Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
radeon or radeonhd, any reliable and up-to-date guide?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 1:50 am    Post subject: radeon or radeonhd, any reliable and up-to-date guide? Reply with quote

After having looked for the last few months around a lot of times in a lot of places I haven't yet managed to make either radeon or radeonhd work with this video card:

Code:
# lspci|grep -i vga
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV630 PRO AGP [Radeon HD 2600 PRO AGP]


This is starting to be quite frustrating, but well, I was very well aware what I was doing when I bought this piece of eerm... silicon, so I can't complain. I am starting to enjoy this what makes me feel a bit like pinhead from hellraiser. The problem with all the guides and wikis around is that's hard to say what supported or not by kernel version X, mesa version Y and driver version Z. So, anything definitive would be a great thing to have.

Right now I am following this guide:

http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/RadeonHD

I will be asking questions one by one, and see if I have better luck this time.

The first one (assuming this guide is sane enough) is: that wiki tells me to enable drm and pick my card (radeon). That one's easy. Done. Now it tells me to select agpart (it's already on, so no problem) and then pick my chipset (the one from the mother board, not my graphics chip). The problem is that the list only contains three elements, for ati, sis and via chipsets, which doesn't help me at all because mine is nForce.

Code:
# lspci|grep -i agp
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation nForce3 250Gb AGP Host to PCI Bridge (rev a2)


So, what do I do? Is this thing needed at all? Because if so I guess that I can't use anything else but the binary blob that I am already using.

Thanks in advance for any response, or just for reading. :D
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elv13
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2005
Posts: 388
Location: Socialist land of North America

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you want to switch from radeon to radeonHD? Radeon will probably have a stable 3D support before radeonHD and in the current state, 2D accel is probably more stable on radeon than radeonHD. And why don't you just ude FGLRX, your card is supported.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for taking the time to answer.

Elv13 wrote:
Why would you want to switch from radeon to radeonHD? Radeon will probably have a stable 3D support before radeonHD and in the current state, 2D accel is probably more stable on radeon than radeonHD. And why don't you just ude FGLRX, your card is supported.


First, I am using fglrx, not radeon, sorry if that wasn't clear.

Second, if I am asking on how to use radeon OR radeonhd (that's why I titled the thread "radeon or radeonhd, any reliable and up-to-date guide?") is because they've never worked for me with this card and I am fed-up with fglrx for many reasons (ancient kernel, very bad 2d performance, between many others). Believe it or not, for some people fglrx is the only option, and not because I am happy with it, but because there's no other alternative which works. There are lots of chip assemblers out there, and the drivers (specially the ATi ones) don't do a very good job at handling fuzziness. The main issue here is that ALL the radeon drivers, all of them, are specially unsuitable for dual monitor usage.

I've been toying around with radeonhd and I've managed at least to boot X (up til now, it always crashed my box at that point, requiring a hard reset, not even sysrq would work). The only thing that changed from my previous attempts is that this time I've used a kernel 2.6.30 instead of the latest x11-drm, radeonhd-9999 form zen-overlay, and mesa-9999 and libdrm-9999 from the x11 overlay.

From this I deduct two things: in my previous config there's nothing wrong, cause now it worked. Second: up til today (literally speaking, well, maybe yesterday or the past week...) my hardware wasn't supported, that what all those 9999 tell me. Not that my card is specially new. It's old, and it's a very common low end model nowadays.

BUT, even if I managed to get past startx (which is no little achievement from me considering my past experiences with these two friends), the performance was horrid (yes, with exa as well). The performance in 2D was MUCH worse than this of fglrx. So I must conclude that, as you say, this thing is not ready (by far) for a production environment. I can't spend 2 minutes each time I need to scroll a web page obviously. After it booted I have been playing a bit trying to setup my screens in a sane way. No way, no matter how many LeftOf, monitors and stuff I put into xorg.conf, or how big my virtual is. This damn driver will always start both screens in clone mode, which makes it unusable.

Later I will try radeon, and see if that makes any difference. but, as said, guides are all that outdated that they are really useless.


For now, these are the log and the xorg.conf file for the last attempt I've made with radeonhd, but all the changes I've made really made little difference. No point in posting them all since the final result was the same: sub-vesa performance in 2d, no 3d (that's to be expected, no complain there) and clone monitors which I don't want.

http://pastebin.ca/1456237
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ConnClark
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i92guboj,

It sounds as though you are having troubles with getting DRI working.

looking art your paste bin post, this seems to be your problem

(**) RADEONHD(0): Option "DRI" "off"


Set Option "DRI" "on"


Elv13,

Radeon and radeonhd have almost identical 2d accel code. They are also waiting on the exact same code for 3d support. Radeonhd has one advantage that radeon doesn't and thats playing sound out the HDMI connector. Also I have written a patch that lets radeonhd outperform radeon in 2D if you have an r6xx or r7xx chip. https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=271923
_________________
In formal computer science advances are made by standing on the shoulders of giants. Linux has shown that, if there are enough of you, you can advance just as far by stepping on each others toes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ConnClark wrote:
i92guboj,

It sounds as though you are having troubles with getting DRI working.

looking art your paste bin post, this seems to be your problem

(**) RADEONHD(0): Option "DRI" "off"


Set Option "DRI" "on"


When I do that, trashing occurs in my screen. As far as I know, for r6xx and r7xx chips dri is very experimental and is disabled by default because of that for those chips. This is from the man page for radeonhd anyway:

Quote:

Option "DRI"
Use this option to enable 3D and Xv acceleration using DRI. Currently, the default is on on R5xx and RS6xx chips, and off on all others.


So, unless I am missing something, that won't work either.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ConnClark
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For any acceleration on r6xx or r7xx chips you must have DRI set to on.

If I were you I would try kernel 2.6.30 and the non overlay versions of mesa , libdrm, and radeonhd
_________________
In formal computer science advances are made by standing on the shoulders of giants. Linux has shown that, if there are enough of you, you can advance just as far by stepping on each others toes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try again. But it would surprise me if it worked. As I said on my other post, I've tried dozens of times, and until I've used live versions of everything this last time, it never worked at all for me. X would freeze at startup.

Oh, what about the cloned screens thing? That alone would make this driver useless for me. I don't care about fanciness like 3d or hdmi at all, but I *need* my two screens to work.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ConnClark
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lets deal with one problem at a time. First we will get it working then we can worry about multiple screens.

The hanging up could be due to flgrx being installed. refer to this thread https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-768839.html
_________________
In formal computer science advances are made by standing on the shoulders of giants. Linux has shown that, if there are enough of you, you can advance just as far by stepping on each others toes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then, the fglrx might be true because I've just booted X with radeonhd 1.2.5.

I changed dri to on, no corruption so far, but it's still so damn slow. This is what I see in my log, related to dri:

Code:
(II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions//libdri.so
dlopen: /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions//libdri.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
(EE) Failed to load /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions//libdri.so
(II) UnloadModule: "dri"
(EE) Failed to load module "dri" (loader failed, 7)
(II) LoadModule: "radeonhd"


That file is a symlink pointing to /usr/lib64/opengl/ati/extensions/libdri.so, which indeed doesn't exist. Using "equery belong" on it doesn't reveal anything. I think I am missing something...

The whole log just in case: http://pastebin.ca/1457059

Thank you for all the assistance, by the way.

Edited: Maybe mesa is too old or something? I've enabled radeon and radeonhd when emerging it as you can see:

Code:
[I] media-libs/mesa
     Available versions:  6.5.2-r1 (~)7.0.3 (~)7.1 (~)7.2 7.3-r1 (~)7.4.1-r2 (~)7.4.2 {debug doc kernel_FreeBSD motif nptl pic video_cards_intel video_cards_mach64 video_cards_mga video_cards_none video_cards_r128 video_cards_radeon video_cards_radeonhd video_cards_s3virge video_cards_savage video_cards_sis video_cards_sunffb video_cards_tdfx video_cards_trident video_cards_via xcb}
     Installed versions:  7.4.2(06:48:50 11/06/09)(nptl video_cards_radeon video_cards_radeonhd xcb -debug -doc -kernel_FreeBSD -motif -pic -video_cards_intel -video_cards_mach64 -video_cards_mga -video_cards_none -video_cards_r128 -video_cards_s3virge -video_cards_savage -video_cards_sis -video_cards_sunffb -video_cards_tdfx -video_cards_trident -video_cards_via)
     Homepage:            http://mesa3d.sourceforge.net/
     Description:         OpenGL-like graphic library for Linux

_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ConnClark
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try emerging x11-libs/libdrm-2.4.9

Thats the one that is working for me at the moment

Okay I just saw your last edit,

try Mesa 7.4.2
_________________
In formal computer science advances are made by standing on the shoulders of giants. Linux has shown that, if there are enough of you, you can advance just as far by stepping on each others toes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My libdrm is 2.4.11. Mesa is already 7.4.2.

After I re-emerged xorg-server it kind of worked. At least now the log doesn't complain. But I get screen corruption of the worst kind. I'll script something to get a screenshot because I can't even operate normally. The logs show everything is ok now at least:

http://pastebin.ca/1457108

However X is unusable unless I turn DRI off.


Edited:

This is with dri on:

http://jesgue.homelinux.org/other-files/foo.jpg

This is with dri off (how it should look):

http://jesgue.homelinux.org/other-files/bar.jpg

As you can see, it's not a minor glitch, however the wm loads and it reacts to my keybindings (so I can even close it cleanly, which is something at least). It's just the visual which is garbled to an extent that it can't even be used.

Another edit: by the way, using radeon instead of radeonhd with the same exact config file (except for the driver line), yields exactly the same result. Performance this way is really awful, I think I am damned to use fglrx and kernel 2.6.28 for a couple of years. :lol:
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ConnClark
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been looking through the mailing list and I have some thing to try

try adding the options

Option "ExaNoDownloadFromScreen"
Option "ExaNoUploadToScreen"

and see what happens
_________________
In formal computer science advances are made by standing on the shoulders of giants. Linux has shown that, if there are enough of you, you can advance just as far by stepping on each others toes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
96140
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

--

Last edited by 96140 on Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:35 am; edited 5 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ConnClark
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nightmorph,

i92guboj is experiencing issues that are above and beyond normal install problems. It may be due to the fact that his card is an AGP card and their are some known breakages with AGP at the moment.
_________________
In formal computer science advances are made by standing on the shoulders of giants. Linux has shown that, if there are enough of you, you can advance just as far by stepping on each others toes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ConnClark wrote:
I have been looking through the mailing list and I have some thing to try

try adding the options

Option "ExaNoDownloadFromScreen"
Option "ExaNoUploadToScreen"

and see what happens


Unfortunately it didn't help. No change at all, same black screenie. I am also looking around in their mailing lists, but since I have not much idea what am I looking for, it's hard to find something that's relevant.

Thank you anyway for trying :)

nightmorph wrote:

Today I just received my new RadeonHD 4550 and plugged it in. It works just fine with xf86-video-ati, using only packages in the Portage tree. It's not supposed to be complicated now that the proper DRM is in the latest kernel.


That's what I though hehe. I am running ~amd64, so requirements should be fine.

Quote:

1. Use gentoo-sources-2.6.30-r1. It's in ~arch.


I handle my kernels myself. It's a vanilla 2.6.30 kernel and all the relevant options seems to be on their place. As you can see on my last log, there's absolutely no problem or error reported on the logs. The driver loads fine, dri loads fine as well, everything seems to be ok. Except that all my screen is garbled.

Quote:
3. Configure your kernel:
- Activate the toplevel agpgart option (should already be selected), but don't need to select any of the Via/Intel/SiS chipsets. Those are special edge cases. No worries if your exact chipset (nvidia, ati, etc.) isn't listed.


This was one of my early problems. I tried and it worked just with that option so I figured that it was enough. However, I must thank you for confirming it.

Quote:
- Select the radeon DRM option as a module, not built-in. All the graphics-related options should be modules.


That's the way I did it.

Quote:
- Deactivate radeonfb if it's selected. You can use uvesafb if you need a framebuffer driver.


I am aware of this one. I've tried with uvesafb and plain text, makes no difference. I've never used radeonfb at all.

Quote:
- Deactivate the PAT option if it's selected. Right now PAT is really sucking for most users. Stick to plain old MTRRs, regardless of what the kernel documentation suggests.


I know it's on, so this is the next thing I am going to try. Can this have something to do with my corrupted screens or is it just a performance tip?


Quote:
5. Edit xorg.conf. While you can theoretically run without one, set a few options in it to eliminate potential troubles. Here's mine:


I will check it, but it seems pretty similar to mine, except for the fact that I have to monitors.

Quote:
6. Run eselect opengl list, then set it to xorg-x11.


Already done.

Quote:
7. Unmerge ati-drivers if necessary. Clean up your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 file and make sure it isn't trying to load fglrx.
8. Reboot, cross fingers.


fglrx isn't even on my system right now. It can't be loaded. But anyway I double checked it.

Quote:
Once rebooted:
1. If X won't load, you may need to do some miscellaneous cleanup (see comment #5). You'll need to prune the old junk that may be leftover from the binary fglrx drivers. I had to do this when switching from binary to open-source drivers regardless of the card vendor.
2. You may need to run eselect opengl again to verify that you're using the right libraries. If you can login to X, pull up a terminal and check the output of glxinfo | grep direct. It should say "yes."
3. Unmerge ati-drivers if you haven't already done so.
4. Follow up here with your progress. :D


I will try some more ideas and check all this material. In any case, I will report back my findings.

Quote:
** A last note: I dunno if you're running KDE or not, but right now KDE has lots of problems with desktop compositing. By default it wants to use OpenGL paths instead of the Xv stuff that EXA and whatnot use. I'm sure you've already noticed this all around the forums; there are dozens of complaint threads from KDE users. If you're using KDE and you still don't have working DRI/compositing, check the threads for workarounds. I use Xfce, and xfwm4 uses the proper surfaces that "just work" with EXA compositing. So I haven't experienced this last-minute show-stopper issue that the KDE folks do.


No kde, no compositing, no effects. I am 99% sugar free. I have a myriad of wm's installed, and usually use fvwm which is what I am using to test this right now. Anyway using flux or anything else doesn't make a difference. If I have composite on in my config is just because I was testing if that made a difference or not, but in any case I am not using any composite manager.



Now, to the thing again. Thanks for all the assistance. Hopefully I can get this working somehow.

Edited: by the way, glxinof always report direct rendering as ON, regardless of it being on or off. So that's not a valid measure. It seems to do the same for a lot of people. Gosh, it even reported it as being ON when it was clearly failing to load libdri.so in the log file :roll: DRI in my xorg.conf is off now (because I can't work with it on at all, it corrupts my screens), but glxinfo reports it as ON. The performance clearly shows it's not ON at all, as I said somewhere above, right now the performance is sub-vesa, or at least in par with vesa.

Yet another edit: this is all with radeonhd though. Tomorrow I will investigate the radeon driver and see if that makes any difference.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website


Last edited by i92guboj on Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:00 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
96140
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 23 Jan 2005
Posts: 1324

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

--

Last edited by 96140 on Wed Sep 11, 2013 8:35 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nightmorph wrote:
i92guboj wrote:
Quote:
- Deactivate the PAT option if it's selected. Right now PAT is really sucking for most users. Stick to plain old MTRRs, regardless of what the kernel documentation suggests.
I know it's on, so this is the next thing I am going to try. Can this have something to do with my corrupted screens or is it just a performance tip?

Not a performance tip. That's in there specifically because the PAT option causes screen corruption and broken graphics drivers for a lot of people. Actually, I believe that's even referenced in the kernel help text for the option. So disable it ASAP! Or at least boot with nopat appended to your kernel line in grub.conf.


I've tried and it made no difference. I guess I will have to try radeon instead of radeonhd (I really don't care which one I use as long as it works). However the quick attempt I made wasn't too promising, since the result was the same: a garbled black-ish screen.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Edited: by the way, glxinof always report direct rendering as ON, regardless of it being on or off. So that's not a valid measure. It seems to do the same for a lot of people. Gosh, it even reported it as being ON when it was clearly failing to load libdri.so in the log file :roll: DRI in my xorg.conf is off now (because I can't work with it on at all, it corrupts my screens), but glxinfo reports it as ON. The performance clearly shows it's not ON at all, as I said somewhere above, right now the performance is sub-vesa, or at least in par with vesa.

Mesa now comes with swrast_dri.so so you will always have direct rendering ON, but you should check if you are using ati's renderer or software rasterizer, that is in glxinfos OpenGL renderer string. I saw also that fglrx leaves junk on system so eselect opengl doesn't work as it should be unless you clean that junk. I had success only with libdrm, x11-drm and mesa from x11 overlay. Maybe you could try to disable drm in kernel and compile x11-drm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried that already. The latest and greatest from the overlay has the same problems than the versions in portage right now.

However, next time I reboot I'll check the OpenGL renderer, just in case...
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it finally happened. With the update to xorg-server 1.6 I have finally been left without an option to use my video card.

Both radeon and radeonhd work without acceleration and cloning both monitors, unusable to all purposes.

Current fglrx won't even start the new x server.

So I guess that the future for me is framebuffer :p

Ideas are welcome of course :)

By the way, I've tried disabling one monitor but it's the same (not that I could work without it anyway).





EDITED:

See, this is what I was talking about. I have no idea what the concepts of "on" and "off" mean for this driver. I am now trying radeon just to change a bit and I am using explicitly this option in my xorg.conf:

Code:
  Option      "DRI" "off"


Because, simply, otherwise the screen is completely black, garbled and unusable (see screenshots above, they are still aplicable the same). Yet glxinfo reports direct rendering as active:

Code:
$ glxinfo|head
name of display: :0.0
display: :0  screen: 0
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.2
server glx extensions:
    GLX_ARB_multisample, GLX_EXT_visual_info, GLX_EXT_visual_rating,
    GLX_EXT_import_context, GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap, GLX_OML_swap_method,
    GLX_SGI_make_current_read, GLX_SGIS_multisample, GLX_SGIX_hyperpipe,
    GLX_SGIX_swap_barrier, GLX_SGIX_fbconfig, GLX_MESA_copy_sub_buffer


I really need a new brain and maybe a new trip to sesame street so I can re-learn the concepts of up-down, on-off, because there's something obviously wrong here. In any case, and regardless of that the mighty glxinfo reports, the performance is awful.

I got a log for you :lol:
xorg.conf.radeon

And just for the penguin's sake, how the hell can I use my two monitors? I love fvwm but I starting to be a bit tired of seeing it in stereo 8O I am sure that it's just my lack of understanding about how randr works. I am used to have either a big xinerama screen or two independent servers one on each screen. Lately I've been working with two separate servers and I'd like it to continue that way, assuming that the *obviously superior* randr stuff can do that. This actually bothers me even more than the performance.

Just bear with me, it's not my day :lol:

Thank you :)
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M
Guru
Guru


Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 432

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what I meant, from your log

(II) AIGLX: Loaded and initialized /usr/lib64/dri/swrast_dri.so
(II) GLX: Initialized DRISWRAST GL provider for screen 0

that is software rasterizer, try with glxinfo | grep renderer , in my case currently that is
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 6150SE nForce 430/PCI/SSE2

With DRI off software rasterizer will load anyway, but I think without DRI exa will not work at all, maybe better post xorg log with DRI on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 10306
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I saw that and I know it's software, even if I didn't know I could tell by the awful performance.

Here you are the log with DRI on: http://pastebin.ca/1464067

The problem is that with DRI on the whole screen is garbled and I can't do anything. The problem is not how to enable it. It is enabled, and it loads, everything is ok, except I can't see anything but garbage in my screen. The only error I can see is this:

Code:
(EE) AIGLX error: dlopen of /usr/lib64/dri/r600_dri.so failed (/usr/lib64/dri/r600_dri.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory)


Which as far as I know is to be expected (also in radeonhd) because the 3d component for anything above r600 is not implemented still.

Thanks for looking into this. :)
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum