Python 2.3 Ebuild + General Ebuilding(:D) Questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
manonthespoon
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 4:48 pm    Post subject: Python 2.3 Ebuild + General Ebuilding(:D) Questions Reply with quote

I'm a huge python fan, and I have been waiting very impatiently the last few days for a Python2.3 Ebuild to become available. I finally got tired of wasting bandwidth with emerge sync.

I'm currently trying to modify or create an ebuild for it myself. As I am very new to portage and writing ebuilds I have a few questions.

First off, for python at least I've been able to get the package, get it compiled, and even begin installing it just by changing the name of the python-2.2.3.ebuild to python-2.3.ebuild. This seemed almost ridiculously easy, but I was suprised when it actually downloaded and successfully compiled python2.3 (Installing has not been successful yet, so I'm assuming I have some actual work to do.)

I'm wondering if this sort of small modifications to ebuilds are reasonable, and if one can actually expect the kind of behavior I'm seeing, or is it only working the way it is because of luck? I assume that it's just a testimony of the flexibility and quality of portage, but I'm curious what more experienced ebuild'ers (packagers?) think.
Pythonhead
Developer
Developer

PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2003 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For most packages, simply renaming the ebuild works. For packages that have greater changes in between releases, such as Gnome, Mozilla etc., you'd be lucky.

I imagine there is going to be quite a bit of testing on Python 2.3 before they put it into portage since it is such a vital package on Gentoo.

You could probably safely install 2.3 manually, if you're careful and put the interpreter in /usr/local/bin and wait for the official portage version.
manonthespoon