Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub: Cannot read grub.conf file
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pacman99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 3:18 pm    Post subject: Grub: Cannot read grub.conf file Reply with quote

Hi,

I just finished installing gentoo using the installation guide. Since I'm using a core2duo, I decided to use grub as the bootloader. The problem is, when I boot the system, grub loads up but I only get a command line. The only msgs I get are "Loading stage 1.5" and "loading grub" (or something similar).
However, if I type:
Code:
configfile /boot/grub/grub.conf

the graphical interface with options to boot gentoo are displayed like they should. It seems grub just isn't reading the grub.conf file unless I force it to do so.

My partitions are as follows:
Code:
/dev/sda1 = boot
/dev/sda2 = swap
/dev/sda3 = root

That's the only hdd (sata) that's present although I plan on adding more sata later.

My grub.conf is as follows:
Code:
# Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
default 0
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 5
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
# Comment out if you don't have a graphics card installed
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title Gentoo Linux 2.6.25-r2
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.25-gentoo-r2 root=/dev/sda3

title Gentoo Linux 2.6.25-r2 (rescue)
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.25-gentoo-r2 root=/dev/sda3 init=/bin/bb

# The next four lines are only if you dualboot with a Windows system.
# In this case, Windows is hosted on /dev/sda6.
#title Windows XP
#rootnoverify (hd0,5)
#makeactive
#chainloader +1


Not sure how to make this work.

Thanks~

Made sticky by NeddySeagoon 9 May as this seems to be a common issue now
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pacman99,

You have a missing symbolic link.

When grub boots, it looks for a file called menu.lst and you provide grub.conf.
You need to do the following

Code:
mount /boot
cd /boot/grub
ln -s /boot/grub/grub.conf menu.lst
thats a lower case "L" for l(i)st not numeral "1" for First.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pacman99
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2008 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx, that fixed it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taiger
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 3:11 pm    Post subject: emerge grub Reply with quote

I have a problem when I emerge grub, the emerge finish but I read a strange error during the emerging. ( sorry, I will report it...)
Now grub is installed but doesn't locate the kernel inside grub.conf, I must "load" the kernel in command line interface.

Any suggestions?
Thanks in advance
Alessandro
_________________
http://www.alessandro.vincelli.name
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54096
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

taiger,

It looks like you have the problem that this thread is about
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taiger
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
taiger,

It looks like you have the problem that this thread is about


Tnx NeddySeagoon, I posted this problem in "gentoo 2008 post" because I used the 2008-beta2.
Later I will try the solutions proposed in this form.

Ciao
_________________
http://www.alessandro.vincelli.name
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
irdom
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2008 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have same problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
waldauf
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 129
Location: Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you have this partitions:

Code:

/dev/sda1 = boot
/dev/sda2 = swap
/dev/sda3 = root


I think that in your grub.conf (menu.lst) should be:

Code:

~
~
title Gentoo Linux XXX
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /kernel-XXX root=/dev/sda3
~
~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darwinux
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Aug 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 09, 2008 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have a problem ,when i try to install grub like gentoo HOWTO,but error like this: "df : .... no such file ....". then i try another method:grub-install --no-floppy --> root (hd0,0) --> setuo (hd0) .it's OK ... so, i want to know why the first method is error?
somebody can answer me ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

darwinux wrote:
iike gentoo HOWTO,but error


Not obvious, I admit.
  • root (hdN,P) and setup (hdN,P) works: This tells me Grub is working.
  • Linux Grub Shell reports an error when using the Linux command "df": Oh ho ...


I reckon you need to "mount /dev/... /boot" to fix this one. You might need to check owner-group/perms on the complete path (chown / chmod). Grub does not bother with these minor details.

If, as it seems, you are using a seperate /boot partition, you would be very highly advised to NOT have a symlink of "boot" pointing to <current directory> (the ubiquitous single DOT) AND avoid prefixing "/boot" on all your kernel/initrd grub menu entries.

I would also always use ".../grub/grub.conf" and never "menu.lst" - This is the default for Grub/1 (google GNU Grub legacy). Some distros (SuSE as it was) use /etc/grub.conf as a grub "shell script" to do the install and they like to avoid any confusion - hence the strange naming.

Hope it helps and take a peek at the [FIXED] Vista item.
_________________
Volanteer at WereldVenster (Charity for the education of Asylum seekers) as the Network and Systems Administrator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cys.tony
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Location: china

PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
pacman99,

You have a missing symbolic link.

When grub boots, it looks for a file called menu.lst and you provide grub.conf.
You need to do the following

Code:
mount /boot
cd /boot/grub
ln -s /boot/grub/grub.conf menu.lst
thats a lower case "L" for l(i)st not numeral "1" for First.


well

got something here

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pim
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="cys.tony"]
NeddySeagoon wrote:
pacman99,

You have a missing symbolic link.

When grub boots, it looks for a file called menu.lst and you provide grub.conf.


You may think it "nitt-picking", but on booting Grub actually looks for the name you told it to look for. You may not realise that you told it anything at all - but you did.

When Grub is installed, you are usually asked for a "target" to place it on. The sequence

  • root (hdN,NN)
  • setup (hdN,NN)

does 2 things: Firstly it tells Grub where on the disk it should operate (the "root") and then it runs a "macro" which calls the commands "embed" and "install" (the "setup"). If you check the man page for the fairly hideous "install" command, you will find near the end either (0,0)grub.conf or menu.lst or your own favorite.

I hope it clarifies things a bit.

Please be aware than you canot keep "symlinking" things together forever - in fact the limit is usually about 5 or maybe even 3. This is to prevent "infinite loops" as in A points to B which points to A.
_________________
Volanteer at WereldVenster (Charity for the education of Asylum seekers) as the Network and Systems Administrator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tetris11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:12 pm    Post subject: Almost the exact same problem Reply with quote

Hey guys, same problem - almost.
I did a fresh install with all the recommended partitions used in the previous post. But after install all I get is
Quote:

grub is loading stage 1.5
please wait...

then the screen goes blank and all I get is the '_' symbol at the top left of the screen. I can't see what i'm typing, so what it's there for is a mystery to me.
When I hit enter at this blank screen, it starts loading gentoo, but it gets stuck on the 'ultrastor' module.
So like a good noob I boot up with a SystemRescueCd (its faster than the liveCD), and go to edit my grub.conf
Quote:

# This is a sample grub.conf for use with Genkernel, per the Gentoo handbook
# http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10#doc_cha$
# If you are not using Genkernel and you need help creating this file, you
# should consult the handbook. Alternatively, consult the grub.conf.sample that
# is included with the Grub documentation.

default 0
timeout 30
#splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

#title Gentoo Linux 2.6.24-r5
#root (hd0,0)
#kernel /boot/kernel-genkernel-x86-2.6.24-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/ram0 real_root=/dev/sda3
#initrd /boot/initramfs-genkernel-x86-2.6.24-gentoo-r5

# vim:ft=conf:

[/bug]


So I delete the first five lines, get rid of all '#'s, and add:
noload=ultrastor at the end of the kernel line.

I save using CtrlO (writeout) and exit using CtrlX, then I restart.
Same problem. So I boot up the rescueCD again, and find that my grub.cong HASNT CHANGED.
help?
Sorry that I explained everything I[/list] did in tedious detail, but I wanted to make sure that there wasn't something vital that I might have not done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leon_UK
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 128
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in nano after making a change just hit ctrl-X it will ask if you want to save the modifications, press Y for yes, then it will ask for a file name, hitting enter will overwrite the old file, so if changes are being made to grub.conf hitting enter will write these changes to that file
_________________
AMD 7750 BE (@3.0ghz) || pci-e 7600GT (@650/800)Nvidia-drivers || 4gb ddr2 || ~amd64(funtoo) ||gentoo-sources-2.6.35-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tetris11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i do! trust me i do.
no change.

maybe system rescuecd uses nano on a readonly premise? But then wouldnt it give an error message when i try to save?

maybe I should use a diffferent editor?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leon_UK
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 128
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tetris11 wrote:
i do! trust me i do.
no change.

maybe system rescuecd uses nano on a readonly premise? But then wouldnt it give an error message when i try to save?

maybe I should use a diffferent editor?


Nano normally would alert you if it can not write the file like so.

Quote:
[ Error writing /boot/grub/grub.conf: Permission denied ]


doing the following should tell you if the file is writable
Code:
ls -l /boot/grub/grub.conf

I get
Code:
$ ls -l /boot/grub/grub.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 572 2009-03-15 21:27 /boot/grub/grub.conf


and the mount command should tell if the drive is writable
Code:
mount

if it has ro where the drive is mounted then it is read only
Code:
/dev/sdb1 on /boot type ext2 (ro,noexec)


you could try to unmount the drive then mount it again just to make sure it is mounted as read and write
change /dev/xxxx to what ever your drive is sda1,hda1 ect.. use fdisk -l if you are unusure
Code:
 umount /dev/xxxx
mount -o rw,exec /dev/xxxx /boot #change /boot to where boot was mounted /mnt/gentoo/boot ect..


mount should then give
Code:
mount
/dev/sdb1 on /boot type ext2 (rw)


Of course if you are not in a chroot, change /boot/grub/grub.conf to where ever /boot is mounted
i'm not sure what other editor to use, I've been using nano for at least 5 years now maybe someone else can recommend one

EDIT: If everything reports as being writable, I'm unsure as to what is wrong you can wait for someone else to respond or chroot into your install and try setting up grub from scratch to see if it will fix it's self
Code:
emerge grub

if you boot from /dev/sda

run
Code:
grub --no-floppy

device (hd0) /dev/sda

root (hd0,0)

setup (hd0)

quit

'device (hd0) /dev/xxx' is just my personal preference, I have quite a few harddrives I like to be positive it is installing correctly to the right drive. then double check your grub.conf make sure the kernel listed is the exact same name as the one in /boot then exit the chroot unmount and reboot. if you need help to chroot I responded to another post for that https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-5570246.html#5570246
_________________
AMD 7750 BE (@3.0ghz) || pci-e 7600GT (@650/800)Nvidia-drivers || 4gb ddr2 || ~amd64(funtoo) ||gentoo-sources-2.6.35-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tetris11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:56 pm    Post subject: Im quitting.... Reply with quote

this is just becoming too much.
I've tried what you said, but it seems that I'm unable to mount. Something about not getting the permission to do so. I've tried using sudo, i've tried gusessing the admin password. But no use.

Its been fun guys, but I guess gentoo is not for me either (ubuntu wouldn't even boot), maybe its just lousy with i386 laptops, maybe its me.

Either way, Im trying Fedora.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like you skipped reading some portion of the gentoo handbook.
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tetris11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read all the relevant sections. Nothing about configuring grub through livecd that helped.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tetris11 wrote:
I read all the relevant sections. Nothing about configuring grub through livecd that helped.
I still reiterate that you have not read the entire handbook. People who are new to gentoo are not supposed to read only portions of the handbook. The installation of gentoo is fairly advanced, compared to most other binary distributions. You will fare better if you follow the handbook very closely.
The "installing grub" portion is here:
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=10

You should have never run into mounting/unmounting problems. The question of using sudo does not even arise. It is clearly mentioned in the introductory portions of the handbook that you will be booted as root by default if you use the livecd.
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=1&chap=2 wrote:
Once the boot process completes, you will be automatically logged in to the "Live" Gentoo Linux as "root", the super user.

_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tetris11
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Mar 2009
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just read the entire damn handbook. It helped. A lot.

Sorry for being grouchy earlier, I guess the installation process just really got to me. Anyway I've got it working now, and thanks for all your undeserved support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ppurka
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 3256

PostPosted: Wed Mar 18, 2009 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tetris11 wrote:
I just read the entire damn handbook. It helped. A lot.

Sorry for being grouchy earlier, I guess the installation process just really got to me. Anyway I've got it working now, and thanks for all your undeserved support.
Glad you got it working :D
Enjoy!
_________________
emerge --quiet redefined | E17 vids: I, II | Now using kde5 | e is unstable :-/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cessman4life
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 14 Apr 2005
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DOn't worry. We all started out in the same shoes. I'm still learning at this point but the guys in these forums are very, very helpful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scroo.loose
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Location: Every where and no where.

PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

During boot i get the following error

* Checking root filesystem ...
fsck.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/ROOT
/dev/ROOT:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains ext2 dilesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), the the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
e2fsck -b <device>

* Filesystem couldn't be fixed :( [!!]


sorry im noob and dont know how to correct
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tylerd75
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

scroo.loose wrote:
During boot i get the following error

* Checking root filesystem ...
fsck.ext3: No such file or directory while trying to open /dev/ROOT
/dev/ROOT:
The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem. If the device is valid and it really contains ext2 dilesystem (and not swap or ufs or something else), the the superblock is corrupt, and you might try running e2fsck with an alternate superblock:
e2fsck -b <device>

* Filesystem couldn't be fixed :( [!!]


sorry im noob and dont know how to correct


You need to correct /etc/fstab

There's probably the default settings (i.e. /dev/BOOT and /dev/ROOT) in there.
Change them to your actual partition layout. Example:
Code:

/dev/sda1 /boot ext2 defaults,noatime 1 1
/dev/sda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/sda3 / ext3 noatime 1 2

_________________
Martin
Linux User: #158780 @ http://counter.li.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum