Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is it possible to compile a stage for another arch?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nuts
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 1630

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 8:47 am    Post subject: Is it possible to compile a stage for another arch? Reply with quote

Hi, I want to create a Stage1 for my mips sgi from my pc with an athlon-xp.
How to? do I have to download a stage1-x86 and emerge it with other cflags et chost for mips?
_________________
nuts
PC: AMD Phenom 2 bi-core 555 + Asus M4A77T/USB3 + 2Go de RAM + wifi Ralink RT61 + Radeon HD 3450 - Disque dur 500Go.
SGI Octane ip30 R10000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54098
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nuts,

You need crossdev to make you a cross compiler toolchain.
I don't know if it supports mips though.
Code:
emerge crossdev
then read its man page

Take care emerging things for another arch in case they get installed. Consider the effects of installing a mips glibc on your athlon-xp.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dunno if it will work as aspected
personally i use native compiling (i do native compile for mips, mipsel, ppc, arm, hppa1, hppa2)

about cross compiling, i only trust the bitbake method, which is using qemu to native compile under a virtual machine
look for openembedded bitbake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuts
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 1630

PostPosted: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I wanna get Stage1 sources, and make it from an Athlon-xp PC and then uses this stage on my octane.
_________________
nuts
PC: AMD Phenom 2 bi-core 555 + Asus M4A77T/USB3 + 2Go de RAM + wifi Ralink RT61 + Radeon HD 3450 - Disque dur 500Go.
SGI Octane ip30 R10000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you'd better compile ONLY on your octane, as i do

anyway: why stage1 ? if you really want to do so, look for catalist, which is the gentoo tool for build stage: it needs just a good tool chain in order to build stage1,2,3


p.s.
which kernel are you using on your ip30 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuts
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 1630

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I have two computers: a PC with ArchLinux and my octane.
I tried to use stage1 and stage3 2008.0, but it doesn't work with my version of netboot. But after some searches, I use now a netbootable 2.6.19 kernel and 2008.0 works on it (no trouble with rm find...)

I wanted start with stage3, but I wasnot able to complie a newer kernel like 2.6.27 (the older kernel for gentoo 10.0) and some packages, So I tried to make the bootstrap from a stage1 and I have troubles with gmp which it doesnot found a c++ compiler.

Only my octane compile, not my pc with a cross-compilation. So if you can give me a recent-stage that it works to install gentoo, I want it! :D

In order to I have to block an old version of udev due to the latest version of linux-headers.
_________________
nuts
PC: AMD Phenom 2 bi-core 555 + Asus M4A77T/USB3 + 2Go de RAM + wifi Ralink RT61 + Radeon HD 3450 - Disque dur 500Go.
SGI Octane ip30 R10000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

load a stage tarball (pre-made) onto the mips box. Build a cross compiler on your faster machine. Set up distcc, compile "natively" on the mips box.
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuts
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 1630

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can setup a distcc on ArchLinux but I didn't find how to set a cross-compiller
_________________
nuts
PC: AMD Phenom 2 bi-core 555 + Asus M4A77T/USB3 + 2Go de RAM + wifi Ralink RT61 + Radeon HD 3450 - Disque dur 500Go.
SGI Octane ip30 R10000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nuts wrote:
give me a recent-stage


i can provide it (cause i am used to update my stage3), but i need an ftp account or something similar where to upload ... umm 200-300Mb at least

p.s.
the kernel side of IP30 is a problem ... i am using 2.6.19 without udev: that's pretty enough for my purposes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuts
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 1630

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use the kernel from this topic:
Redhatter wrote:
Okay, it'll take a little while for me to come up with newer netboot images for SGI systems. Largely because `Kumba has been away a good few days now, and I'm not quite sure where he's stashed everything.

In the meantime... I have another solution. Download this kernel image, and with your Octane, unpack it into your / partition. It'll create a kernel in /boot, and modules in /lib/modules.

Now grab the kernel file itself, and copy that over the top of the netboot image on your TFTP server. (I do hope you are netbooting :-D) On the Octane's PROM prompt... enter the following:

Code:
>> bootp(): root=/dev/sdaX init=/bin/bash

(where sdaX is your root partition... if you're using serial console, add console=ttyS0,9600 too)

Linux will boot up, then drop to a bash prompt. The root fs will be read-only.

Code:
(Re-mount the filesystem read-write...)
# mount /dev/sdaX / -n -o rw,remount

(You should now be able to change the password ... do that now.)
# passwd

(Remount / read-only again so it can be checked for errors)
# mount /dev/sdaX / -n -o ro,remount

(Now kick off /sbin/init so the machine boots)
# exec /sbin/init


Gentoo should fire up on the system. From there, you'll be able to build yourself a new kernel.
I have already untar the stage3 and updated portage to 2.1.6.

But I have to use bootp to boot my octane. I don't know if I can found an other kernel that the octane doesn't need a netboot. Portage can give me mips-sources 2.6.27 or 2.6.28 and 2.6.29 unfortunately in the menuconfig I don't see IP30 support.
I wanna install arcload but I don't understand how to setup it.
_________________
nuts
PC: AMD Phenom 2 bi-core 555 + Asus M4A77T/USB3 + 2Go de RAM + wifi Ralink RT61 + Radeon HD 3450 - Disque dur 500Go.
SGI Octane ip30 R10000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ddc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, i am also developing a new bootloader which is able to boot from {scsi, usb, sata, pata, net}
it has been designed for powerpc, and arm ... but it will be ported to mips.be/sgi, too

i have already completed the interface between "sgi mon" and "linux wrapper" (which is the part needed by kernel to properly boot)

ok

tell me if you need a kernel pretty compiled and a pretty rootfs/stage4: in case you have to provide me a ftp account or a place where to upload

regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nuts
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 1630

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I need the both: kernel and stage4, I've lost a lot of hours to try installing gentoo. Maybe you can use megaupload or if you want you can go on http://dl.free.fr/ it's free but in french, you put your file in "fichier a envoyer" and choose it by the "parcourir" button and then you clic on "envoyer" button

I forget one thing, I have
/dev/sda1 /boot xfs
/dev/sda2 swap
and /dev/sda3 / xfs, will I have to change format?
_________________
nuts
PC: AMD Phenom 2 bi-core 555 + Asus M4A77T/USB3 + 2Go de RAM + wifi Ralink RT61 + Radeon HD 3450 - Disque dur 500Go.
SGI Octane ip30 R10000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum