Mouse movement is garbled in X.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Strips
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 12:48 am    Post subject: Mouse movement is garbled in X. Reply with quote

I'm trying to get a Logitech dual optical MouseMan USB mouse to work in X. I do get some movement but its just jumping around. :?

My mouse device is /dev/usb/hid/hiddev0 as I can get respons from "cat" in that path. I dont have the /dev/input path as I have seen people talk about.

Does this have something to do with protocol? I've tried IMPS/2, Microsoft and MouseMan. The jittering of the mouse is different with each protocol.

I'm I missing something here. I'm pretty new with Linux but getting there :wink:
mksoft
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you use gpm :?: If so, it is fighting for control over the mouse with X.

If you want to keep them both, you should set gpm's repeat type to raw and sets X's mouse device to /dev/gpmdata

Or you can remove gpm altogether if you don't use it.
Fiver
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem trying to get an additional mouse working on my laptop.... and no, I'm not running gpm. However, I have incremental advice.

The reason you don't have /dev/input/mice is that you need to compile input support (and the USB mouse stuff) into your kernel.

See for instance http://linux-sxs.org/usbmouse.html. Now that I've done that, however, /dev/input/mice exists but sadly doesn't give me a mouse under X (and /dev/usb/hid/hiddev0 gives me horrid jerky behavior, too). If I figure out how to make it work I'll let you know.

Heidi
Fiver
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2002 1:38 pm    Post subject: Fixed! Reply with quote

Okay, all the problems I had were kernel problems. Here's what I had to enable to make it work: