Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
HOWTO: Juniper Network Connect on amd64 with firefox-bin
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NewBlackDak
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Utah County, UT

PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 4:23 pm    Post subject: HOWTO: Juniper Network Connect on amd64 with firefox-bin Reply with quote

Network connect has Linux "support", but only for RedHat. I thought I would try and get it working in Gentoo since my company had moved to it.
Installing all the needed peices
1. Ensure you have TUN/TAP support install. It is a kernel option.
Code:
Device Drivers-->
   Network device support-->
      <M> Univesal TUN/TAP device driver support

if you don't know how to compile your kernel go here:http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/kernel-upgrade.xml

2. Load the tun driver
Code:
modprobe tun

3. If all goes well, and it loads without errors add it to your autoload file
Code:
echo "tun">> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6


Note: Tun can be compiled directly into the kernel, but you'll get a warning that the tun module can't be loaded. Clicking OK still allows the client to work.

4. Install openssl
Code:
emerge openssl


Step 5-9 can now be done with 2 simple commands:
Code:
echo "app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-java X alsa nsplugin">>/etc/portage/package.use
merge emul-linux-x86-java



5. Down load Sun's java from here:http://java.com/en/download/linux_manual.jsp.
Be sure to get "Linux (self-extracting file)" installer

6. Create a java32 directory somewhere and cd into it
Code:
mkdir /usr/java32
cd !$

7. Move the installer to your newly created directory.
Code:
mv ~/Desktop/jre-1_5_0_06-linux-i586.bin ./

8. Change the permissions, so it's executable
Code:
chmod o+x ~/jre-1_5_0_06-linux-i586.bin

9. Run the installer
Code:
./jre-1_5_0_06-linux-i586.bin


Simulating the RedHat environment
1. Enable the java plugin for firefox-bin *If you did the emerge with nsplugin enabled skip this
Code:
cd /usr/lib32/nsbrowser/plugins/
ln -s /usr/java32/jre1.5.0_06/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so

2. Rpm checks to see if openssl is installed, so we just trick it here
Code:
ln -s /bin/true /usr/bin/rpm

3. Link the libraries network connect expects to see *If your company has moved to 5.5 you shouldn't need this.
Code:
ln -s /usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.7 /lib/libssl.so.2
ln -s /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.7 /lib/libcrypto.so.2


That's it. If Firefox was open you will probably need to restart it to make the java plugin active. Now connect to your VPN server just like you would in a browser on any Windows or Mac OSX machine. After network connect is installed you can delete the /usr/bin/rpm symlink.

I got some of the tricks from here: http://www.flexion.org/site/index.php?gadget=StaticPage&action=Page&id=50
_________________
Gentoo systems.
X2 4200+@2.6 - Athy
X2 3600+ - Myth
UltraSparc5 440 - sparcy


Last edited by NewBlackDak on Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:18 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
static_k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 73
Location: NY

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2006 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed these directions and it worked perfectly.
Thanks for figuring it out!!! :D

I was running an Intel core duo for those who think it's only for amd64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slinkp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2003
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 5:01 pm    Post subject: works on a pentium M too Reply with quote

Seems to work here on a 32-bit pentium M laptop.
But for that platform, I skipped all the Java steps and just did:
Code:
 sudo emerge sun-jdk


One other annoyance - I use nscd to cache DNS lookups.
I have to restart it every time I stop or start the VPN:

Code:
/etc/init.d/nscd restart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cshobe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:05 am    Post subject: Not working Reply with quote

This page is looking pretty sketch: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Juniper_SSL_Network_Connect_VPN

So after poking around for a while wondering why that page recommended stuff like installing openmotif (which seems to be necessary with NC 1.0, but not NC 1.2), I was happy to find this post. But sadly, I'm still stuck.

What I've found is that the symlinks for libssl and libcrypto *do* make a noticeable difference, as without them, the java GUI says "Connecting to NCSVC", then immediately fails.

Now, as far as I've been able to get on this, it will say "Connecting to NCSVC" for a moment, then it will change and say "Connecting to IVE", and then it will fail.

What is IVE?
Any ideas on things I can try?

I'm on an Intel Core 2 machine, and am trying using mozilla-bin (32-bit) with Sun 32bit JRE 1.6.0.03 [emul-linux-x86-java-1.6]. I've found that if I change the system-vm to Sun JRE 1.6.0.03 [sun-jre-bin-1.6], then the GUI fails before getting to the IVE connection just as when the lib{ssl,crypto} symlinks were missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cshobe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some more details:

casey@uppsala.osss.net:/home/casey/.juniper_networks/network_connect
$ ./ncdiag -A
NC Diagnostics for Linux.
Version 1.0.
Release Date/Time: Jun 22 2007 13:26:56
+==============================================================================+
| Tests: | Results: |
+==============================================================================+

o NC Installation Check Failed
o NC Diagnostics
NC Service Not Running
NC Driver Test Passed
NC Tunnel Test Not established

o Host Details
Hostname uppsala
Domainname hi5.com
IP Routing Enabled No
IP Loopback test Passed
Nameserver Details
127.0.0.1 Ping Passed
Gateway Ping Test
192.168.64.4 Ping Passed

o Network Connection Diagnostics

Interface: eth0
IP Address: 192.168.64.119
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Broadcast: 192.168.64.255
MTU: 1500

Interface: lo
IP Address: 127.0.0.1
Netmask: 255.0.0.0
Broadcast: 127.255.255.255
MTU: 16436
o Route Info

Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.64.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 192.168.64.4 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

Finished running tests
+==============================================================================+


casey@uppsala.osss.net:/home/casey/.juniper_networks/network_connect
$ cat version.txt
Version: 1.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cshobe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Not working Reply with quote

cshobe wrote:
What I've found is that the symlinks for libssl and libcrypto *do* make a noticeable difference, as without them, the java GUI says "Connecting to NCSVC", then immediately fails.


Eh no, I was wrong. It just shows the IVE message every now and again, generally the first time I try to connect following a machine restart (umm...).

I've reinstalled my entire system as 32-bit only, and still have the same issues. I am out of ideas. :(
_________________
--
Casey Allen Shobe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cshobe
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Dec 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2007 4:43 pm    Post subject: Solved Reply with quote

Well, I finally figured out my issue. In short, the Juniper software uses hard linking between /tmp and /etc to replace files, and hard links cannot traverse filesystems. If you have both directories on a single partition you should be fine. However since this is closed source software, if you do have multiple filesystems you're pretty much screwed:
http://www.juniperforum.com/index.php/topic,5454.0.html

Also, I made a handy CLI script so that I don't have to use firefox and java anymore:
http://www.juniperforum.com/index.php/topic,5455.0.html
_________________
--
Casey Allen Shobe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
someguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jul 2003
Posts: 433
Location: (-_-) .::OH_WELL::. (-_-)

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

east texas ? dallas i take it ?
same here
_________________
print pack"C*",split/\D+/,`echo "16iII*o\U@{$/=$z;[(pop,pop,unpack"H*",<>
)]}\EsMsKsN0[lN*1lK[d2%Sa2/d0<X+d*lMLa^*lN%0]dsXx++lMlN/dsM0<J]dsJxp"|dc`
while [ 1 ] ; do echo "*" | telnet ip.of.print.er 9100 ; done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbo5112
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Nov 2005
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The company I'm dealing with just upgraded (or somehow changed) their Juniper VPN at the same time I switched to doing my development on my workstation at home. With the old version, I didn't have any trouble setting this up in the office under 32-bit Ubuntu, but now I can't get it to work on 32-bit Ubuntu or 64-bit Gentoo. I'm not sure if it still works at the office. All I get is an error that my platform isn't supported.

So far my experiences with VPN's have been like a kick in the nads. Do they over any advantage over something like ssh, other secure protocols or even remote desktop?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NewBlackDak
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Utah County, UT

PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2008 5:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just made some edits, because it got easier with emul-linux-x86-java package.
_________________
Gentoo systems.
X2 4200+@2.6 - Athy
X2 3600+ - Myth
UltraSparc5 440 - sparcy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colschmi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Jun 2008
Posts: 8
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much! Worked like magic. And, a personal comment, this is my best tuned gentoo install yet. Everything works as it should! Thanks to the forums, and the wiki!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmaes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 69
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is it still working ?

I am trying to connect my gentoo laptop to my work vpn with juniper.
I am able to enter the user name password and it looks like it get connected (i get my company web page) but i dont get the java applet and i cant browse any network ressource.

Thanks,

Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
static_k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 73
Location: NY

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xmaes wrote:
Is it still working ?

I am trying to connect my gentoo laptop to my work vpn with juniper.
I am able to enter the user name password and it looks like it get connected (i get my company web page) but i dont get the java applet and i cant browse any network ressource.

Thanks,

Xavier


It's still working for me. Did you follow all of NewBlackDak's instructions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmaes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 69
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes i did follow the instruction as well as using this script

Can it be that linux client are not allowed to connect ?

When i use FF to loggin before trying to open network connection, i get a web page with "host checker" turning red ( which normaly turn green on my windows PC) the i get the welcome page from my company.

But it doesnt create any extra connection with an ip from my company network.

If i use the script, i cant connect i get an error "failed to connect ive error 10"

Thank you,

Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
static_k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 73
Location: NY

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weird. I don't see that host checker with mine. I have the company login bookmarked. After I enter my credentials a popup window comes up that says it's loading Network Connect from an applet. It's spawns the Network Connect java client and then that popup window closes out.

Did you check popup blocker stuff?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmaes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 69
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Thanks, :-)

Well i never had a popup using juniper. After entering my user name and password i get a window with the following message

Code:
    Loading Components...
    Please wait. This may take several minutes.
       •    
    Host Checker
       
    If an error prevents a component from loading properly, you can click here to continue. Not all functionality may be available.


The black dot is green in windows and red in linux.
After it is loading the component and after normaly i am getting the welcome page.

Anyway i am using firefox in windows as well and i dont have any addon install.

I sent an email to my it support to know if they are supporting linux client for the vpn i will see.

Now i am trying to set it up in ubuntu in virtualbox with the following script http://mad-scientist.us/juniper.html.
Apparently i am able to log on because when i tried in ubuntu and then from gentoo, when i log on in the vpn i got the following

Quote:
There are already other user sessions in progress:

Login IP Address Last Access Time
xxxx 2010-01-07 17:53:36 +0100 CET

Continue will result in termination of the other session. Please select from one of the following options:


but i still cant browse the lan and i dont have any additional IP.

Here is the log for the host checker on my gentoo box

Quote:

HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.948)[ main] HttpNAR: starting
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.949)[ main] HttpNAR: ivehost = XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.949)[ main] HttpNAR: locale = en
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.949)[ main] HttpNAR: home_dir = /home/xavier
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.949)[ main] HttpNAR: user_agent = Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.1.6) Gecko/20091224 Gentoo Firefox/3.5.6
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.950)[ main] HttpNAR: log_level = 2
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.950)[ main] HttpNAR: postRetries = 6
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.950)[ main] HttpNAR: Proxy = null:null
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.951)[ main] HttpNAR: Parameter0 = interval=1440;process_timeout=1440;failurl=;
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.951)[ main] HttpNAR: Running as `xavier', home dir `/home/xavier'
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.951)[ main] HttpNAR: running on Linux
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.954)[ main] HttpNAR: will connect to IVE directly
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.963)[ main] TNCClintNAR: initializing
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.964)[ main] TNCClintNAR: Unable to read /etc/tnc_config
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.966)[ main] IMCModule: loading `Juniper Networks - HC IMC' from classpath.
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.966)[ main] IMCModule: loading `net.juniper.tnc.hostcheckerimc.HostCheckerIMC'
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.971)[ main] HostCheckerIMC: initialized
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.972)[ Thread-0] HandshakeRetryRequestor is started
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:36.983)[ main] HttpNAR: created a socket on port 36278
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:37.005)[ main] HttpNAR: wrote port to /home/xavier/.juniper_networks/narport.txt
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:37.005)[ main] HttpNAR: wait for connection to port 36278
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:38.819)[ main] HttpNAR: read action `start' from /127.0.0.1:34454
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:38.856)[ main] TNCoHTTP: opening connection to XXXXXXXXX
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.598)[ main] TNCoHTTP: sending update...
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.728)[ main] TNCoHTTP: received response code = 200
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.732)[ main] TNCoHTTP: periodic check interval 1440 min.
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.732)[ main] TNCoHTTP: last session status `'
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.738)[ main] HostCheckerIMC: receive message type 361238
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.739)[ main] <PARAM NAME="Parameter0" VALUE="logging=0;cert_md5=;server_url=192.25.19.114;server_time=1262883573">
<param name="parameter1" value="object_number=1; provider=file; ruleid1=0; rulename1=LinuxCheck; file1=/etc/passwd; cksum1=; flag1=1; age1=; minversion1=;needsMonitoring=0; ; policy=pol0">
<param name="parameter2" value="object_number=1; provider=policydata; policy=pol0; rulecount=1; expressionIDs=; conditional=0;" >
<param name="parameter3" value="object_number=1; provider=file; ruleid1=0; rulename1=checkforpasswdfile; file1=/etc/passwd; cksum1=; flag1=1; age1=; minversion1=;needsMonitoring=0; ; policy=pol1">
<param name="parameter4" value="object_number=1; provider=policydata; policy=pol1; rulecount=1; expressionIDs=; conditional=0;" >

HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.744)[ main] HostChecker: read from pipe Parameter0 = logging=0;cert_md5=;server_url=XXXXXX;server_time=1262883573
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.744)[ main] HostChecker: read from pipe parameter1 = object_number=1; provider=file; ruleid1=0; rulename1=LinuxCheck; file1=/etc/passwd; cksum1=; flag1=1; age1=; minversion1=;needsMonitoring=0; ; policy=pol0
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.744)[ main] HostChecker: read from pipe parameter2 = object_number=1; provider=policydata; policy=pol0; rulecount=1; expressionIDs=; conditional=0;
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.745)[ main] HostChecker: read from pipe parameter3 = object_number=1; provider=file; ruleid1=0; rulename1=checkforpasswdfile; file1=/etc/passwd; cksum1=; flag1=1; age1=; minversion1=;needsMonitoring=0; ; policy=pol1
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.745)[ main] HostChecker: read from pipe parameter4 = object_number=1; provider=policydata; policy=pol1; rulecount=1; expressionIDs=; conditional=0;
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.745)[ main] Using default for interval=60
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.745)[ main] Using default for process_timeout=0
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.745)[ main] =====================================================
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.745)[ main] HostChecker: starting
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.746)[ main] HostChecker: ivehost = null
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.746)[ main] HostChecker: locale = null
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.746)[ main] HostChecker: user_agent = null
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.746)[ main] HostChecker: log_level = null
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.746)[ main] HostChecker: Parameter0 = Parameter0
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.746)[ main] HostChecker: running on Linux
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.747)[ main] *** ERROR *** HostChecker: no policy in parameter1
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.749)[ main] Using default for age1=-1
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.749)[ main] Using default for age1=-1
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.750)[ main] -----------------------------------------------------
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.750)[ main] HostChecker: evaluating HC policies
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.750)[ main] HCPolicy: evaluating policy pol0 no expression
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.750)[ main] HCPolicy: evaluating rule 0 LinuxCheck
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.750)[ main] HCPolicy: result of rule 0 LinuxCheck: OK
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.751)[ main] HostChecker: policy pol0: OK
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.751)[ main] HCPolicy: evaluating policy pol1 no expression
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.751)[ main] HCPolicy: evaluating rule 0 checkforpasswdfile
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.751)[ main] HCPolicy: result of rule 0 checkforpasswdfile: OK
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.751)[ main] HostChecker: policy pol1: OK
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.751)[ main] HostChecker: stopped
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.751)[ main] HostCheckerIMC: sending response:
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.752)[ main] TNCoHTTP: sending update =
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.753)[ main] TNCoHTTP: opening connection to https://bbnsslvpn.net.europe.agilent.com/dana-na/hc/tnchcupdate.cgi
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:44.937)[ main] TNCoHTTP: sending update...
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:45.058)[ main] TNCoHTTP: received response DSPREAUTH = ; path=/dana-na/; expires=Fri, 07-Jan-2011 17:59:34 GMT; secure
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:45.059)[ main] TNCoHTTP: received response code = 200
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:45.060)[ main] TNCoHTTP: periodic check interval 1440 min.
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:45.061)[ main] TNCoHTTP: last session status `'
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:45.061)[ main] HostCheckerIMC: connection state changed to 3
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:45.061)[ main] TncHandshake: recevied integrity result: 3
HCUtil:000 (01/07 17:59:45.061)[ main] HttpNAR: wait for connection to port 36278




Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
static_k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 73
Location: NY

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Where did you find that log file? I can post mine and we can check differences.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmaes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 69
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in your home directory

Code:
xavier@desktop ~ $ ls -l .juniper_networks/
total 1488
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users   51276 2010-01-07 17:59 dsHCLauncher_linux1.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users   16038 2010-01-07 17:59 dsHostChecker_linux1.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users       6 2010-01-07 17:59 narport.txt
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users 1235182 2009-09-24 01:00 ncLinuxApp.jar
drwxr-xr-x 2 xavier users    4096 2010-01-07 11:23 network_connect
drwxr-xr-x 3 xavier users    4096 2010-01-07 14:54 tmp
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users  190885 2009-09-24 01:12 tncc.jar
xavier@desktop ~ $ ls -l .juniper_networks/network_connect/
total 2848
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users     118 2010-01-07 14:54 installnc.log
-rwxr--r-- 1 xavier users     721 2010-01-07 14:54 installNC.sh
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users 1571664 2010-01-07 14:54 libncui.so
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users       0 2010-01-07 14:54 missing.info
-rwxr--r-- 1 xavier users   74784 2010-01-07 14:54 ncdiag
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users    4162 2010-01-07 11:23 ncdiag.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users   45404 2010-01-07 14:54 NC.jar
-rws--s--x 1 root   root  1159048 2010-01-07 09:53 ncsvc
-rw-r--r-- 1 root   root      612 2010-01-07 14:52 ncsvc.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users     543 2010-01-07 12:38 ncuijava.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users    8265 2010-01-07 12:38 ncui.log
-rw-r--r-- 1 xavier users      18 2010-01-07 09:53 version.txt
-rwxr--r-- 1 xavier users    1829 2010-01-07 14:54 xlaunchNC.sh
xavier@desktop ~ $


But after reading more in the ubuntu forum, apparently somebody had the same problem and apparently it is due to the host checker.
Host checker check if the host has all the prerequirement for the company policy :
-windows firewall on.
-antivirus etc...

I suppose that the problem is here.

Just one question after connecting to the vpn do you have an extra connection when you run ifconfig ?

Thanks,

Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
static_k
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Oct 2005
Posts: 73
Location: NY

PostPosted: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah I don't have any of those host checker log files. My company must not be doing that. Hope it's not gonna happen.

Anyway, yes I do have an extra connection:
Code:

tun0      Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          inet addr:172.29.3.3  P-t-P:172.29.3.3  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1400  Metric:1
          RX packets:2447 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2457 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:500
          RX bytes:335466 (327.6 KiB)  TX bytes:168994 (165.0 KiB)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xmaes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Aug 2008
Posts: 69
Location: Madrid

PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2010 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

I got an answer from my it department saying that it should work but i am on my own.
Anyway i gave a try in a VM to ubuntu 32 bits and it did work, i have got a tun0 interface with an ip from my company network but i am not able to browse the internet.

So i suppose i have a problem with my java setup in my gentoo box but first i d like to solve my proxy problem.
On the intranet it says that i should configure FF as no proxy.

In windows i had a look and as soon as it connects to the network a new page open that asked me which as me if i want to run a script to change my proxy settings.
When i am done with that i had a look, it changed the proxy settings to "automatic proxy configuration url" that point to a pac file
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proxy_auto-config

In linux the proxy settings are not change automatically.
I tried to transfer the pac file from windows to my linux box and i specified the file in the proxy settings but it doesnt do the trick.
I suppose the host checker is responsible for the configuration....

Anybody has experience in using juniper with a proxy configured through pac files ?
Are they suppose to be platform independent ?

Thanks,

Xavier
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum