Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
My new install boots perfectly, but no keyboard.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chris_andrew
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Wiltshire, England

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 6:36 am    Post subject: My new install boots perfectly, but no keyboard. Reply with quote

Hi, all.

I'm really pleased to see that my install has booted on my Ultra 2. This is the smoothest install I've ever done (and quickest). Unfortunately, my keyboard does not react at all, so I can't log in or do anything.

I have checked the keyboard connector and that is fine. If the keyboard had worked, but the keys had been jumbled, I would suspect a keyboard mapping problem. This isn't the case, and I can't even get the Num Lock to toggle.

My keyboard is a Type 5 and my mapping is set to UK (if I remember correctly). I'm in the UK, so this seemed appropriate. Is it possible to do anything with the Minimal boot disk, to try to rescue my system?

Any help really appreciated.

Cheers,

Chris.
_________________
http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krinn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 3925

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:47 am    Post subject: Re: My new install boots perfectly, but no keyboard. Reply with quote

chris_andrew wrote:
I can't even get the Num Lock to toggle.


not an ultra2 specialist, but if the keyboard can't even use numlock, then your hardware isn't working at all, if it's an usb keyboard, you're lucky because it might just mean you forget to build in usb/hid support in your kernel (witch explain why keyboard have no power and can't even use a numlock toggle).

If not, i don't know sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chris_andrew
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Wiltshire, England

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Krinn,

Thanks for the reply. The num lock works fine until Gentoo starts booting and did do during the install, so I can probably rule out hardware failure.

Anyone else any ideas?

Cheers,

Chris.
_________________
http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blu3bird
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 Oct 2003
Posts: 605
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In most cases if something worked during the install and not after the install the kernel is missing the appropriate driver. ;)

For a type4/5/6 keyboard you need these in your .config:

Code:
CONFIG_INPUT_KEYBOARD=y
CONFIG_KEYBOARD_SUNKBD=y


And if you want to use the mouse you'll also need these:

Code:
CONFIG_INPUT_MOUSE=y
CONFIG_MOUSE_SERIAL=y

_________________
Black Holes are created when God divides by zero!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hika
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Posts: 220
Location: Utrecht

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same at first with my Ultra2. I'll try to point out what I did.
Go to Device drivers > Input Device support > keyboards and select the sun type 4 and 5 keyboard.
I vaguely remember there was another thing, but it was almost two month ago.

An other thing, if you have more than one framebuffer, don't forget to select:
Graphics Support > Console Display Driver Support > Map the console to the primary display driver
If not it takes the first it finds and not the one selected in openprom.

Hika
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chris_andrew
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Wiltshire, England

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, chaps. Anyone know how I use the boot disk to enter my installation and re-do the kernel stuff?

Thanks,

Chris.
_________________
http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hika
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Posts: 220
Location: Utrecht

PostPosted: Tue Apr 14, 2009 5:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just boot it and mount and chroot the new installation like when installing.

Hika
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chris_andrew
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Wiltshire, England

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hika wrote:
Just boot it and mount and chroot the new installation like when installing.

Hika


Many thanks, 'll try to do that, today. When I chroot, should I just mount /, or do I need to mount other partitions?

Cheers,

Chris.
_________________
http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chris_andrew
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Wiltshire, England

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys,

I just thought I'd give the chroot a quick try, as described in Part 6a of the manual. I started at the "Mounting /proc and /dev" bit, but I'm getting errors. If possible, can someone explain what I need to do to chroot? When I did the original install, it just worked, but coming in halfway through is obviously a bit different.

I'd appreciate your help, because I think I'm a very short distance from having a working install.

Cheers,

Chris.
_________________
http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
huckabuck
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Apr 2007
Posts: 110
Location: Bronx, NY

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
#swapon /dev/sda2
#mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
#mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
#cd /mnt/gentoo
#cp -L  /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc
#mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
#mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
# env-update
>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
# source /etc/profile
# export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"


and exiting ,

Code:
#cd
#umount /mnt/gentoo/boot /mnt/gentoo/dev /mnt/gentoo/proc /mnt/gentoo
#reboot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chris_andrew
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Sep 2004
Posts: 271
Location: Wiltshire, England

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Brilliant, I'll keep you posted.

Cheers,

Chris.
_________________
http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum