptlonly nsplugin ogg opengl openmp pam paste64 pcre pdf perl phonon php plasma png ppds pppd python qt3support qt4 quicktime rar readline reflection rssrdesktop rtsp samba scanner sdl semantic-desktop session smp spell spl sse sse2 ssl startup-notification svg sysfs tcltk tcpd theora thumbnail thunar tidy tiff tk toolbar truetype unicode usb v4l v4l2 vcd visualization vorbis wifi wmf wxwindows x264 xml xmlpatterns xmms xorg xosd xulrunner xv xvid zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" LINGUAS="de" RUBY_TARGETS="ruby18" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia nv"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, FFLAGS, INSTALL_MASK, LC_ALL, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dermartn
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Mon Feb 08, 2010 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it is not only after a reboot, it is also after a restart of firefox. so some files or softlinks gets overwritten :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Karsten1973
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 283
Location: Berlin, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here. I use the 64 bit version.

Quote:
# emerge -pv adobe-flash

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R ] www-plugins/adobe-flash-10.0.42.34 USE="64bit (multilib) -32bit" 0 kB

_________________
I could be arguing on my own time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hedmo
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 839
Location: halmstad

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello guys i have 64-bit (multilib) and i have used mplayer with a native64 flash.i didnt find the howto
(it was a year ago)but it was easy if you have conqueror.just install mplayer and its flash
start conqeror go to settings config.. conqueror , file associations , +video and set it on show file in embedded viewer
the thing is that i use mozilla to .but this was what i had to do

i belive this discussion on the amd64 forum can be helpful:

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:35 am Post subject: [HOWTO] AMD64 Mplayer, Firefox and multimedia for newbies
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ahenobarbi
Developer
Developer


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 345
Location: Warsaw, PL

PostPosted: Sat Feb 20, 2010 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does this happpen to user with a clean account ( create a new user if you don't have a spare one)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theimon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 99
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the exact same thing on ~AMD64. I tried different versions of Firefox and Flash together, but that didn't change a thing. A clean user experienced the same thing. Using a clean profile folder isn't the solution either.

It looks like Firefox just forgets where adobe-flash is residing on the system. A re-emerge tells it where it is again, but after a while Firefox just doesn't remember anymore ---> re-emerge again.

There was a bug-report on this issue but they removed it, not sure what reason that was for. It's annoying me. Flash works, but having to re-emerge again and again just sucks.
_________________
It doesn't matter what's right, it's only wrong if you get caught.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5617
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does Tools -> Add-Ons -> Plugins say ?

is it always there or does it magically disappear (when it's not working anymore) ?
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theimon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 99
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's there in the add-ons list. Files are in place.

I'm going to install the version from the Adobe site and see if the same problem occurs. There should be no difference between the two but you never know.
_________________
It doesn't matter what's right, it's only wrong if you get caught.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5617
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 22, 2010 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try the following:

click on "disable" on that list, close firefox, restart, close firefox (see that it's really closed in ksysguard, gnome-system-monitor, top, etc.), start and re-enable it whether that allows you to play flash-content again

if yes it's rather a problem with firefox itself than the system ...
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoeD
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same problem.
It turned out that when I moved from my old 32bit install I also moved the ~/.mozilla directory (since it's part of my home directory). I found that there was a 32 bit version of a flash plugin in ~/.mozilla/plugins as well as a pluginreg.dat in ~/.mozilla (containing the plugin info). I removed the plugin driectory and the file and it's working fine now. Not sure how it got there but this worked for me.
Maybe you want to check if you have a local 32 bit version as well.
ciao
Joe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theimon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 99
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 5:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm I wonder how I overlooked the ~/.mozilla plugin directory....there was indeed a plugin there, but I'm not sure whether it was the 32bits or 64bits version. The problem still existed. I even tried removing the gentoo flash plugin and installing the 64bits plugin from Adobe Labs to no avail.
I converted my system from 32bits to 64bits some time ago, but kept /home as it was. I never thought about the flashplugin since portage doesn't install it there. I've removed the local plugin now and see if this solves the problem.

Great tip, hope it works :)
_________________
It doesn't matter what's right, it's only wrong if you get caught.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Theimon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 99
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far, so good. It seems to do the trick :)

Thanks for pointing me to the right solution JoeD.
_________________
It doesn't matter what's right, it's only wrong if you get caught.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ablelion
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 5:41 pm    Post subject: nspluginwrapper Reply with quote

I found that installing nspluginwrapper has allowed me to run 32-bit plugins in my 64-bit browser. Portage warns of stability and security issues with Adobe Flash 10.1, but I'm willing to chance it for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alexdu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Oct 2005
Posts: 38
Location: Moscow, Russia

PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 7:37 pm    Post subject: Re: nspluginwrapper Reply with quote

ablelion wrote:
I found that installing nspluginwrapper has allowed me to run 32-bit plugins in my 64-bit browser.
...it works for me also. Thanks! :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum