Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Opening X windows; DISPLAY variable on MAC OS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lyonsd
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 138
Location: Flowery Branch, GA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 3:05 pm    Post subject: Opening X windows; DISPLAY variable on MAC OS Reply with quote

I was wonder if anybody could help me out here.

I am on a MAC:

Code:

$ uname -a
Darwin thorin.physast.uga.edu 8.11.1 Darwin Kernel Version 8.11.1: Wed Oct 10 18:23:28 PDT 2007; root:xnu-792.25.20~1/RELEASE_I386 i386 i386


And I'm fairly new to MACs, but I'm not new to Linux/unix.

Anyway, I'm trying to open X apps from a command line terminal window, like /usr/X11R6/bin/xterm for example.

Now the DISPLAY variable doesn't appear to be set:

Code:

$ echo $DISPLAY

$


If I set it:

Code:

$ export DISPLAY=127.0.0.1:0.0

or

$ export DISPLAY=128.192.19.118:0.0

or

$ export DISPLAY=:0.0


or even if I leave it unset, I can't get anything to open the display:

Code:

$ xhost +
xhost:  unable to open display ""


How do I get X windows to open on my display in this OS? Thanks.
_________________
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcornez
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 201
Location: Spain

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

An X server is not running by default in Mac OS X, but you can install it and then start it.

http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/apple/macosx_updates/x11formacosx.html

Note that is for Mac OS X 10.3 If you have 10.4 or newer, it is on the OSX install DVD (and the page says this...)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grobian
Developer
Developer


Joined: 31 May 2006
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's in the Utilities, X11. Leopard should have some turbo magic here that automagically launches X11 once an app tries to write to its display, but I haven't tested that ever myself.
_________________
Gentoo on a different level
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo for Mac OS X (Portage for Mac OS X) All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum