Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Inputting Hindi Text In Gentoo [solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 3:17 pm    Post subject: Inputting Hindi Text In Gentoo [solved] Reply with quote

People,

As the topic says, I want to be able to type hindi text in Gentoo through scim. If anyone knows how to make this happen, please help me. I tried following the guide on wikipedia but somehow it is not working.
It might be possible that I made a mistake in setting it up, I am just not sure.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?


Last edited by rahulthewall on Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:28 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall3000 wrote:
That works but that gives me a hindi non phonetic keyboard. Now, what I meant was that when I was using Ubuntu all I had to do was the following:

System -> Administration -> Language Support and then just tick the check box for hindi support and tick the option "enable support for entering complex characters" and voila! that was it. I just had to press Shift + Space and I had a choice of nearly all Indian Languages with the phonetic keyboard installed for them as well. Now my problem is that I have installed scim installed on Gentoo following the guide that was there on wikipedia. scim starts as well without giving any errors or anything like that but I just cannot change the input language. If you know a solution to this, I would be very grateful.

Cheers
Rahul


Rahul,

I just got scim installed and working on my machine.

Assuming you have the scim daemon running already with the icon in your taskbar -
When you toggle between applications you will notice the SC\nIM notification popup

To switch to the phonetic keyboard simply hover over that popup and click on the current language
That opens a menu from where you can select Hindi - Phonetic

I tested it on XFCE Mousepad, and Firefox 2
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoonlitSapphire
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you put the export variables before the exec statement launching whatever desktop environment or window manager?

The 'append' is misleading, exported variables should always come before, otherwise it will start before said variables are exported.

If that is not the problem, then I am not sure what the issue may be with the amount of information you have given.

If the SCIM daemon is running, input methods can be toggled by Ctrl + Space (I think that is the default).
If the daemon is not running, you can attempt to start it with:
Code:
scim -d

_________________
I am a simple girl with simple dreams.
Some things never change...but some things do change.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, maybe I am stupid or something but somehow scim is not working for me. I am not sure if I installed it the correct way or not. This is the procedure that I followed to install it:

emerge -av scim-tables scim-m17n
And then this is my .xinitrc

export XMODIFIERS=@im=SCIM
export GTK_IM_MODULE="scim"
export QT_IM_MODULE="scim"
scim -f socket -c socket -d

exec gnome-session


When I run scim -d I get this:
rahul@wall ~ $ scim -d
Smart Common Input Method 1.4.5

Launching a SCIM daemon with Socket FrontEnd...
Loading simple Config module ...
Creating backend ...
Loading socket FrontEnd module ...
Starting SCIM as daemon ...
Launching a SCIM process with x11...
Loading socket Config module ...
Creating backend ...
Loading x11 FrontEnd module ...
GTK Panel of SCIM 1.4.5

Starting SCIM as daemon ...
SCIM has been successfully launched.

So, there seems to be no problem. But I cannot use it!! Ctrl + Space has no use whatsoever. If I click on the scim icon in the tray I get no choices of language as I should. I really have no idea what is wrong!!
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Right-click on the icon

SCIM setup > Panel > GTK > ToolBar
- Select "Show:" as "Always" (sometimes I can't use Alt+Space to bring up the window since it conflicts with an existing soortcut)
- Make sure "Show input method icon", "Show input method name" are checked
- Click OK

Close the terminal window you used to launch scim -d before, if you have not already.

Right-click on the icon and exit.
The start scim -d again.
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No changes! :(
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Om, can you tell me the exact procedure that you used to install scim, for I am sure that I made a mistake there.

Also, is there any way to check that the file .xinitrc is being used or not.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall3000 wrote:
No changes! :(

You don't see the purple "SCIM" anywhere on your screen?
It should be just over your scim keyboard icon.
When you hover over it, it lets your select your language.

Otherwise please paste your /etc/scim/config
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

# This file is encoded in UTF-8 encoding.
/FrontEnd/OnTheSpot = true
/FrontEnd/ChangeFactoryGlobally = false
/FrontEnd/Socket/ConfigReadOnly = false
/FrontEnd/Socket/MaxClients = 512
/FrontEnd/X11/BrokenWchar = true
/FrontEnd/X11/Dynamic = false
/FrontEnd/X11/OnTheSpot = true
/FrontEnd/X11/ServerName = SCIM
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/NextFactory = Control+Alt+Down,Shift+Control+KeyRelease+Shift$
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/PreviousFactory = Control+Alt+Up,Shift+Control+KeyRelease+Con$
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/ShowFactoryMenu = Control+Alt+Right
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/Trigger = Control+space
/Hotkeys/FrontEnd/ValidKeyMask = Shift+Control+Alt+CapsLock+Meta
/Panel/Gtk/Color/ActiveBackground = light sky blue
/Panel/Gtk/Color/ActiveText = black
/Panel/Gtk/Color/NormalBackground = #F7F3F7
/Panel/Gtk/Color/NormalText = black
/Panel/Gtk/Font = default
/Panel/Gtk/DefaultSticked = false
/Panel/Gtk/LookupTableEmbedded = true
/Panel/Gtk/LookupTableVertical = false
/Panel/Gtk/ShowStatusBox = false
/Panel/Gtk/ShowTrayIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/AlwaysShow = false
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/AutoSnap = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/HideTimeout = 2
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/POS_X = -1
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/POS_Y = -1
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowHelpIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowFactoryIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowFactoryName = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowMenuIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowSetupIcon = true
/Panel/Gtk/ToolBar/ShowStickIcon = false
/IMEngine/RawCode/Locales = default


No, I do not see anything other than the scim keyboard icon. And I only followed the packages that are listed on the guide in wikipedia. I have not followed the guide on the gentoo wiki.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

.xinitrc has the highest priority of being invoked by X, so if you have an .xinitrc in your (user) home directory, it wil be executed.
Maybe you edited root's .xinitrc by mistake?


Installation for Keyboard Input of Indic Languages

  1. Add LINGUAS="hi" to /etc/make.conf


  2. emerge scim-tables


  3. (Logged in as user) nano -w ~/.xinitrc
    Add the following lines -
      export XMODIFIERS=@im=SCIM
      export GTK_IM_MODULE=scim-bridge
      export QT_IM_MODULE=scim


  4. emerge scim-bridge
    scim-bridge was masked for me at the time of install, so I unmasked scim-bridge-0.4.14

    Nut then I got this error -
    Error from scim-qtimm, a dependency of scim-bridge:
    ERROR: app-i18n/scim-qtimm-0.9.4 failed.
    Call stack:
                    ebuild.sh, line 1717:  Called dyn_setup
                    ebuild.sh, line  768:  Called qa_call 'pkg_setup'
                    ebuild.sh, line   44:  Called pkg_setup
      scim-qtimm-0.9.4.ebuild, line   31:  Called die
    The specific snippet of code:
                    die "You need to rebuild >=x11-libs/qt-3.3.4 with immqt-bc(recom
    mended) or immqt USE flag enabled."
     The die message:
      You need to rebuild >=x11-libs/qt-3.3.4 with immqt-bc(recommended) or immqt USE flag enabled.

    If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
    A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/app-i18n/scim-qtimm-0.9.4/temp/build.log'.
    So, to use the first (recommended) method, I added these lines to /etc/portage/package.use
      =x11-libs/qt-4* qt3support
      =x11-libs/qt-3* immqt-bc

    And then re-emerged both Qt 3 and 4
    emerge -Dav =qt-3.38-r4 qt
    qt-3.38-r4 was the latest stable version for my system; check and use the latest for yours.
    I simply use "qt" for qt-4* since portage emerges that by default.
    These two rebuilds together took well over an hour on my amd64 +3800, so while it happens go make yourself a cup of tea :)


  5. Finally manually launch scim from a terminal using
    scim -d
    However I found that it's not truly a daemon program.
    The scim -d process is still somehow bound to the terminal shell, so if you need to quit scim -d, you have to first close the terminal you launched it from and then select SCIM icon > Exit.

_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.


Last edited by OmSai on Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:12 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your /etc/scim/config is the same as mine, so no problem there.

:?
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My qt3 was compiled with immqt enabled, now I am compiling it with immqt-bc. However, qt4 is not installed on my system, do I need to install it?
And do I not need the package scim-m17n?
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 6:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall3000 wrote:
However, qt4 is not installed on my system, do I need to install it?

No, you don't need Qt4 installed.

This is how I checked to see if it's necessary:
World dependencies of Qt4:
$ equery depends =x11-libs/qt-4.3.2-r1
[ Searching for packages depending on =x11-libs/qt-4.3.2-r1... ]
app-i18n/scim-bridge-0.4.14 (qt4? =x11-libs/qt-4*)
app-text/poppler-bindings-0.6.1 (qt4? =x11-libs/qt-4*)
dev-python/PyQt4-4.3.1 (=x11-libs/qt-4*)
media-video/vlc-0.9.0_alpha20080128 (qt4? =x11-libs/qt-4.3*)

So scim-bridge is the only program which is pulling in Qt4.
However, the ? next to qt4 shows that scim-bridge does not need qt4 as a hard requirement.
Qt4 is only a USE flag.
We can verify looking at it's ebuild, and see that it can do with just Qt3:
scim-bridge-0.4.14.ebuild:
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/app-i18n/scim-bridge/scim-bridge-0.4.14.ebuild,v 1.1 2008/01/27 16:35:05 matsuu Exp $

WANT_AUTOMAKE=latest
WANT_AUTOCONF=latest

inherit autotools eutils qt3 qt4

DESCRIPTION="Yet another IM-client of SCIM"
HOMEPAGE="http://www.scim-im.org/projects/scim_bridge"
SRC_URI="mirror://sourceforge/scim/${P}.tar.gz"

LICENSE="GPL-2 LGPL-2.1"
SLOT="0"
KEYWORDS="~amd64 ~hppa ~ppc64 ~sparc ~x86"
IUSE="doc gtk qt3 qt4"

RDEPEND=">=app-i18n/scim-1.4.6
        gtk? (
                >=x11-libs/gtk+-2.2
                >=x11-libs/pango-1.1
        )
        qt3? (
                $(qt_min_version 3.3.4)
                >=x11-libs/pango-1.1
        )
        qt4? (
                $(qt4_min_version 4.0.0)
                >=x11-libs/pango-1.1
        )"
DEPEND="${RDEPEND}
        dev-util/pkgconfig
        doc? ( app-doc/doxygen )"





rahulthewall3000 wrote:
And do I not need the package scim-m17n?

scim-m17n and scim-bridge both serve the same function.

The Wikipedia HOWTO you posted mentions that scim-bridge, written in C, would work with more applications than scim-m17n, which is written in C++:
Wikipedia wrote:
Mozilla apps and precompiled software such as acroread might not play well with scim (C++). In such cases, make use of scim-bridge (C - avoiding C++ ABI issues)

_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldn't find the Hindi phonetic keyboard layout online, so I made my own to use.
At least till I'm proficient enough not to have to keep referencing it, hehe...

Check it out 8)
http://www.vandanashourie.com/hindi_phonetic_layout.jpg
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice one, actually I became quite good with it. If I had something like yours to reference it would have been awesome. I just opened up gedit and tried every damn combination.
Oh, and as a sidenote, scim is working is on my arch install, and because no matter what I do it does not seem to work on gentoo for me I think I would try it when I have time again. New semester starting from monday! :P

And, many many thanks for your help. And, if you do not mind, can I share your phonetic keyboard with others. There would be many that would love to have that as a reference!
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall3000 wrote:
And, if you do not mind, can I share your phonetic keyboard with others. There would be many that would love to have that as a reference!

Sure, but I have limited bandwidth on that GoDaddy server.
Please share this link instead -
jpg image - http://omploader.org/vYzF2
xcf image - http://omploader.org/vYzF3 (which is editable in GIMP)

Edit the image and see if you can add any learning tips (like the first I added), and links to get hindi-font support.

Good luck with your semester!
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 446
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Om, thanks for your keyboard layout file. I always wanted to have one for the "normal" hindi/devanagari layout, but I was always too lazy to create one. Now I can easily edit your xcf-file :-)

Now, both of you, excuse me to have a silly question: I read this whole thread, and had a look on the scim homepage, but I didn't get the point of why one should need scim for Hindi?

I'm working on KDE, and in order to get an Indic keyboard (although not the Hindi phonetic one), I simply check the "Activate keyboard layouts" checkbox in Control Center > Language and regional settings > Keyboard layout, then select the layouts I want, and click ok. I get a language symbol in my taskbar where I can cycle through my different layouts with a mouseclick. And when typing on the Indic keyboard - no problem with complex characters, not in OOo nor in the Console or whereever...

So, could you explain me what is the point or the advantage of using scim?
Thanks for your answer!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 446
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PS.: rahul, I think that the Gentoo section on the Hindi wikipedia page is simply misleading. Just do what they write in the GNOME or KDE section of that same page, I think that's all you need. I added a note in the discussion of that page and asked them to remove or modify the Gentoo part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cjubon wrote:
I think that the Gentoo section on the Hindi wikipedia page is simply misleading. Just do what they write in the GNOME or KDE section of that same page, I think that's all you need. I added a note in the discussion of that page and asked them to remove or modify the Gentoo part.
Since rahulthewall3000, you and I use Gnome, KDE and XFCE respectively I would really like it if we could write a gentoo-wiki.com HOWTO page on the best way to get going with Hindi on Gentoo.
This post is very outdated: Indian Language support in GNOME2.4 & XFCE4
The wikipedia page is aimed to be more generic, and only intends to support hindi on firefox and all applications/not everyday use.
For example I found on XFCE you have to change the character coding to UTF-8 to be able to save Hindi text files.


cjubon wrote:
Now, both of you, excuse me to have a silly question: I read this whole thread, and had a look on the scim homepage, but I didn't get the point of why one should need scim for Hindi?
---------8<---------8<---------8<---------
So, could you explain me what is the point or the advantage of using scim?
Thanks for your answer!
XFCE and (perhaps Gnome too?) are not bundled with a Hindi keyboard layout.
But there maybe other alternatives to SCIM.
I will explore them so that we can put a constructive article together.
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 446
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

om wrote:
XFCE and (perhaps Gnome too?) are not bundled with a Hindi keyboard layout.

Well I'm not sure for XFCE, but GNOME certainly has a "Hindi" (i.e. Devanagari) keyboard layout, and you can activate it very easily (very similar to KDE). Just read the already cited hi.wikipedia.org article, not the "Gentoo" section, however, but the general "Gnome" section far more above.
om wrote:
I found on XFCE you have to change the character coding to UTF-8 to be able to save Hindi text files.
That's right, and it is true for any *nix desktop. That's why I would recommend to everybody using different languages at the same time to set his system locale to UTF-8, using this guide: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/utf-8.xml
om wrote:
we could write a gentoo-wiki.com HOWTO page on the best way to get going with Hindi on Gentoo
Good idea, it's really not difficult anymore. It was a mess in former days, that's right, and unfortunately those old guides and outdated posts in the Internet still mislead some people and make them install complicated things that are not necessary at all. In fact, nowadays it's not more difficult than changing one's layout from English to, let's say, French (I'm exaggerating a bit :-)).

Since this is only a quick answer, I can remember only two things that one has to keep in mind on Gentoo:
1.) You have to install appropriate fonts. Every modern unicode font is ok,
Code:
emerge -av ttf-bitstream-vera corefonts
should already be sufficient, but if you want additional characters and even non-devanagari scripts like Bengali or those used for Dravidian languages, add the line
Code:
media-fonts/fonts-indic ~x86
to /etc/portage/package.keywords and do
Code:
emerge -av fonts-indic
afterwards.
2.) Be aware of the fact that you cannot use the "-bin" versions of mozilla apps (seamonkey, firefox, thunderbird...). You have to compile them using the source-code packages, and pay attention that the USE flag "moznopango" is not set (which is the default anyhow).

See you on the Gentoo wiki!
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rahulthewall
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 1264
Location: Zürich

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Que. Why is the post about SCIM?
Ans. I know Gnome has a hindi keyboard. (Devanagari to be more exact.) But that is an in script keyboard, I want a phonetic one. Hence using SCIM.

Sadly, I have not been able to install SCIM properly, there seems to be something wrong somewhere. And yes, I would see what additions I can provide to the Gentoo wiki.
_________________
Who shall guard the guards?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks cjubon and rahulthewall3000.

Guess we'll just have to wait for the gentoo-wiki server to come back up before we can start then...
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 12:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rahulthewall3000 wrote:
Sadly, I have not been able to install SCIM properly, there seems to be something wrong somewhere. And yes, I would see what additions I can provide to the Gentoo wiki.

Rahul, I ran into your exact same problem, and figured out what was wrong.
You have to launch your WM (gnome in your case) with startx and not gnome-session :)
SCIM doesn't work properly if its variables are not exported before the window manager is started.


Rahul and cjubon,
Could you both please check and improve on the gentoo-wiki article?
[HOWTO] Enable Hindi using SCIM
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trumee
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Mar 2003
Posts: 547
Location: London,UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Om. Thanks for the layout. But how do you get half letters? I tried the letter 'f' on the keyboard, but I get the full character rather than the half character.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OmSai
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Sep 2007
Posts: 605
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

trumee,

You have to use the 'f' after the letter you want to halve.

For example, to type patni (पत्नी), you have to use the letters p-t-f-n-I

Also one other thing to watch out for is pressing-and-releasing the <shift> key, which toggles between english and hindi.
I'll update the -wiki keyboard image with that warning.

HTH
_________________
Gentoo is the stick-shift of Linux.
You work it manually, it has somewhat better performance, but it's really for the fun of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum