Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No java in firefox
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Atle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 11:11 am    Post subject: No java in firefox Reply with quote

Hello all!

I have no java working in firefox, and there is no java listed among the plugins. I do have NPAPI Plugins Wrapper 1.0.0 and Shockwave Flash is "working". I think this indicates 32 bit plugins are installed and working.

Following is all the relevant system information I could think of...

# emerge -1pv nspluginwrapper
...
[ebuild R ] net-www/nspluginwrapper-1.0.0 0 kB
...

# emerge -1pv www-client/mozilla-firefox
[ebuild R ] www-client/mozilla-firefox-3.0.3 USE="dbus ipv6 java mozdevelop startup-notification xulrunner -bindist -custom-optimization -gnome -iceweasel -restrict-javascript" LINGUAS="..." 0 kB

$ eselect java-nsplugin list
Available 32-bit Java browser plugins
[1] emul-linux-x86-java-1.6 current
Available 64-bit Java browser plugins

$ java-config --list-available-vms
The following VMs are available for generation-2:
1) Blackdown JDK 1.4.2.03 [blackdown-jdk-1.4.2]
2) Sun 32bit JRE 1.6.0.07 [emul-linux-x86-java-1.6]
*) Sun JDK 1.6.0.07 [sun-jdk-1.6]

$ eselect java-vm list
Available Java Virtual Machines:
[1] blackdown-jdk-1.4.2
[2] emul-linux-x86-java-1.6 system-vm user-vm
[3] sun-jdk-1.6

$ java-check-environment
....
* Java environment is sane. Congratulations!

# emerge -1pv app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-java
[ebuild R ] app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-java-1.6.0.07 USE="X alsa nsplugin" 0 kB

----------------------
Well, that was all the information I could think of. All looks sane to me, but no plugin in firefox.

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loftwyr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 970
Location: 43°38'23.62"N 79°27'8.60"W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only java plugin for 64bit firefox is icedtea. It's in the Java overlay.
_________________
My emerge --info
Have you run revdep-rebuild lately? It's in gentoolkit and it's worth a shot if things don't work well.
Celebrating 5 years of Gentoo-ing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Atle
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 16 Sep 2004
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just so that it is explicit, a 32bit plugin and a wrapper, like for flash, won't work then?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
loftwyr
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 970
Location: 43°38'23.62"N 79°27'8.60"W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nspluginwrapper won't handle java.

If you want 32-bit plugins, you have to run firefox-bin.
_________________
My emerge --info
Have you run revdep-rebuild lately? It's in gentoolkit and it's worth a shot if things don't work well.
Celebrating 5 years of Gentoo-ing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

loftwyr wrote:
The only java plugin for 64bit firefox is icedtea. It's in the Java overlay.
Does it work? What is your experience?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 5692
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:
loftwyr wrote:
The only java plugin for 64bit firefox is icedtea. It's in the Java overlay.
Does it work? What is your experience?


works like a charm!
_________________
The best argument against democracy is a five-minute conversation with the average voter
Great Britain is a republic, with a hereditary president, while the United States is a monarchy with an elective king
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok. I installed openjdk-bin-1.6 but none of the java programs compile with it. for example gjdoc/antlr etc. fail to emerge. Does this mean that I need to keep sun-jdk around as well? How many JDK's do I need for a working Linux system...:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anybody what this error is about:
Code:
checking if javac -source 1.4 -target 1.4 works... yes
checking if java works... yes
checking if javac -source 1.4 -target 1.4 works... (cached) yes
configure: using ANTLR parser generator in /usr/share/antlr/lib/antlr.jar
..
checking for /usr/share/java/gnujaxp.jar... no
checking for javax.xml.transform.Transformer class... yes
checking for java.util.regex.Pattern class... yes
Native compilation disabled.
checking for working cp -u... yes
configure: creating ./config.status
config.status: creating gjdoc.sh
config.status: WARNING:  'gjdoc.sh.in' seems to ignore the --datarootdir setting
config.status: creating src/resources/version.properties
config.status: creating Makefile
config.status: creating docs/Makefile
config.status: executing depfiles commands
>>> Source configured.
>>> Compiling source in /var/tmp/portage/dev-java/gjdoc-0.7.9/work/gjdoc-0.7.9 ...
make -j4 -l8
mkdir -p classes
test -d htmldoclet || mkdir htmldoclet
javac -source 1.4 -target 1.4 -classpath :./src:.:/usr/share/antlr/lib/antlr.jar:.  -d classes src/com/sun/tools/javadoc/Main.java
test -d doctranslets/html/res || mkdir -p doctranslets/html/res
javac -source 1.4 -target 1.4 -classpath :./src:.:/usr/share/antlr/lib/antlr.jar:.  -d classes src/com/sun/javadoc/ClassDoc.java
javac -source 1.4 -target 1.4 -classpath :./src:.:/usr/share/antlr/lib/antlr.jar:.  -d classes src/com/sun/javadoc/ConstructorDoc.java
test -d dtd/ent || mkdir -p dtd/ent
test -d html/res || mkdir -p html/res
test -d rng || mkdir rng
javac -source 1.4 -target 1.4 -classpath :./src:.:/usr/share/antlr/lib/antlr.jar:.  -d classes src/com/sun/javadoc/Doc.java
Error occurred during initialization of VM
Could not reserve enough space for object heap
Could not create the Java virtual machine.
make: *** [classes/com/sun/javadoc/Doc.class] Error 1
make: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
Note: ./src/gnu/classpath/tools/FileSystemClassLoader.java uses or overrides a deprecated API.
Note: Recompile with -Xlint:deprecation for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I notice is that although I selected openjdk-bin as my system VM, it still used sun-jdk for java:
Code:
GENTOO_VM=sun-jdk-1.6  CLASSPATH="" JAVA_HOME="/opt/sun-jdk-1.6.0.10"
JAVACFLAGS="-source 1.4 -target 1.4" COMPILER=""
and of course, the output of emerge --info

Second thing I notice is that if I force the VM in the ebuild, it still doesn't work. What makes it work is adding "-J-Xmx512m" to javac.

So, the questions are:
1. why does gjdoc not use the system wide VM for above variables?
2. Why does it need that "-J-Xmx512m" flag in javac? What is the safest way to pass that flag universally?

Does anybody know? We can get rid of sun-jdk if these problems are resolved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

devsk wrote:

So, the questions are:
1. why does gjdoc not use the system wide VM for above variables?
It seems like it picks virtual/jre and that's mapped to sun-jdk or ibm-jdk-bin. I just put it in overlay and added openjdk-bin to that list. Once I removed sun-jdk, gjdoc started picking openjdk-bin as its JRE.
devsk wrote:

2. Why does it need that "-J-Xmx512m" flag in javac? What is the safest way to pass that flag universally?

I did not find anything for this. So,
Code:
cd /usr/lib/jvm/java-1.6.0-openjdk-1.6.0.0.x86_64/bin
mv javac javac.bin
and created javac with:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
${0}.bin -J-Xmx512m "$@"

Problem solved. One JDK less. 130MB gone. Now onto the emul stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2870
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 4:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why is openjdk-bin not in portage? Other distros have it as a standard package. It should be included and virtual/jdk modified accordingly.

So far, all packages have compiled fine with openjdk-bin java.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum