Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bash/xterm
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ancipital
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 259
Location: Grnn

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 11:35 am    Post subject: Bash/xterm Reply with quote

Ok, I'm wondering, when I start an xterm in kde it just echos the bash version eg sh-2.05a$ in stead of when I log in with a console. Hoe can I make xterm act like a login shell? And how can I make an alias xterm="xterm -bg black -fg white -fn vga" so I can just startup xterm? I tried editing /etc/profile - I'm making it source /etc/aliases where I put all my aliases. Again, it all works in a console, just not in kde.

M
_________________
Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klieber
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 17 Apr 2002
Posts: 3657
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

asked and answered

please search before posting.

--kurt
_________________
The problem with political jokes is that they get elected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ancipital
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 21 Jul 2002
Posts: 259
Location: Grnn

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*bows head in shame* ok, I'm sorry.
Another question though: it seems, after a screen irssi, I can't switch through channels because alt-F1 - F12 only give weird characters. And line drawing chars also don't work. Now, how do I enable that?
Oh yeah, also my home and end-keys won't work untill I right-click xterm and toggle VT220-Keyboard.
_________________
Diplomacy is the art of letting the other party have things your way.
-- Daniele Vare
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ElCondor
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Apr 2002
Posts: 520
Location: Vienna, Austria, Europe

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
xterm -ls
the -ls is for "login shell" :)

* ElCondor pasa *
_________________
Here I am the victim of my own choices and I'm just starting!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
X-SoCiaL
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 160
Location: Filipstad/Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jul 22, 2002 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your screen corrption I have seen before I believe. Some gcards writes over stuff i memory when ya run highres console mode.

It will go away if ya set your console mod to a standard 25x80 mod I think. Had this problem when running XAccel. a long time ago.
_________________
~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~
: Would I do it if I couldnt do it with a computer?
~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~'¨'~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum