Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Ultra Sparc 1 -- Silo Kernel Issue
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
liSurfer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Blue Point,NY

PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2003 5:05 pm    Post subject: Ultra Sparc 1 -- Silo Kernel Issue Reply with quote

Hello,

I've gone through the installation documentation provided by the people at Gentoo.org for ultra sparc. I'm up to the Silo part in doc but am receiving an error when I run 'silo' from the cli.

/etc/silo.conf appears to be valid
Fatal error: Couldn't read new silo bootblock from /boot/ultra.b

Is there a way to recreate this .b file i couldn't find it in /usr/src/linux. I'm not quite sure what the .b file is a product of or if it's from silo's emerge. Any information on .b files or this problem would be greatly appreciated.

TIA,
Ryan
_________________
Pray For Surf
(_(_(_-###-)_)_)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16090
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe a Sparc user will find it better here.


Moved from Installing Gentoo.
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2003 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can re-create /boot/ultra.b by re-emerging sys-apps/silo.

Also if you made your /boot a different partition, make sure it's mounted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazik
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 277
Location: Behind you.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this:

1) backup your silo.conf
2) mount /boot
3) emerge unmerge silo
4) rm -f /boot/*
5) emerge silo
6) copy silo.conf back to /boot
7) silo -C /boot/silo.conf

If this doesnt work, what version of silo are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liSurfer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Blue Point,NY

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 8:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ahh sooo close fellas!

Ok I followed the last advice and have succesfully been able to 'silo' but upon boot time SILO says it cannot find my kernel image 'vmlinux' which resides in /boot. it states

"Cannot find /boot/vmlinux (Unknown ext2 error)
Image not found.... try again"


tia,
Ryan :oops:
_________________
Pray For Surf
(_(_(_-###-)_)_)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When at the silo prompt, if you type

Code:
boot: /vmlinux root=/dev/sda4


(where sda4 is your root parition) does this boot correctly?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazik
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 277
Location: Behind you.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

liSurfer wrote:
ahh sooo close fellas!

Ok I followed the last advice and have succesfully been able to 'silo' but upon boot time SILO says it cannot find my kernel image 'vmlinux' which resides in /boot. it states

"Cannot find /boot/vmlinux (Unknown ext2 error)
Image not found.... try again"


tia,
Ryan :oops:


Hmm but you did copy your vmlinux from /usr/src/linux/ to /boot/ before doing step 7) ?

Sorry that I forgot to mention that important step! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm guessing what happened is if he rm -rf'd /boot/* then the symlink in /boot to itself has been removed, so if /boot is it's own partition, /boot/vmlinux is no longer a valid path.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liSurfer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Blue Point,NY

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still the same error message. I renamed the file and edited the config file properly to call it vmlinuz. Still the same problem. What is mounting /boot before the kernel is even loaded???? Also, is it important to create a partition that represents the size of the disk? I skipped that part so my root partition is /dev/sda3 not sda4.


tia,
Ryan
_________________
Pray For Surf
(_(_(_-###-)_)_)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It can be yes, particularly if you want Solaris to access it. Every once and a while a problem like this will crop up where having a whole disk partition makes it go away.

Did you try my suggestion at the command line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liSurfer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Blue Point,NY

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 1:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes but my question is. wouldn't "/vmlinux" denote that the kernel was in the root of the root partition? when in reality it's in /boot?


TIA,
Ryan
_________________
Pray For Surf
(_(_(_-###-)_)_)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have /boot setup as it's own partition, then SILO thinks / is whatever your boot partition is as it isn't loading off the partition specified as root in your config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liSurfer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Blue Point,NY

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 2:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So to clarify. My harddrive looks as follows.

/ /dev/hda3
/boot /dev/hda1
swap /dev/hda2

so my Silo.conf should look like this.

parition = 1 # denoting boot
root = /dev/sda3

image = /boot/vmlinuz
label = gentooDUDE


tia,
Ry.
_________________
Pray For Surf
(_(_(_-###-)_)_)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liSurfer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Blue Point,NY

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

exchange hda for sda....sorry.
_________________
Pray For Surf
(_(_(_-###-)_)_)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazik
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 277
Location: Behind you.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2003 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

liSurfer wrote:

image = /boot/vmlinuz


/boot/vmlinux

And make sure, as Weeve said, that the symlink in /boot/ still exists (as you did the `rm -f /boot/.*` .

If not, `mount /boot`, `cd /boot`, `ln -s boot ../boot/`
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liSurfer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Sep 2003
Posts: 13
Location: Blue Point,NY

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2003 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SILO is finding the kernel I think because now it outputs an error that says, the kernel is too big. I don't blame it, it's 3Megs so i'm recompiling again. Question though, I've compiled kernels for slackware using the source from kernel.org. After 'make bzImage' and the rest of the make's in the /usr/src/linux directory is a vmlinuz kernel which is usually very large. Then in arch/i386 is the bzImage which is considerably smaller. I found no smaller kernel on the sun box after compilation. Only the vmlinux that is 3MB. Is there a bzImage compilaition? I tried it and it didn't work. It said no make target.


tia,

Ryan
_________________
Pray For Surf
(_(_(_-###-)_)_)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Weeve
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Oct 2002
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2003 12:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

3.5MB is the limit for kernel sizes on sparc. There is no compressed building target right now as the kernel size is always dependent on the uncompressed size.

sparc kernels are always noticibly larger than x86, perhaps due to the way RISC arch is setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferris
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 426
Location: N. Virginia (USA)

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2003 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Concerning kernel size: I read somewhere -- sparclinux mailing list? -- that
if the kernel is too big, stripping it might help. I have found this to
be true. I am running a kernel which unstripped is too big:
Code:

terciopelo linux # wc vmlinux
  35817  175700 3894459 vmlinux


But, after stripping it to remove symbols, thus:
Code:

cp vmlinux /boot
cd /boot
strip vmlinux
terciopelo boot # wc vmlinux
  35567  171874 3281112 vmlinux

and it boots fine. (It's the one running for this post.)
This should probably be in the installation guide, if it isn't.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum