Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
IBM 44P-170 on board sound CS4236B
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 5:30 pm    Post subject: IBM 44P-170 on board sound CS4236B Reply with quote

Is there anyone who knows how to get CS4236B sound working. I didn't see an option for it when I was configuring the kernel. When I had this problem on my PC I just bought a sound blaster card and the problem was solved. That's not really an option with these dinosaurs. I have onboard sound but I need some kind of driver for it and don't know how or where to get it.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 7:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does it show up as when you do an lspci?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's what's shown by lspci -v
Quote:
ibm_left etc # lspci -v
0000:00:0b.0 ISA bridge: Symphony Labs W83C553 (rev 10)
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 0

0000:00:0c.0 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53C896/897 (rev 05)
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 72, IRQ 20
I/O ports at f8fff800 [size=256]
Memory at c0105000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1K]
Memory at c0102000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2

0000:00:0c.1 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53C896/897 (rev 05)
Subsystem: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic LSI53C896/7 PCI to Dual Channel Ultra2 SCSI Multifunction Controller
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 72, IRQ 17
I/O ports at f8fffc00 [size=256]
Memory at c0104000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1K]
Memory at c0100000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=8K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2

0000:00:10.0 Ethernet controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] 79c970 [PCnet32 LANCE] (rev 26)
Flags: bus master, medium devsel, latency 72, IRQ 18
I/O ports at f8fff400 [size=32]
Memory at c0106000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=32]
Expansion ROM at c0000000 [disabled] [size=1M]

0001:40:0b.0 VGA compatible controller: IBM 256-bit Graphics Rasterizer [Fire GL1] (rev 02) (prog-if 00 [VGA])
Subsystem: IBM Unknown device 00b8
Flags: bus master, 66MHz, medium devsel, latency 72, IRQ 45
Memory at ddfa0000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=128K]
Memory at de000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=32M]
Expansion ROM at ddfc0000 [disabled] [size=256K]
Capabilities: [70] Power Management version 1

From what I've seen on the web, it runs off of an ISA bus.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

config SND_CS4236
        tristate "Generic Cirrus Logic CS4236+ driver"
        depends on SND
        select SND_OPL3_LIB
        select SND_MPU401_UART
        select SND_CS4231_LIB
        help
          Say Y to include support for CS4235,CS4236,CS4237B,CS4238B,
          CS4239 chips from Cirrus Logic - Crystal Semiconductors.

          To compile this driver as a module, choose M here: the module
          will be called snd-cs4236.


This driver looks like it'll fit the bill. It's included with the other ISA sound cards in ALSA. Have you tried this one yet?
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is that in the kernel configuration? I didn't see it.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that's from Kernel 2.6.23, I don't know if it's different in other kernels, but that's certainly in there for current kernels. Press "/" to search in menuconfig.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoseJX wrote:
Yes, that's from Kernel 2.6.23, I don't know if it's different in other kernels, but that's certainly in there for current kernels. Press "/" to search in menuconfig.

Well, I found snd_cs4236 with the search, but I can't navigate to it through the tree. I can't figure out what selections to choose to get to the ISA portion of the ALSA kernel options. It's just not showing up. Is there perhaps something I'm failing to choose to enable ISA options in the kernel config? I know I have an ISA bus on the motherboard.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, according to the option, it depends on ISA. ISA will show up in "Bus Options" if you have PPC_PREP or PPC_CHRP enabled in your kernel config (at least that's what menuconfig says). Hope that helps.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 4:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I have the same machine I'm interested in getting the driver, too.

I have tried to find the 'swith', that enables the ISA symbol in "bus options". Unfortunately it depends on PPC_PREP || PPC_CHRP which are not available with a 64bit kernel. Maybe the isa code isn't 64bit clean, or 64bit machines use a newer isa chip, which isn't supported? I don't know..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would think it should be under PCI somewhere as an ISA bridge, since that's what it is. I'll look more closely, but I'm fairly certain it isn't there. Is Symphony Labs W83C553 in the kernel somewhere? I'd check it if I weren't at work right now.

As a side note, I have actually got ffmpeg set up finally to convert .avi to .mpeg. It's just a hair slower at it than my P3 1GHz. This is the main function I had in mind for these machines. Let the workstations do the work without tying up the PC.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

following patch let me compile ISA support and the driver itself.

Code:

--- linux-2.6.23.1/arch/powerpc/Kconfig.orig    2007-11-06 20:22:26.000000000 +0100
+++ linux-2.6.23.1/arch/powerpc/Kconfig 2007-11-04 09:30:29.000000000 +0100
@@ -387,7 +387,7 @@

 config ISA
        bool "Support for ISA-bus hardware"
-       depends on PPC_PREP || PPC_CHRP
+       depends on PPC_PREP || PPC_CHRP || PPC_PSERIES
        select PPC_I8259
        help
          Find out whether you have ISA slots on your motherboard.  ISA is the


I haven't figured out yet, if it works. This is my first ISA card EVER! I seem to have figure out the correct IRQ etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

corsair wrote:
Code:

--- linux-2.6.23.1/arch/powerpc/Kconfig.orig    2007-11-06 20:22:26.000000000 +0100
+++ linux-2.6.23.1/arch/powerpc/Kconfig 2007-11-04 09:30:29.000000000 +0100
@@ -387,7 +387,7 @@

 config ISA
        bool "Support for ISA-bus hardware"
-       depends on PPC_PREP || PPC_CHRP
+       depends on PPC_PREP || PPC_CHRP || PPC_PSERIES
        select PPC_I8259
        help
          Find out whether you have ISA slots on your motherboard.  ISA is the

Forgive my ignorance because I know this must be obvious to some people, but how exactly do you apply this patch? Do I create a file out of it and apply it? How is this done?

I think I remember seeing the IRQ settings for the sound somewhere. I don't know if it was in the service manual, ibm-utils or something else. I guess I'll have to track that down.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

as this is a one line patch just open the file /usr/src/linux/arch/powerpc/Kconfig and go line 387. look for this line:

Code:
depends on PPC_PREP || PPC_CHRP


and replace it with this:

Code:
depends on PPC_PREP || PPC_CHRP || PPC_PSERIES


I'm not sure, if ISA is supposed to work with a 64bit kernel... But I would like to hear that it does! :D

regards,

-corsair

[ you could actually make the above code-block a patch and apply it, but it would be much more hassle to explain ;-) ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The help text in the file specified to use it with RS/6000, so I have no idea why it wasn't included as an option. Would that be a bug?
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does it work for you? If so, then what steps have you done? I'll submit the patch to the kernel list if it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I haven't had much time lately to work on it. I will say I haven't seen any video OF or otherwise since booting the kernel. The only way I know it's booted is the front panel and ssh connection. I bought and installed a GXT4500, so hopefully I'll get video working at some point. I compiled in the GXT4500 module on both machines so when I booted the one I installed it in did automatically load the module.

I installed alsa-oss, but haven't had time to try it. I should probably recompile with cs4236 as a module instead of in the kernel, so I can modprobe it with parameters. I'll do that at the next recompile.

For some reason when I sync, I still only get kernel 2.6.22. Apparently everyone else is getting 2.6.23. Am I syncing at the wrong mirror, or am I perhaps not updating correctly? I follow the handbook example when I upgrade. --newuse --deep etc...

EDIT: I installed dcd as a cd player so I can play cds. I can listen to a cd if I plug in to the headphone jack on the cdrom drive. So, now I have a way to test if the sound card is working without having a gui.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

trigggl wrote:
For some reason when I sync, I still only get kernel 2.6.22. Apparently everyone else is getting 2.6.23. Am I syncing at the wrong mirror, or am I perhaps not updating correctly? I follow the handbook example when I upgrade. --newuse --deep etc...


2.6.23 is still in testing (i.e. the keyword in the ebuild is ~ppc64 not ppc64). You can let portage know that you want 2.6.23.1, even if it's in testing by adding the following line to the file /etc/portage/package.keywords (create it, if it does not exist):

Code:

=sys-kernel/vanilla-sources-2.6.23.1 ~ppc64


or this line, if you are using gentoo-sources instead of vanilla-sources:

Code:

=sys-kernel/gentoo-sources-2.6.23-r1 ~ppc64


(I would say it's save to use 2.6.23, but keep an 2.6.22 kernel around if it breaks ;-) )

trigggl wrote:
EDIT: I installed dcd as a cd player so I can play cds. I can listen to a cd if I plug in to the headphone jack on the cdrom drive. So, now I have a way to test if the sound card is working without having a gui.


very cool!! What have you done? nothing special? it just works? is the driver compiled into the kernel or it's a module loaded with special parameters?

regards,

-corsair
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

corsair wrote:
trigggl wrote:
EDIT: I installed dcd as a cd player so I can play cds. I can listen to a cd if I plug in to the headphone jack on the cdrom drive. So, now I have a way to test if the sound card is working without having a gui.


very cool!! What have you done? nothing special? it just works? is the driver compiled into the kernel or it's a module loaded with special parameters?

regards,

-corsair

Don't get too excited, the headphone jack on the front has nothing to do with the on board sound card. I haven't been able to get the sound card to work yet, but I'm working on it as I have time. I recompiled my kernel to make alsa and cs_4236 modules. I modprobed cs_4236 and a lot of modules got pulled in. I emerged alsa-utils etc..., but I get some very standard errors about needing to unmute the sound card and have not been able to open up the mixer. That's where I've gotten to, so far.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoseJX
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 2774

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure that your user is in the audio group, otherwise you'll get cryptic messages that the mixer device can't be found when using programs like alsamixer.
_________________
Gentoo PPC FAQ: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gentoo-ppc-faq.xml
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 2:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is what I get when I try "alsamixer" as root.

alsamixer: function snd_ctl_open failed for default: No such device
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 3:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the output of lsmod:
Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_pcm_oss            63880  0
snd_mixer_oss          25672  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_oss            57720  0
snd_seq_midi_event     10336  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                86592  4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_cs4236             21652  0
snd_cs4236_lib         23128  1 snd_cs4236
snd_opl3_lib           15584  1 snd_cs4236
snd_hwdep              14768  1 snd_opl3_lib
snd_cs4231_lib         35976  2 snd_cs4236,snd_cs4236_lib
snd_pcm               112560  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_cs4236_lib,snd_cs4231_lib
snd_timer              31680  4 snd_seq,snd_opl3_lib,snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc         13104  2 snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm
snd_mpu401_uart        13208  1 snd_cs4236
snd_rawmidi            35888  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device         11436  4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi
snd                    87528  14 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_cs4236,snd_cs4236_lib, \   snd_opl3_lib,snd_hwdep,snd_cs4231_lib,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore               9816  1 snd

_________________
Greg


Last edited by trigggl on Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:21 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 451
Location: Aachen, Germany

PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

exactly the same here.

I just wonder... how did you figure out that you have an CS4236? I just assumed that I have one, too, because I have also a 44p-170. :lol:

I cannot find a tool which can list ISA devices... pnpdump seems to be x86 only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

corsair wrote:
exactly the same here.

I just wonder... how did you figure out that you have an CS4236? I just assumed that I have one, too, because I have also a 44p-170. :lol:

I cannot find a tool which can list ISA devices... pnpdump seems to be x86 only.

I don't remember where the first place is I found it, but when I did I wrote it down. I either saw it in the OF device listing, listing it using smitty or by using an AIX maintenance cd. I believe it's also in the service manual from IBM.

Your question made me notice something else I wrote down and forgot about. I have these things written down just like this
Code:
Audio-cs4236B
  0x534
  0x220

The alsa settings already had 0x534, so I changed the other value in the alsa module file to 0x220. No sound yet. I may need to experiment with IRQ, dma and isapnp settings.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trigggl
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 26 Aug 2007
Posts: 231
Location: Arkansas

PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I give up. I can't figure out how to get the sound to work. Perhaps if ISA pnp tools were available. I've never had success with an ISA sound card. They're evil. I wonder if there's a way to find out what settings open firmware use. The tune that happens right before boot comes out over the speakers, so I know the sound should work. I looked at the binary of the open firmware settings using a diagnostic cd, but couldn't figure out how to translate it to alsa settings. It is a pnp sound card.
_________________
Greg
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum