Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Is PS/3 as Flexible as x86? Will it support all Linux apps?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
richardmoss
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 11:27 pm    Post subject: Is PS/3 as Flexible as x86? Will it support all Linux apps? Reply with quote

I've been hesitating for a couple months over buying the PS/3. (Issues about USB printer support & HDMI video output). But there are also substantive concens over software choices

Terrasoft provides list of applications--featured, included, & c. But it's not clear to me whether all Linux apps would run on the Cell processor in PS/3. Should I assume I'd be able to run WINE, even if it's not included in a distribution. Would I be able to run whatever I find on Freshmeat that is "Linux" compliant? And--in the alternative--must I use whatever is in the distribution? For example, could I substitute a lean desktop--XFCE, for gnome?

Apologies for not being able to frame a more precise question, but the gist is: is a PS3 Linux box likely to be as flexible as x86 Intel/AMD desktop?

Many thanks,

Richard Moss
corsair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

short answer: no

The Playstation 3 has a Cell Processor as you already mentioned. This processor is PowerPC based and so you are unable to run *any* x86 binaries (that is: code compiled for Intel/AMD/Via processors). It is not possible to run Windows based games using WINE. There are also some open source applications poorly written or specially written for x86 that cannot be compiled on PowerPC.