Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Printing from Gentoo to a shared Windows XP printer via Cups
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 9:03 pm    Post subject: Printing from Gentoo to a shared Windows XP printer via Cups Reply with quote

Ok,

for the first, hi at all!

In this thread i'm gonna try to explain, how to use a shared printer, that is connected to a Windows XP machine in your lan.
It isn't hard at all but it took me hours to get it working cause i couldn't find a good tutorial, that's why i decided to write this one.

I'll try to explain it with the help of what i've done here:

1. My computers:

a) My windows XP computer is called "jimbo", the ip is 192.168.0.3, the standard user is hulk ( pass xxxxxxx ) and the connected printer is an epson stylus c62.

- share the printer by right-clicking on it and give him a simple name, in my case "epsonc62".
- disable any firewalls ( you can configure it later but first we will make sure that printing will work at all ).

b) My Gentoo machine is a vaio notebook, called hulktop, the ip is 192.168.0.22

2. the requirements:

make sure that your xp machine is in your /etc/hosts. i couldnt get it working with the ip adress only.

in my case it is:

Code:
192.168.0.3     jimbo.spengnet.lan         jimbo


optionally you can add "cups" to your USE-Flags, but this is not necessary.

the programs we need:
Code:
emerge samba
emerge cups
emerge psutils
emerge ghostscript
emerge gnome-print (optional)


it seems that you need the "HP Inkjet server for Ghostscript", if you have a Hewlett Packard printer.
Code:
emerge hpijs


now you need a driver for your printer. you can either go to www.linuxprinting.org to get the .ppd file for your printer ( in my case Epson-Stylus_C62-gimp-print-ijs.ppd ), or you can
Code:
USE="ppds" emerge gimp-print
to get all available gimp-print drivers.
else just do
Code:
emerge gimp-print

if you choosed just to download the file from linuxprinting.org, then you have to copy it over to
Code:
/usr/share/cups/model/

( strangefully i experienced, that the downloaded driver for my printer from linuxprinting.org prints faster than the driver from the gimp-print package. even with the same settings ... )

3. the installation

now we start cups:
Code:
/etc/init.d/cupsd start

open your favourite browser and go to http://localhost:631/
go to "manage printers". if you're asked for a password type in your normal root account infos. the first three informations (name, location, description) can be filled just like you want. i choosed to name it epsonc62 but i don't think it is needfull that this name is the same one that you gave your printer on the xp machine. click continue. choose "Windows Printer via SAMBA". click continue.
then tipe in the location:
Code:
smb://username:pass@workgroup/host/printer

in my case this is
Code:
smb://hulk:xxxxxxx@msheimnetz/jimbo/epsonc62

maybe it is working with the normal guest account so i suggest you'll try this first before using your normal login.
Code:
smb://guest:@workgroup/host/printer
click continue.
choose the vendor of your printer ( in my case epson ), continue
choose your printer model eg the driver you installed earlier, continue

if I didn't forget something and everything went well, you should now be able to print the test page.

the last thing is to add cups to runlevel default so that the printer works everytime you reboot.
Code:
rc-update add cupsd default


comments, critics and feedbacks in any case are very welcome :)

greets,
hulk


Last edited by hulk2nd on Mon Oct 27, 2003 1:40 am; edited 8 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheWart
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 May 2002
Posts: 432
Location: Nashville,TN - USA

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice guide.

I am going to print this out, cause when I go home for vacation, I am going to have to do this.
_________________
Face it, we are all noobs.

On the box it said it was designed for Win XP or better, so why won't it work with Linux?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2003 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i hope it can help you. it would be nice to get at least one positive feedback so that i know everything works well ( i had to edit it several times already, cause i forgot somethin ).

greets,
hulk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RedBeard0531
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Sep 2002
Posts: 415
Location: maryland

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2003 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GOOD TIMING!!! :wink:

I needed this today. Great job. You might want to consider submiting this to the gentoo-docs team, and mabey others so it can be googled. It continues to amaze me that there are beter docs in the forums of a reletively unpopuler (in terms of users, I personaly love it) distro than on google!!! :twisted:
_________________
OH MY GOD! Kenny just killed Kenny!
That Basterd!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
a.zapatista
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Apr 2003
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you thank you thank you thank you :P :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2003 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so, it seems to work :D
i'm glad i could have helped you.

greets,
hulk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thomasando
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can't get it working! i'm trying to print to a machine on the other side of a VPN at my parents house. the connection is up, i can browse samba shares etc from my machine, i can ping the systems on the other side, just cups doesn't want to talk... i have put the ip address and hostname of the system it's connected to in /etc/hosts and tried connecting using the hostname as well as the ip address and it doesnt like it.

my internal subnet is 192.168.0.x and the one at my parents house is 192.168.1.x - the vpn is ipsec, done via 2 smoothwall boxen. Has anyone got any ideas on how i might get this running?

edit: the system on the other side of the vpn with the printer attached is windows 2000. i'm trying to print from gentoo (of course!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2003 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this normally happens when you forget to enter username / pass in the string, wihile trying to connect to the printer.
Code:
smb://username:pass@workgroup/host/printer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raniz
l33t
l33t


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 967
Location: Varberg, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works Great!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darkon
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Finland, admist the polarbears

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2003 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works for me ;)
_________________
"Discipline is my sword, faith is my shield" -Overseer Grimal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XeroByte
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2003 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

doesn't work for me... when I try to print the test page or something other it says: 'aborted'. Can't figure out why it doesn't work :/

EDIT: and when I click on 'Restart Job' it says: 'client-error-not-possible'

seems like there's something wrong with the XP-machine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MatzeOne
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 579
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the only windows i didn't removed of my pcs is windows millenium on my laptop... will it work with this guide? i'll try if you don't say no ;)
_________________
Mit null lässt sich eine ganze Menge machen.
Sportschule Hamburg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eddy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Maastricht/Uitgeest, Holland

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 7:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

XeroByte wrote:
doesn't work for me... when I try to print the test page or something other it says: 'aborted'. Can't figure out why it doesn't work :/

EDIT: and when I click on 'Restart Job' it says: 'client-error-not-possible'

seems like there's something wrong with the XP-machine


I have the same problem :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you guys disabled all your firewalls?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XeroByte
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeh, firewall is disabled...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Koybe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

strange... works well with test page and i get blank page for anything else 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

these problems are really strange. the problem is that i don't have any experience with these.

@xerobyte: maybe you typed the password / username wrong? i had the same problem when i forgot to enter it.

@Koybe: have you tried to use another .ppd file? maybe another driver would solve these problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XeroByte
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, they're correct (username and password)... reconfigured it several times tho to check if they weren't wrong... but is it normal that in printer overview only smb://workgroup/host/printer appears without the username und password in it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, thats normnal.
have you tried to ping the other computer so that you at least can be sure that it is not a connection problem?
if not try it with ping <ip> and with ping <host>

greets,
hulk


Last edited by hulk2nd on Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XeroByte
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, ping works without any problems... looks somehow like the xp machine rejects any incoming printer jobs...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm just for fun, try it with administrator as the username (and of course with the admin pass).
maybe it is a rights-problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
XeroByte
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2002
Posts: 21
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

doesn't work neither :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Koybe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how maybe the problem is i have a canon s750 and found no ppd for it... so i'll try some of it.
Another question when i'll have it work how can i put the "cups start" at boot for not having to type it each time?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
rc-update add cupsd default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Koybe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 12:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I should have guest but i'm noob :p sorry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum