View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ryan.merck
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 2:08 am    Post subject: Hello from a new Gentoo user! Reply with quote

Hello, my name is Ryan Merck. I am a new Gentoo user. I've been using Linux for a couple years now, and after becoming bored with Fedora and Ubuntu, I decided a couple of weeks ago that I wanted more of a challenge in my operating system. So
I switched to Slackware. I had some trouble with installing and configuring it, but got it working eventually.

I didn't really have a problem with Slackware, I was content in tinkering with configuration settings and the like, but I still wanted a challenge, and I was appaled with the deplorable state of Slackware forums and how ruthlessly they are trolled.

Since I felt I could no longer depend on forums and support base to get quick answers for my questions, I decided to get on the hunt for a new Linux distro. A few friends of mine on a gun forum had talked about how ridiculously difficult Gentoo is to install and streamline for performance. And in remembering that, the first thing that I went to do was check out the support forums. I have been very impressed, I've seen alot more people reaching out to fellow Gentooers in need. And with that in mind, I decided to take the plunge.

Four days ago, I downloaded the minimal install cd, coming to the conclusion that I was already set to see a difficult operating system through until my satisfaction, and I didn't want to take the easy way out (it didn't help reading all the bugs about the GUI installer anyway).