Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
power button handling with acpid
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mb
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Apr 2002
Posts: 355
Location: Hessen | .de

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 8:26 am    Post subject: power button handling with acpid Reply with quote

hi,

these 2 small scripts will handle the power button and display the kde shutdown dialog (if kde is running) or simply call init 0.

You need:
- Kernel with recent acpi support
- button support (CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y or m)
- acpid

Code:

# /etc/acpid/events/powerbtn
# This is called when the user presses the power button and calls
# /etc/acpid/powerbtn.sh for further processing.

# Optionally you can specify the placeholder %e. It will pass
# through the whole kernel event message to the program you've
# specified.

# We need to react on "button power.*" and "button/power.*" because
# of kernel changes.

event=button[ /]power
action=/etc/acpi/powerbtn.sh


Code:

#!/bin/sh
# /etc/acpi/powerbtn.sh
# Initiates a shutdown when the power putton has been
# pressed.

if ps -Af | grep -q '[k]desktop' && test -f $KDEDIR/bin/dcop
then
    dcop --all-users ksmserver ksmserver logout 1 2 0 && exit 0
else
    /sbin/init 0
fi


remember to chmod 755 powerbtn.sh

note: taken from an unkown source and modified


todo:
- lid open/close -> xset dpms force on/off
- ac-adapter -> dont know
- gnome, other wm support



#mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
870Fragmaster
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 92
Location: Gulfport, Ms

PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

to get this to work for me, in powerbtn.sh, i had to change it to --all-sessions. example bellow:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# /etc/acpi/powerbtn.sh
# Initiates a shutdown when the power putton has been
# pressed.
 
if ps -Af | grep -q '[k]desktop' && test -f $KDEDIR/bin/dcop
then
    dcop --all-sessions ksmserver ksmserver logout 1 2 0 && exit 0
else
    /sbin/init 0
fi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nalin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Location: Long Beach

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2003 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heres an ac adaptor in and out events that ajust monitor brightness and time till dpms kicks in for slight power saving:
Code:

bash-2.05b$ cat /etc/acpi/events/ac_adaptor_in
event=ac_adapter.ACAD.00000080.00000001
action=`/usr/bin/X11/xgamma -d 0:0 -gamma 1.000;/usr/bin/X11/xset -d 0:0 dpms 0 0 300`
bash-2.05b$ cat /etc/acpi/events/ac_adaptor_out
event=ac_adapter.ACAD.00000080.00000000
action=`/usr/bin/X11/xgamma -d 0:0 -gamma 0.666; /usr/bin/X11/xset -d 0:0 dpms 0 0 120`

Im not sure whether the event codes are specific to me, i got em by tailing /var/log/acpid, and i think one needs xhost in their startup scripts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gkmac
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jan 2003
Posts: 333
Location: West Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2003 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you prefer KDE to shut down immediately as opposed to displaying the shutdown dialog, in /etc/acpi/powerbtn.sh change the line...
Code:
dcop --all-users ksmserver ksmserver logout 1 2 0 && exit 0
to
Code:
dcop --all-users ksmserver ksmserver logout 0 2 0 && exit 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ksuther
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 May 2003
Posts: 86
Location: New York

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 1:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great tip, thanks! I was getting tired of accidentally punching the power button and having it force power-off with apm. One thing people might want to remember when tinkering with their powerbtn.sh script is to restart acpid after each change by doing:
/etc/init.d/acpid stop ; /etc/init.d/acpid start

Took me a few minutes to figure out why my changes weren't happening ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
handsomepete
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Apr 2002
Posts: 548
Location: Kansas City, MO

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just replying to bookmark. Ignore me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nalin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Location: Long Beach

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Appended p4 throttling to my apcid ac_adaptor * scripts
Depending on your hardware you may or may not have the ability to do this. I am not sure what kernels support it, I am using the ac-sources because I am told they have excellent acpi support, and I get lockups on boot with acpi and the gentoo sources.

I have all the acpi stuff save that which is machine specific compiled in as well as the cpu-freq stuff specific to my machine. The latter may not be necessary, from its documentation I believe it needs 2.5+ series kernels or something patched with sysfs in order to be used...waiting till next compile to remove it and test without it

If you compile in the acpi stuff reboot and have a /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling file then you can try these

ac_adaptor_in
Code:

event=ac_adapter.ACAD.00000080.00000001
action=/usr/bin/X11/xgamma -d 0:0 -gamma 1.000; /usr/bin/X11/xset -d 0:0 dpms 0 0 300; echo -n 0 > /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling

ac_adaptor_out
Code:

event=ac_adapter.ACAD.00000080.00000000
action=/usr/bin/X11/xgamma -d 0:0 -gamma 0.666; /usr/bin/X11/xset -d 0:0 dpms 0 0 120; echo -n 6 > /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling


There are other /proc/acpi/processor tweaks documented here, this was the only one which did not freeze my machine...the states can be examined by cat'ing the aforementioned file, the %'s are the percent of cpu power loss, thus 0% is full power
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TinheadNed
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Apr 2003
Posts: 339
Location: Farnborough, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2003 9:05 pm    Post subject: Throttling query Reply with quote

Actually as I understand it, throttling isn't power saving, it's the percentage of time NOPs are sent to the CPU in an attempt to reduce power consumption and heat. It's not guaranteed to have any effect. The performance file contains true power management.

Check acpi.sourceforge.net for more information. I can't remember how to embed links off the top of my head
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2003 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi there,

i need a little help and it would be great if somebody knows how to write my problem into a little script cause im absolute noob at that:

what i want:

if ac_adaptor is plugged in, then spicctrl -b 255
if ac_adaptor isnt plugged in, then spicctrl -b 0

this sets the brightness to maximum if the ac adaptor is plugged in and sets the brightness to minimum if ac adaptor isnt plugged in using the utility spicctrl.

is it possible to integrate that somehow into acpid?

Edit
ahh, got it already. just changed the ac_adaptor_in and the ac_adaptor_out files according to my needs. but there is still one question i have: if i boot without ac adapter, i just have to plugin the cable and then unplug it again to change the brightness. isn't it possible that it will change these settings already at boot?
what im trying to say is, that these ac scripts only works after acpid has been started and they don't look immediatly after the state of the ac adapter. they only change something if the state changes.
Edit

thanks and greetz,
hulk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fishhead
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Mar 2003
Posts: 162
Location: Pasadena, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2003 3:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's a script I use when AC is removed. If the batery gets to the warning level, it'll beep three times. If the battery is criticaly low, it will do a shutdown. Perl is required. You might need to do a few modifications to get this to work, and making it more flexable (i.e. reading a config file) would be nice.

The event handler:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl

if ($#ARGV != 3) { die("Too few arguments - " . $#ARGV  .  "\n") }

if ($ARGV[3] eq "00000000")
{
   print "AC removed. Starting battery monitor.\n";
   my $status = fork;
   if ($status eq "undef")
   {
      print "Fork unsucessful!\n";
   }
   elsif ($status == 0) # child
   {
      close STDOUT;
      close STDERR;
      close STDIN;
      open(STDOUT,'>',"/dev/null");
      open(STDERR,'>',"/dev/null");
      open(STDIN,'<',"/dev/null");
      exec("/sbin/powermond");

   }
   else
   {
      print "Fork sucessful. Child pid is " . $status . "\n";
   }
   
}
elsif ($ARGV[3] eq "00000001")
{
   print "AC is back. Killing battery monitor.\n";
   `killall -KILL powermond`;
}

exit(0);


/sbin/powermond:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl

# Battery stuff ... made more readable
%battery = ();
# Ac stuff
%ac_adapter = ();


sub make_list
{
   my $list = $_[0];
   for(my $c = 0; $c < @{$list}; $c++)
   {
      chomp(${$list}[$c]);
      my @tmp = split(/:/,${$list}[$c]);
      ${$list}[$c] = \@tmp;
   }
}


sub make_hash
{

   my $hash = $_[0];
   my $list = $_[1];
   for( my $c = 0; $c < @{$list}; $c++)
   {
      $$$hash{${$list}[$c][0]} = ${$list}[$c][1];
   }
}


sub set_info
{
 my $battery = $_[0];
 my $ac = $_[1];
 #Get needed info ...
 #Adapter pugged in?
 my @ac_state = `cat /proc/acpi/ac_adapter/ACAD/state | sed -e 's/: */:/g'`;
 #Needed info about battery
 my @battery_info = `cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1/info | sed -e 's/: */:/g
                         s/mAh//g
                        s/mA//g
                        s/mV//g'`;
 #Status of battery
 my @battery_state = `cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT1/state | sed -e 's/: */:/g
                           s/mAh//g
                           s/mA//g
                           s/mV//g'`;

 make_list( \@ac_state );
 make_list( \@battery_info );
 make_list( \@battery_state );

 make_hash( \$ac , \@ac_state );
 make_hash( \$battery, \@battery_info );
 make_hash( \$battery, \@battery_state );
}

sub batt_left
{
   my $capacity = $_[0];
   my $rate = $_[1];
   my @list;
   if ($rate == 0)
   {
      $list[0] = 8;
      $list[1] = 0;
      return @list;
   }
   $list[0] = int($capacity / $rate);
   $list[1] = int($capacity * 60 / $rate) % 60;
   return @list;
}

sub do_sleep
{
   my $hours = $_[0];
   my $minutes = $_[1];

   if ($hours >= 1)
   {
      sleep(600);
   }
   elsif ($minutes > 30)
   {
      sleep(300);
   }
   elsif ($minutes > 20)
   {
      sleep(120);
   }
   else
   {
      sleep(10);
   }
   
}

# ac_adapter event on unplug and plug  -  battery events all the time UNLESS
# the power was battery to begin with.
# ac_adapter gives 00000000 on removal and 00000001 on insertion

# vars in each hash
#
# ac_adapter: state
#
# battery: present, design capacity (mAh),last full capacity (mAh), battery technology, design voltage (mV),
# design capacity warning(mAh), design capacity low(mAh), capacity granularity 1(mAh),
# capacity granularity 2(mAh) , model number, serial number, battery type, OEM info,
# present, capacity state, charging state, present rate (mA), remaining capacity (mAh), present voltage (mV)

my $warning = "false";

while(1)
{

   set_info( \%battery , \%ac_adapter );

   # Ok, so we should have been called either at startup or by an ac_adapter event
   # so if an adapter is present, exit
   if ($ac_adapter{"state"} eq "on-line")
   {
      exit(0);
   }
   
   # We're on battery power. Should we warn or shutdown?
   if (($battery{"remaining capacity"} <= $battery{"design capacity warning"}) and ($warning eq "false"))
   {
      $warning = "true";
      `aumix -v90 -p90`;
      `beep -r 3`;
      `aumix -p0`;
   }
   elsif ($battery{"remaining capacity"} <= $battery{"design capacity low"})
   {
      `aumix -v90 -p90`;
      `beep -r 5`;
      `aumix -p0`;
      `shutdown -h now`;
      exit(0);      
   }

   #Ok, we still have time left, let's see how much ...
   @time_left = batt_left( $battery{"remaining capacity"}, $battery{"present rate"} ); # [ h, m] form
   
   #Now we'll sleep based on the time remaining
   do_sleep( @time_left );
   
}



Most of the subroutines could be useful for other things too.....

I the owner is root.root for both and they both have permissions of 700.

If anyone wants to modify this, put stuff in a library, ect. Feel free. I'm eventualy going to post this on my website ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nalin
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 172
Location: Long Beach

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2003 5:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hulk2nd wrote:

what im trying to say is, that these ac scripts only works after acpid has been started and they don't look immediatly after the state of the ac adapter. they only change something if the state changes.

If you write external scripts, you can explicitly call them at boot, though my example kinda sucks here...
With the ac_adapter, lets say your events has an entry that catchs ac_adaptor.* and calls /etc/acpi/script/ac_adaptor.sh

ac_adaptor.sh looks like this
Code:

#!/bin/bash

#test for ac
grep 'on-line' /proc/acpi/ac_adapter/ACAD/state > /dev/null
if [ $? = 0 ]; then
        #ac on vars
        GAMMA=1.000
        DPMS=600
        THROTTLE=0
        FREQ_MIN=66
        FREQ_MAX=100
        FREQ_NAME="performance"
else
        #ac off vars
        GAMMA=.666
        DPMS=240
        THROTTLE=1
        FREQ_MIN=0
        FREQ_MAX=0
        FREQ_NAME="powersave"
fi

#check for X server
ps -A | grep X
if [ $? = 0 ]; then
        #do display stuff
        /usr/bin/X11/xgamma -d 0:0 -gamma $GAMMA
        /usr/bin/X11/xset -d 0:0 dpms 0 0 $DPMS
fi

#check for root (does not work for acpid thus the comments)
#if [ $USER = root ]; then
        #do root  stuff
        echo -n $THROTTLE > /proc/acpi/processor/CPU0/throttling
        echo -n "0%$FREQ_MIN%$FREQ_MAX%$FREQ_NAME" > /proc/cpufreq
#fi


It works fine with acpid but at boot it gets kinda ugly! The problem is that (with my example) you need to call it with a privledged user after x has started, which rules out /etc/conf.d/local.start etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc and .kde/Autostart
One could execute it within local.start and link to it within the Autostart directory and enable all functionality but thats rather unelegant. You could also break up the individual parts in my example into 2 or more files executed at two or more times, but then you have twice as much to maintain when you change anything...in any case im not sure you need x or root stuff so...

TinheadNed wrote:
Actually as I understand it, throttling isn't power saving, it's the percentage of time NOPs are sent to the CPU in an attempt to reduce power consumption and heat. It's not guaranteed to have any effect. The performance file contains true power management.

Check acpi.sourceforge.net for more information. I can't remember how to embed links off the top of my head

Thanks ned, I have problems with the performance entries in that using the 2.4 series ac kernels info says that I have them and the files are there but echoing to them gives me no change and debug messages. With the 2.6 series (tested with and without ac-patch), info lists that I do not have performance capibilities. In any case, I have compiled in the cpu-freq stuff as a viable alternative to the cpu/performance modifications (incedentally, my limit functions correctly only when I set throttling and leave performance unchanged, I think this is related to the performance errors).
For those who are interested in using cpu-freq in 2.4 series, the commands necessary are given above (the kernel docs cover writing only via the sys fs, and if i am correct, the sys fs cannot be compiled into a ac-source kernel), the commands seem to be squeemish about the values, [0-100] and do better with two distinct values, or perhaps it is my bios alone!
I noticed that severely throttling (>3 mabye) and setting cpu-fre q severly degrades proformance compared to setting cpu-freq alone, for instance at 12% and throttle of two (processor running ~400mhz) I get a subtle but noticable slowdown, for 12% and throttle of six I get a pentium 90 16mb of ram (I have one with half the ram and thus I am able to mentally benchmark)!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hulk2nd
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 512
Location: Freiburg, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2003 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@nalin
big thanks for your help, that works great!
if i have time im gonna change it a little bit, but until now it is even cool!

Quote:
and display the kde shutdown dialog (if kde is running)


is it possible to do this with gnome and how do i have to change the powerbtn.sh according to my needs?

big thanks and greetz,
hulk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
water
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jun 2002
Posts: 387
Location: Zierikzee, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2003 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hulk2nd wrote:
@nalin
big thanks for your help, that works great!
if i have time im gonna change it a little bit, but until now it is even cool!

Quote:
and display the kde shutdown dialog (if kde is running)


is it possible to do this with gnome and how do i have to change the powerbtn.sh according to my needs?

big thanks and greetz,
hulk


Almost same question for me. My login manager is gwm, but my desktop is KDE. So if anyone knows how to?
_________________
Groeten uit Holland
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olias2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2003
Posts: 234
Location: CANADA

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks mb. This worked great for me on a nforce2 board. Now I just need to figure out how to get acpid to look at my keyboard power button so I don't have to reach down to my case button. :wink:

Cheers, Olias
_________________
A wise man realizes that he too is a fool and then humbles himself to learn that which is greater than he.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OdinsDream
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 1057

PostPosted: Fri May 21, 2004 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

olias2 wrote:
Thanks mb. This worked great for me on a nforce2 board. Now I just need to figure out how to get acpid to look at my keyboard power button so I don't have to reach down to my case button. :wink:

Cheers, Olias


Have a look at man xbindkeys, it might be just what you need. You can bind a keypress to any command. Included in the man page is information on capturing the keycodes for any key.
_________________
s/(?<!gnu\/)linux(?! kernel)/GNU\/Linux/gi

Don't blame me. I didn't vote for him.

http://john.simplykiwi.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olias2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2003
Posts: 234
Location: CANADA

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2004 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks OdinsDream. I emerged xbindkeys and found out that the kb power button was c:222
Code:
"NoCommand"
    m:0x10 + c:222
    Mod2 + NoSymbol
As a test, I was able to to configure the button to open up kcalc so I know the button works. Problem is that I don't know how to use this to do a shutdown. :(

I then got off on a tangent with XF86Config and did some setup there as well...
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "keyboard"
        Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
        Option "XkbModel" "ACPI Standard"
        Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

I'm feeling kind of divided now. Can you tell me which way to go.

Thanks, Olias
_________________
A wise man realizes that he too is a fool and then humbles himself to learn that which is greater than he.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olias2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2003
Posts: 234
Location: CANADA

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2004 12:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got it. Thanks :lol: I just have c:222 run the /etc/acpi/powerbtn.sh script but I had to change the dcop line to get rid of the shutdown dialog. You guys are awsome.
_________________
A wise man realizes that he too is a fool and then humbles himself to learn that which is greater than he.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OdinsDream
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 1057

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear the solution. It'll come in handy with a laptop I've been working on for my sister.
_________________
s/(?<!gnu\/)linux(?! kernel)/GNU\/Linux/gi

Don't blame me. I didn't vote for him.

http://john.simplykiwi.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olias2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2003
Posts: 234
Location: CANADA

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2004 5:36 am    Post subject: Re: power button handling with acpid Reply with quote

Thanks again mb this worked great for me in KDE. I just recently switched to Gnome/gdm and I was wondering if you would know how to modify your powerbtn script to gracefully shutdown Gnome?

Olias
mb wrote:
hi,

Code:

#!/bin/sh
# /etc/acpi/powerbtn.sh
# Initiates a shutdown when the power putton has been
# pressed.

if ps -Af | grep -q '[k]desktop' && test -f $KDEDIR/bin/dcop
then
    dcop --all-users ksmserver ksmserver logout 1 2 0 && exit 0
else
    /sbin/init 0
fi

#mb

_________________
A wise man realizes that he too is a fool and then humbles himself to learn that which is greater than he.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
olias2
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Aug 2003
Posts: 234
Location: CANADA

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004 7:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

<shameless bump> ... are there any code masters in the house? ;)
_________________
A wise man realizes that he too is a fool and then humbles himself to learn that which is greater than he.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kitrik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll shamelessly bump this one again as well...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kitrik
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Feb 2003
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

found this beauty that I'm testing out right now...

/usr/bin/gnome-session-save --kill --gui
/usr/bin/sleep 5
/sbin/poweroff

if you load those commands up in an event file for the acpid then it should shut the comp down nicely! Can't guarantee that it works yet as I'm building some kernels and stuff - will report back later on it...

Kitrik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dj_rigo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Location: Santiago, Chile

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kitrik wrote:
found this beauty that I'm testing out right now...

/usr/bin/gnome-session-save --kill --gui
/usr/bin/sleep 5
/sbin/poweroff

if you load those commands up in an event file for the acpid then it should shut the comp down nicely! Can't guarantee that it works yet as I'm building some kernels and stuff - will report back later on it...

Kitrik

gnome-session-save doesn't work for me... you must run it as the user that is executing gnome-session...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Remenic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 May 2003
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2004 8:21 pm    Post subject: gnome support Reply with quote

Has anyone managed to figure out a proper solution for GNOME yet? It's quite annoying that GNOME seemingly lacks usability.... :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silentbob
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2003
Posts: 159
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the guide, I hope you don't mind but I've written it up and stuck it on my website. I noticed that there is a slight error in your original post. Instead of "/etc/acpid/events/powerbtn" it should be "/etc/acpi/events/powerbtn" and also with the latest acpi emerge the ebuild creates a default power button shutdown command that needs to be disabled in /etc/acpi/default.sh

HOWTO: http://www.slashdotdash.net/Articles/Linux/Gentoo/PowerManagement/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum