View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
smlg
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:22 am    Post subject: How to install Gentoo 10.1 LiveDVD? Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm a Gentoo newbie although I have been using those newbie-friendly distros like Ubuntu, Mandriva, Linuxmint, Mepis among others. Then I stumbled upon Sabayon which I like because it is Gentoo-based although I really prefer a pure-bred Gentoo system.

I downloaded the Gentoo 10.1 LiveDVD thinking that it was installable... is it?

What is the fastest & easiest way for installing Gentoo? Is there a shortcut?

Another question, what Gentoo-based Distro is the most compatible to Gentoo?

I've seen quite a number on Distrowatch like:

Pentoo
Sabayon
Toorox
VLOS
Calculate Linux

And I was wondering if there was a short-cut (sorry but I know it is cheating) to install a Pure Gentoo system by going through the Gentoo-based distros. I was thinking this path because I have seen some ArchLinux newbies go through the path of Chakra Linux to be able to get a pure Archlinux system by uninstalling the Chakra stuff.

Please help... I love Gentoo.
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

basically the shortcut you're looking for is an installer - there isn't one (well, you the human ARE the installer!)

the gentoo installation process requires you to manually partition, make file systems, etc, then unpack the stage and portage which basically end up allowing you to create your own distribution of sorts, with only the dependencies you choose, compiled only with the optimizations you choose, only for the architecture you choose.

an installer would be completely counter to this