Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Brainstorm
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Is a Gentoo Brainstorming site a good idea?
Yes
80%
 80%  [ 96 ]
No
20%
 20%  [ 24 ]
Total Votes : 120

erik258
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:19 am    Post subject: Gentoo Brainstorm Reply with quote

ubuntu has one, so why not us? ( http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/ )

My theory is that we can build this ourselves. In fact, as a professional PHP programmer, I know we can.

The only question is, can we do it any time soon?

I don't know the answer to that - but collectively, the rest of you do. Have any of you the skills and desire to make Gentoo Brainstorm a reality? If so, speak up! We can make this happen.
NathanZachary

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could possibly be a good idea, but I don't really like the format of that site. I think that the concept of having a place where Gentoo users can toss around ideas is excellent, though.
rlazo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:40 am    Post subject: Gentoo Brainstorm Reply with quote

The original Ubuntu site is build on top of drupal as stated on this post. I've downloaded the code but I haven't been able of running it yet. It's doesn't work with drupal core 6.1. I need more experience on drupal :D

Another possibility is writing it from scratch (php, ror, django, etc.) but I hope we can reuse ubuntu's code as much as possible.

And, if it's not clear, I think that Gentoo Brainstorm is a great idea. 8)
<3
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know anything about coding web pages but I'm all for this. As a matter of fact I have a few ideas that I'd like to put on the site once it's up.
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva