View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ozymandias
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2002 2:35 pm    Post subject: nautilus alternative Reply with quote

hi there,

I use Gnome and as a file manager I use Nautilus, but I almost never use a graphical file manager, but when I do, I need it to be workable. Nautilus defenately is not! it crashes and is slow. So, any alternatives? I thought gnome came with an other file manager, searched for it only found gmc, but that one isn't in the ebuilds.

And does anybody know if Gnome 2 is using nautilus ??

greetz Ozy
gschneider
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2002 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gmc is included in mc (midniht commander)
Ozymandias
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Apr 15, 2002 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, hoped that too, but I tried, and it didn't give me a gmc. whell, thanx for the tip anyway, at least now I know I was on the right track, will look into the mc package later on then.

greetz Ozy
Luther

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2002 4:10 am    Post subject: nautilus alternative Reply with quote

In the meantime there are things that you can do to speed up nautilus. Go into Preferences and turn off everything that you don't need; smoother graphics, draw desktop, tabs, thumbnails, previews, etc. You will be suprised how much this can make a difference.
Mile

PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2002 2:56 pm    Post subject: Nautilus alternative Reply with quote

Personally, I find that the file manager gentoo (confusion with the name is accidental, no relation to the distro) is probably the fastest and most configurable file manager I have come across in linux. Not pretty, but damn configurable!
Cyris
n00b
n00b