Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Bus Errors on multiple programs, python? udev?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jstead1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 427
Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 1:33 am    Post subject: Bus Errors on multiple programs, python? udev? Reply with quote

I am getting bus errors on multiple programs, unfortunately including portage.
# emerge (followed by anything)
results in the following

Code:
# emerge anything
Bus error


firefox gives the following:
Code:
$ firefox
No running windows found
/usr/libexec/mozilla-launcher: line 119:  6360 Bus error               $(type -P aoss) "$mozbin" "$@"
firefox-bin exited with non-zero status (135)


python-updater
Code:
# python-updater
 * Unable to proceed. Can not find PORTDIR. Make sure the command:
 *
 *   portageq portdir
 *
 * returns a value. If it doesn't, make sure you have updated to
 * latest portage version.
 *
 * Report bugs to http://bugs.gentoo.org/


similar for wget
Code:
# wget
Bus error


I tried the portage rescue method here (I had to download the tarball with konqueror since wget doesn't work), it makes no difference
http://www.gentoo.org/proj/en/portage/doc/manually-fixing-portage.xml

On the other hand, X works fine, kdm, konqueror, every kde app I have tried.

The last emerge I did was:
media-libs/libpng
sys-apps/kbd
dev-libs/openssl
media-libs/netpbm
media-sound/amarok

I tried the instructions for the openssl build (revdep-rebuild against the libcrypto.so.0.9.7 and libssl.so.0.9.7 libraries) but it didn't come up with anything to rebuild, and it couldn't have rebuilt it anyway, since portage is broke.

The system may have been powered off, but I ran fsck or xfs_check and xfs_repair on all partitions, and nothing was found or fixed.

Any suggestions?
_________________
jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54208
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jstead1,

Bus errors indicate an attempt to access memory (or a memory mapped device) you don't have.
They often indicate a hardware issue but not always memory or memory controller.
It may be somethng as simple as a clogged heatsink and fan on the CPU.

Its worth running memtest86, which is a boot option from the liveCD.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jstead1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 427
Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finished running memtest86.
No errors.

I didn't really expect any, since every kde app seems to work fine. X works fine.

I know most all python scripts fail or at least indicate bus errors(emerge, dipatch-conf, revdep-rebuild).
GTK apps seem to fail (firefox, gnucash)

The odd one is wget I don't think that has all that many dependencies (can't run any portage tools, except etc-update, so I can't say for sure).
I think wget needs some sort of ssl libraries, and that may be related, but I can't rebuild openssl without portage, and I can't get portage to work.
Even using the ebuild command on packages that are already fetched fails with a bus error.
_________________
jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54208
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jstead1,

Try running python-updater which you should already have.

I'm not yet convinced its not a thermal issue. Running programs and memtest is not as thermally stressful to the CPU as compiling.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 7:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well,he gets the error before anything is being compiled.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jstead1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 427
Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon:
python-updater is broken (it is looking for information from portageq, which doesn't work because it generates a bus error).

As stated by Gerard van Vuuren, I don't get to the point of compiling anything, emerge immediately bombs out with a bus error.

I really don't think it is a thermal issue. The response is the same if the computer is off overnight, or running continuously. The errors are only in certain programs, never in others and are 100% repeatable, and never vary, regardless of thermal conditions.

The error never occurs in kde programs, even with several browser (konqueror) windows, amarok playing music, system information graphs running, un-tarring a big archive, and doing this continuously for hours. The computer is completely stable. Even when I get the bus error on certain programs, it doesn't affect any other program.

But if I boot up the cold computer, into a command prompt, and run wget, I get a bus error.

In addition, knoppix works fine on the computer.

I have untarred python from a repository, untarred portage from a repository, and no change (this is the basic solution to when you have screwed up your portage or python and need to get it back, basic gentoo survival skills). I don't know if there is some part of the ebuilds for either of these that would make changes that would't be performed from the untarring process.
_________________
jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genone
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 9520
Location: beyond the rim

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My first try would be a new (or old) kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jstead1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 427
Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 12:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tried older kernel 2.6.22-gentoo-r2, current kernel rebuilt 2.6.22-gentoo-r5, and newer kernel 2.6.22-gentoo-r8.
The only difference is X wouldn't work with the nvidia driver because I couldn't build it against the new kernel.

All the other errors remain the same.

Edit for more info: I did not experience the error previously with the r2 or r5 kernel, I used them for a while and the error started well after starting the use of the r5 kernel. So in short, the error didn't appear co-incident with a kernel upgrade.

It did appear shortly after an emerge was completed, and shortly after a possible power interruption. I know boot was not mounted even if the computer did suffer a power interruption.
_________________
jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jstead1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 427
Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I couldn't figure this one out.
Eventually, I re-installed.
(I don't back-up my whole system, just my data and certain configuration files.)

That fixed the problem, at least for now.
If it was hardware related, I guess it will come back (although the computer survived about 36 hours of continuous compiling) :-)
If not, I guess I'll never know exactly what happened.
_________________
jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
migmedia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Norden - East Frisia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 11:15 am    Post subject: Bus Error - me too Reply with quote

jstead1 wrote:
I couldn't figure this one out.
Eventually, I re-installed.
(I don't back-up my whole system, just my data and certain configuration files.)

That fixed the problem, at least for now.
If it was hardware related, I guess it will come back (although the computer survived about 36 hours of continuous compiling) :-)

At my laptop the same occured twice. It appared after a misfortuned reboot.
I rebuild my whole system from scratch (stage2)
3 days everything was ok. Now I have the same problem again.
jstead1 wrote:

If not, I guess I'll never know exactly what happened.

It seems to be a accidented merge of some system lib: something like gettext... (just a thought)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jstead1
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 427
Location: Oswego, NY where the snow is deep

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 2:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Bus Error - me too Reply with quote

migmedia wrote:
jstead1 wrote:
I couldn't figure this one out.
Eventually, I re-installed.
(I don't back-up my whole system, just my data and certain configuration files.)

That fixed the problem, at least for now.
If it was hardware related, I guess it will come back (although the computer survived about 36 hours of continuous compiling) :-)

At my laptop the same occured twice. It appared after a misfortuned reboot.
I rebuild my whole system from scratch (stage2)
3 days everything was ok. Now I have the same problem again.
jstead1 wrote:

If not, I guess I'll never know exactly what happened.

It seems to be a accidented merge of some system lib: something like gettext... (just a thought)

Just curious, when you had the bus error problem, did it only affect a limited number of programs (see earlier posts)?
In my case, X, all kde apps and many other things worked. Python based programs (emerge, and most portage tools), and gtk based programs (gnucash, firefox) did not. wget also did not work. If I get some time, I might look to see which libraries are used by the packages that did not work, and not used by the packages that worked. I couln't do this very well when portage and all the portage tools were broken on my machine, but they all work now.
_________________
jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
migmedia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Norden - East Frisia

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:05 pm    Post subject: Re: Bus Error - me too Reply with quote

It's like in your posts above.

in addition:
qbankmanager is affected
sshd is affected
Code:

#> /etc/init.d/sshd start
* Caching service dependencies ...
/etc/init.d/sshd: line 17:  5012 Bus error                 "${SSHD_BINARY}" -t ${myopts}


the 2nd time its occurred after...
Code:

#> emerge kde-meta-3.5.8 -uaDtv
#> etc-config
#> reboot

the system hung and after a little while I hard-reseted the system to restart.

Very strange: curl works, wget does not
Some python scripts work (python-updater, revdep-rebuild (the parts without emerge)) some not (emerge, equery)
Could it be a problem with libssl?
All affected programs deal with encryption/hashs ...

just my 2 cents
_________________
"I never forget a face, but in your case I'll be glad to make an exception."
Groucho Marx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
migmedia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Norden - East Frisia

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 11:04 am    Post subject: Re: Bus Error - solved for me Reply with quote

migmedia wrote:

Could it be a problem with libssl?
All affected programs deal with encryption/hashs ...

That was the right clue. Manually replacing the files in /usr/lib/* from an openssl-binary fixes the situation.
Why hit this error me twice? I guess a coincident problem in my configs and a unlucky reboot.

So it is very unlikely you made the same mistake. But to answer to your symtoms:

Just replace the following files with fresh ones from a pkg openssl-0.9.8*.tbz2 of your arch.
Code:

/usr/lib/libcrypto.a
/usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8
/usr/lib/libssl.a
/usr/lib/libssl.so.0.9.8

then re-emerge openssl
_________________
"I never forget a face, but in your case I'll be glad to make an exception."
Groucho Marx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey guys!

i have a new quitly nice gentoo install crypted on the way like this tutorial discribes:

SECURITY System Encryption DM-Crypt with LUKS

well now, for 3 days i had a very strange problem with Bus errors like you and i can't figure out, why the problem occured...
i disided to check your idea, but i must tell you that this not solved the problem. I can't find any precompiled packages so i downloaded the sourcecodes and compiled it by myself. After the install-procedure the problem is still killing all emerges and other programs with Bus errors.

Also very strange: i tried to boot up my system by hand to copy the files from the livecd. At env-update also the same error occured.

Has anyone some ideas to this UNSOLVED Bus Error problem?

thx a lot

nephron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nephron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

anyone an idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Insanity5902
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1228
Location: Fort Worth, Texas

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2007 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

might of found the problem, ran into the same problems today, tried replacing libssl and libcrypto, but no luck. thought it might be a libexpat thing, but still no.

Ended up putting trace statements into a portage bin that was producing the error (just a lot shorter than the emerge script :D). Anyways, after tracing the error through all the portage includes, it took me back to the core portage 2.4 files, not sure why. The files would import find winside a shell. I am not sure why, python 2.5 isn't stable on yet.

Anyways, I package up python from a similar system (Intel 64 instead of amd 64) and reset the python symlink to python2.5 and that work. I had to mainly package up the python2.5, might of been able to use quickpkg, but i didn't think of it until afterwards.

For reference i grabbed
/usr/bin/python2.5
/usr/include/pythyon2.5/*
/usr/lib64/python2.5/*
/usrlib64/libpython2.5*

tar up those for commands, and copy over to the other box, if you don't have access to antoher box, you might be able to download them from a binhost and extarct them that way. Then symlink python to python2.5

afterthough -- i recompiled python-2.4 relinked the symlink and now everything works ...
_________________
Join the adopt an unanswered post initiative today
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sentenza
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Dec 2002
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 5:22 pm    Post subject: Looks like broken library Reply with quote

Hi,

Ran also into this problem today, and finally discovered that my 32bits version of libgtk was corrupted on disk.
As I'm using XFS and got a powerloss last night, this is not surprising.

If you also experience that problem, try to use strace to identify what goes wrong before crash. This may help you to identify the library that cause these bus error. This may be harder to fix when portage is broken, otherwise try to:

Code:

~ $ strace my_application_generating_buserror
.... Lot of output...
crash!


Look in history, in my case the interesting parts looks like this :

Code:

open("/usr/lib32/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0", O_RDONLY) = 3
read(3, "\177ELF\1\1\1\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\0\3\0\3\0\1\0\0\0\320i\4\0004\0\0\0"..., 512) = 512
fstat64(0x3, 0xffc306f4)                = 0
mmap2(NULL, 3534452, PROT_READ|PROT_EXEC, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_DENYWRITE, 3, 0) = 0xfffffffff6f08000
mmap2(0xf7260000, 24576, PROT_READ|PROT_WRITE, MAP_PRIVATE|MAP_FIXED|MAP_DENYWRITE, 3, 0x358) = 0xfffffffff7260000
--- SIGBUS (Bus error) @ 0 (0) ---
+++ killed by SIGBUS +++


So the last opened library was /usr/lib32/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0. Try then:

Code:

equery belongs /usr/lib32/libgtk-x11-2.0.so
[ Searching for file(s) /usr/lib32/libgtk-x11-2.0.so in *... ]
app-emulation/emul-linux-x86-gtklibs-20071214 (/usr/lib32/libgtk-x11-2.0.so -> libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0.1200.1)


You can now re-emerge the affected package... if portage still works :wink:

Before this you may have to:

Code:

~ $ emerge strace -> provides strace
~ $ emerge gentoolkit -> provides equery


Regarding the xfs tools not finding errors, even if some files are actually broken, this tread may be of interest: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-463713-highlight-.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum