Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
gentoo on core 2 duo, what CFLAGS?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
neurolepsia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 8:55 pm    Post subject: gentoo on core 2 duo, what CFLAGS? Reply with quote

Hi. I'm going to install gentoo on a core 2 duo intel T5300 @ 1.73Ghz w/ 1 gb ram (notebook)
So, What do you think about my installation, have I to get install amd64 cd or install x86 cd? and, what cflags do you suggest to me for this install?

thanks

P.S. if you need other infos, ask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoacker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Aug 2007
Posts: 505
Location: Bürstadt, Germany

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:04 pm    Post subject: Re: gentoo on core 2 duo, what CFLAGS? Reply with quote

neurolepsia wrote:
what cflags do you suggest to me for this install?


for cflags see: http://gentoo-wiki.com/Safe_Cflags#Intel_Core_2_Duo.2FQuad_.2F_Xeon_51xx.2F53xx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neurolepsia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't there anythin' that isn't gentoo-wiki? I don't like it and I'm hoping to get some infos from Core 2 duo users ^^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cyrillic
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Feb 2003
Posts: 7313
Location: Groton, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:33 pm    Post subject: Re: gentoo on core 2 duo, what CFLAGS? Reply with quote

neurolepsia wrote:
have I to get install amd64 cd or install x86 cd?

This part is up to you. It depends if you want to end up with a 64bit system or a 32bit system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neurolepsia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess I'll have a 64bit-system. And about CFLAGS? Any suggestions derived from experience (not gentoo-wiki please:P)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 778
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neurolepsia wrote:
I guess I'll have a 64bit-system. And about CFLAGS? Any suggestions derived from experience (not gentoo-wiki please:P)


CFLAGS="-O2 -march=nocona -pipe -ftracer -ftree-vectorize"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"

should be good enough until -march=core2 can be used :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neurolepsia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when -march=core2 will be able? and... another question. During installation, Will have I some problems if I'll use genkernel, or kernel support for 64 is actived by default?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingmarv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neurolepsia wrote:
when -march=core2 will be able?

-march=nocona is available from >=sys-devel/gcc-4.3, if i remember correctly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 778
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neurolepsia wrote:
when -march=core2 will be able? and... another question. During installation, Will have I some problems if I'll use genkernel, or kernel support for 64 is actived by default?


64bit support will be enabled by default, but you might want to make sure you enabled IA32 Emulation if you're planning on running 32bit apps. when gcc-4.3 becomes stable we will be able to benefit from -march=core2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jfp
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 326
Location: Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

neurolepsia wrote:
Isn't there anythin' that isn't gentoo-wiki? I don't like it and I'm hoping to get some infos from Core 2 duo users ^^

Sometimes the Gentoo-wiki's are great - Sometimes they are not so great. The problem for me has always been in determining which class a specific wiki is in.
I don't see this document mentioned. Perhaps it is worth a read. If memory serves, it seems to me that this doc was just recently (couple of months?) updated.
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/gcc-optimization.xml
_________________
jfp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingmarv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ingmarv wrote:
neurolepsia wrote:
when -march=core2 will be able?

-march=core2 is available from >=sys-devel/gcc-4.3, if i remember correctly


EDIT: ehr, core2, not nocona ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubbl07
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 237
Location: New York City

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From http://psykil.livejournal.com/2006/12/03/:
Code:
So, final answer. If you're using GCC 4.1, use -march=prescott for Intel Core Solo/Duo and -march=nocona (and an amd64 profile) for Core 2 Solo/Duo. For GCC 4.2, a Core Solo/Duo should use -march=prescott -mtune=generic, and Core 2 Solo/Duo should be set to -march=nocona -mtune=generic.

gcc-4.3 will add support for the ssse3 instruction set (with the -mssse3 flag, or autoincluded with -march=core2), so this is what I have used, use, and will use:
Code:
gcc-4.1*: "-march=nocona"
gcc-4.2*: "-march=nocona -mtune=generic"
gcc-4.3*: "-march=core2"

I also usually use "-fomit-frame-pointer" (on x86) and "-O2 -pipe" (on x86 and x86_64). It's safe. It works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neurolepsia
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

only other two questions:

1) Can I compile without problems also if my pc is a notebook? Aren't there any problems such as cpu too much hot and related?

2) If I'll use genkernel I'll get a working system with all REQUIRED supports and modules enabled, won't I ?

thanks a lot

bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elv13
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Nov 2005
Posts: 388
Location: Socialist land of North America

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 5:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1)
i had a laptop that compiled svn every night during 3 years and, umm, died, but it was not from overheating, it was just, a bad laptop... But dont worry, cpu will shutdown automatically when it become too hot, it will not break. Laptop CPU are also able to change their clock speed on the fly to cool down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubbl07
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 237
Location: New York City

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

neurolepsia wrote:
only other two questions:

1) Can I compile without problems also if my pc is a notebook? Aren't there any problems such as cpu too much hot and related?

2) If I'll use genkernel I'll get a working system with all REQUIRED supports and modules enabled, won't I ?

thanks a lot

bye

1) Your computer should shut down automatically if your cpu temperature starts getting too high (although that has yet to happen on my C2D MacBook).

2) Never used genkernel, unfortunately =/.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michel7
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 461
Location: localhost

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bubbl07 wrote:
From http://psykil.livejournal.com/2006/12/03/:
Code:
So, final answer. If you're using GCC 4.1, use -march=prescott for Intel Core Solo/Duo and -march=nocona (and an amd64 profile) for Core 2 Solo/Duo. For GCC 4.2, a Core Solo/Duo should use -march=prescott -mtune=generic, and Core 2 Solo/Duo should be set to -march=nocona -mtune=generic.

gcc-4.3 will add support for the ssse3 instruction set (with the -mssse3 flag, or autoincluded with -march=core2), so this is what I have used, use, and will use:
Code:
gcc-4.1*: "-march=nocona"
gcc-4.2*: "-march=nocona -mtune=generic"
gcc-4.3*: "-march=core2"

I also usually use "-fomit-frame-pointer" (on x86) and "-O2 -pipe" (on x86 and x86_64). It's safe. It works.



Nocona is for 64 bit only! For x86 you still have to use prescott with gcc4.2
_________________
Software is like sex. It's better when it's free
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubbl07
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Posts: 237
Location: New York City

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

michel7 wrote:
Nocona is for 64 bit only! For x86 you still have to use prescott with gcc4.2

I mean, I guess so, but the only difference between nocona and prescott is EM64T, and (i686-pc-linux-gnu-)gcc is smart enough to figure out not to compile 64-bit code when compiling 32-bit software even with -march=nocona.

I'm using "-march=nocona" on an EM64T capable P4 on my workstation at work in a gentoo x86 environment and there haven't been any problems in the 11 months I've been using it.

But technically, yes you should use -march=prescott in an x86 environment should you choose to go that route because someone at Intel said so.

As of gcc-4.2, though, running
Code:
ash@ryu ~ $ touch test.c && gcc -v -c test.c -o test -O2 -march=native
to determine what you should be using yields "-march=nocona -mtune=generic" for a Core 2 Duo on x86.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mxc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Mar 2003
Posts: 442
Location: South Africa

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been following this thread but can't get my machine to compile 64 bit. I have a machine that was installed with 32 bit. I have donwloaded the amd64 min iso and booted off of that. I then chroot into my current installation and I am attempting to upgrade by doing a emerge -e world.

I have the following in my make.conf
Quote:

CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=nocona -O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"


The output from less /proc/cpuinfo says
Quote:

vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6300 @ 1.86GHz
stepping : 6


I am using gcc-4.1.2 When I try and compile I get errors like:

"c compiler cannot create executables'
Whats up? How do I upgrade my system?

thanks
_________________
http://www.CyberDesigns.co.za
http://www.Jumpingbean.co.za
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paapaa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 14 Aug 2005
Posts: 955
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think a complete reinstall is the only sane method to upgrade from 32bit to 64bit.
_________________
Paludis, the way packages are meant to be managed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 778
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Fri Aug 10, 2007 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mxc wrote:
I have been following this thread but can't get my machine to compile 64 bit. I have a machine that was installed with 32 bit. I have donwloaded the amd64 min iso and booted off of that. I then chroot into my current installation and I am attempting to upgrade by doing a emerge -e world.

"c compiler cannot create executables'
Whats up? How do I upgrade my system?

thanks


do what Paapaa suggested and that's the only way to go 64bits, you can't compile 64bit code in a 32bit environment, but you can compile 32bit code in a 64bit environment. backup your configuration files and boot from the amd64-livecd and start from scratch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meitnerium
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Feb 2003
Posts: 77

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello :)

I'm very confusing with this post, and information I can found on internet about this computer ...

I have a HP pavilion : dv9330ca : http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/ca/en/ho/WF06b/12139188-78299199-78299212-78299212-78299212-79744836-80255953.html

It's a 64 bit computer, and come with Windows Vista 64 bit. I installed gentoo, using this setting in /etc/make.conf :

Code:

CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=prescott -O2 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
ALSA_CARDS="snd-hda-intel"
LIRC_OPTS="--with-driver=mceusb2"
LIRC_DEVICES="mceusb2"
VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"


So, at the moment, I use the computer in 32 bit ... But the Processor is a pentium one, not the dual core AMD 64. The setting show in http://gentoo-wiki.com/Safe_Cflags is for AMD in 64 bit version, for exemple, for this computer : http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/ca/en/ho/WF06b/12139188-78299199-78299212-78299212-78299212-80632134-81189141.html

My cat /proc/cpuinfo output :

Code:

processor       : 0
vendor_id       : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 6
model           : 15
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU         T5500  @ 1.66GHz
stepping        : 6
cpu MHz         : 1667.000
cache size      : 2048 KB
physical id     : 0
siblings        : 2
core id         : 0
cpu cores       : 2
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug         : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu             : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level     : 10
wp              : yes
flags           : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm constant_tsc pni monitor ds_cpl est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr lahf_lm
bogomips        : 3330.00
clflush size    : 64


Someone can show me the correct configuration for 64 bit compilation?
_________________
Voici la solution : http://www.perdu.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ccastell23
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Location: Santiago

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

64bit support will be enabled by default, but you might want to make sure you enabled IA32 Emulation if you're planning on running 32bit apps. when gcc-4.3 becomes stable we will be able to benefit from -march=core2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neiljw
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 166
Location: Telford, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

meitnerium wrote:
Someone can show me the correct configuration for 64 bit compilation?


To achieve a 64 bit environment, you absolutely HAVE to boot from a 64 bit livecd/install cd AND install a 64 bit stage. (OK, it is possible to convert from 32 bits to 64, I've done it, but it's fraught with problems and you really need to know your Gentoo stuff). Once you have that 64 bit stage file installed, everything should be plain sailing for a full 64 bit install.

I have a laptop with exactly the same processor as you and it's happily running 64 bit Gentoo at this very moment. ;)
_________________
Be lucky,

Neil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum