Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[HOWTO] Get Joost running with wine
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 6:26 pm    Post subject: [HOWTO] Get Joost running with wine Reply with quote

Disclaimer
If you need/want an invite, please don't pollute the current thread, send me a pm and I will send it when I got time...
Or go to https://joost.com/presents/gigaom-newteevee/ to invite yourself :-)

Get a working "Joost" wine:
Official wine 0.9.36 (current) and GIT version seems to be reluctant to run Joost.... (when I wrote this at least) and you will just be able to install it but it won't run...
Thanks to Wine Application DB - a "fork" of wine.git is actually able to run latest Joost (Joost for Friends) at http://repo.or.cz/w/wine/kumbayo.git.

For the sake of saving them bandwidth, I mirror the snapshot I used at http://users.skynet.be/muaddib/gentoo/wine-kumbayo.tar.bz2

Building wine...
You will need to compile this tarball - I decided to not mix it with official wine and so I installed it in /opt/kumbayo...
I know, for some it's not the right place...blah blah... feel free to use what you want...just don't forget to update location for the next steps
Some code to make it clear:
Code:

mkdir kumbayo
cd kumbayo
wget http://users.skynet.be/muaddib/gentoo/wine-kumbayo.tar.bz2
tar jxvf wine-kumbayo.tar.bz2
cd kumbayo
./configure --prefix=/opt/kumbayo
make depend && make
sudo make install


If you use a 64bit system, replace the
Code:

./configure --prefix=/opt/kumbayo

by
Code:

./configure CFLAGS="-march=i686 -O3 -pipe" CXXFLAGS="-march=i686 -O3 -pipe" LDFLAGS="-march=i686 -O3 -pipe" CXX="-march=i686 -O3 -pipe" --prefix=/opt/kumbayo --x-libraries=/usr/lib32/

Thanks to ConsoleQcCa for this trick

Install Joost
You should now have a "special" wine ready
Now, in the same console, let's force the system to use this specific Wine instead of the original one:
Code:

export PATH=/opt/kumbayo/bin/:$PATH

(This will only be needed for the current console....)

Also, since we want to be clean, let's create a special directory for Joost:
Code:

export WINEPREFIX=~/.winejoost
wineprefixcreate


Fire wine config tool
Code:

winecfg

And set default version to "winxp", set the correct setting for audio (note:HDA will need to have sampling rate to 48000) and finally check in Graphics tab "Emulate a virtual desktop" and set the Desktop size to 800x600.

Final steps
Run the JoostSetup (still in the same console):
Code:

wine ~/Desktop/Others/JoostSetup-FriendsEdition.exe


Installation should go pretty well and should even launch Joost...

To keep it easy, here comes a "launch" script for Joost:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
export WINEPREFIX=~/.winejoost
export PATH=/opt/kumbayo/bin:$PATH
cd $WINEPREFIX/drive_c/Program\ Files/Joost/
wine ./xulrunner/tvprunner.exe application.ini


Issue(s)
    Start of Joost is pretty slow and a few glitches for the sound but nothing unbearable :-)

    Joost general problems: Last few days Joost is in a pretty strange state and may give you problems: network issue, cannot loggin, inviting result in errors... I actually got same problems with MacOSX version... so if you got problems, try first to be sure it's not a general one...

    If you get the following error: dsound:DSOUND_MixOne underrun on sound buffer , your system suffers from the following bug: http://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1631 ==> No rock solid solution except to try:
    Code:
    WINEDEBUG=-all nice -n 19 wine  ./xulrunner/tvprunner.exe application.ini
    .... but otherwise it's a dead end... Use your spare time to request Joost a native version instead :)

    Does not run correctly on x64 systems : Using the "special" configure it looks like it works

    If you encounter black screen (no video) and you are running nvidia driver, give a shoot to latest beta


UPDATE: added Joost issue - added buffer underrun issue - Added a link to invite yourself to Joost (untested) - Added special configure from ConsoleQcCa - Added nvidia note.


Last edited by pijalu on Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:47 pm; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon5710
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jul 2004
Posts: 232
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2007 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The special version of wine os compiling as i speak.
I'll see if it works :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aleck79
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, are there any issues know regarding the video not being shown. For me I just seem to have a black screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nothing particular expect a few glitch on the sound when starting Joost and that I always have to enter my name, age and so on...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aleck79
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 6:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

seems the only way to get around the issue with the black screen for me is to use the newest NVIDIA beta drivers which were released April 20th. Works great now.

Regarding running this @ full screen, any progress been made on that, or anyone manage to do it? It gets distorted unless you run it at 800x600 resolution which is a bummer. Hell at least it works though, so i can't be too picky :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javaJake
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2006
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a Dell computer with an an Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device. I've got 768 MB of RAM, so that isn't the issue for sure.

I'll be trying the solution on this thread as well (doubt it'll solve my problem), but on the other Ubuntu thread another user like me is having issues getting by the login screen. Everything freezes up if I mouse over the buttons or click in the text boxes. Essentially, if the GUI changes any. Here's the response to the guy's problem:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=2679782#post2679782
Quote:

ZeroXR:
I know that Joost used to not work with the 915 chipset; that might be causing it, but I thought they fixed it. I can't seem to find the discussion of that, but the problem is that Joost wants to see a minimum of 512mb of ram, and another 32mb of video memory; the intel chipset uses regular ram as video memory, it just reserves some of it. Usually joost just ends in an error if this is the case, but I think the problem was that it didn't do this all the time; unfortunately I think they fixed it using driver access through a DLL, but wine doesn't use windows drivers, it uses the drivers of the host system.

Basically, I'm trying to say that I think it's your graphics card, and I don't know how to fix it.


...and my response...

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=2682850#post2682850
Quote:

OK, I have this same graphics card as well. On a Dell computer. I've got 768 MB of memory.

This fixed DLL... can't we get it and paste it into wine? I've got an installation of Windows if that is what is needed.



Am I right, or am I right? ;)
If someone could help me out, and thereby helping this other fella out, I'd be grateful!

I'm also running Ubuntu, so I don't know if it is out of range for you guys as far as support goes, but I figured it's worth a shot, especially since the Ubuntu guys don't know what to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No clues for this problem since I got a nvidia card...
The "ubuntu" way seems a little bit different - since they patch the CVS... where I use a snapshot of a wine fork (from where the original patches were extracted) :-)

Still, you should be able to use this howto, and give a shoot at a "specific for Joost" wine bottle:
Code:

export WINEPREFIX=~/.winejoost
wineprefixcreate

[otherwise you can run into problems if you start to mix original "windows" dll installed by other programs... Joost should run without any addons]

For your dll, the d3d*.dll should be part of the typical wine directory and should be "copied" by wineprefixcreate

Anyway, it may not help your problem, but you got nothing to loose ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javaJake
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2006
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, same issue. I get a lot of these errors once the freeze starts:

err:dsound:DSOUND_MixOne underrun on sound buffer 0x2d50108

I'll try getting a copy of each DLL wine uses from a fully updated WinXP Pro SP2 computer, and try different DLLs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javaJake
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2006
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, figured out what the problem is exactly, but they have only got bad hacks that solve it right now.

Quote:

<killertux> javaJake: problems is basicly that game takes all CPU away from the sounds... so it's priority problem.


This explains why tvprunner.exe and wineserver use up my CPU. I've tried various audio settings, but none seem to work. If anyone gets stuck with Joost running with this bug, especially after installation, run "killall -KILL tvprunner.exe" - it's the only way you'll get it to close.

For more information, visit these links:
http://appdb.winehq.org/appview.php?iVersionId=7821
http://bugs.winehq.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1631

So, to sum up, this bug is known about already, but cannot be fixed without dramatic patches.

Edit: You might want to post this in the HOWTO so other users know what's going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Humm... I didn't read your problem was the buffer underrun
I got exactly same issue with intel HDA but with the following settings in winecfg i got correct sound:
Code:

driver: ALSA
Hardware Acc: FULL
Default sample rate : 48000
Def bits per sample: 8
and Driver emulation checked


I also have the following option in /etc/modules.d/alsa (modules.conf for ubuntu ??)
Code:

options snd-hda-intel position_fix=1

hda specifc things... but this fix the buffer issue on my system
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javaJake
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2006
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I'll try those settings in a moment.

By the way, how do I unapply patches that I've applied so new versions from git will download correctly? Or does git just overwrite the patches?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not a git guru, but a git checkout will overwrite any local change
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cato`
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2002
Posts: 430
Location: Norway, Trondheim

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works perfect with todays .git :P :D
_________________
Don't mess with the Penguin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
javaJake
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2006
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun May 20, 2007 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

pijalu wrote:
Humm... I didn't read your problem was the buffer underrun
I got exactly same issue with intel HDA but with the following settings in winecfg i got correct sound:
Code:

driver: ALSA
Hardware Acc: FULL
Default sample rate : 48000
Def bits per sample: 8
and Driver emulation checked


I also have the following option in /etc/modules.d/alsa (modules.conf for ubuntu ??)
Code:

options snd-hda-intel position_fix=1

hda specifc things... but this fix the buffer issue on my system


OK, that didn't work. Sorry. I'll just have to wait until wine improves or Windows goes open-source. ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

javaJake wrote:

OK, that didn't work. Sorry. I'll just have to wait until wine improves or Windows goes open-source. ;)


Hum... first report of this bug seems to date back to 2003... So possibly it will be fixed after Windows goes open-source... or at least after Duke Nukem forever goes platinium...
I am afraid you will have to wait for Joost to propose a linux client...

JavaJake wrote:

Edit: You might want to post this in the HOWTO so other users know what's going on.

Done
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bienchen
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 11:49 am    Post subject: avoid to type in your account data on starting joost Reply with quote

Hi,

I just installed Joost and read here, that some people have to fill in their connect data on each start of the program.
What me saved from this is the following setting:

Go to "My Joost" on the right side of the screen.
Open the "Widget Menu" (down left).
Go to "advanced settings".
Unmark the topmost setting: When exiting Joost: Leave on standby"

Voila!
Nextime you start joost it should automatically connect.

greetings,

bienchen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mkzelda
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Aug 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've tried the installer and I get the same results with either wine or the kumbayo fork. After I agree to the license and click next, the installer crashes when unpackaging once the progress bar reaches 100%.

This is all the debugging info I get.
Code:

fixme:d3d:IWineD3DDeviceImpl_GetAvailableTextureMem (0x180fa8) : stub, simulating 64MB for now, returning 64MB left
err:menubuilder:InvokeShellLinker failed to fork and exec wineshelllink
err:menubuilder:InvokeShellLinker failed to fork and exec wineshelllink
fixme:wininet:INET_QueryOptionHelper INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECTED_STATE: semi-stub
fixme:wininet:InternetSetOptionW Option INTERNET_OPTION_CONNECT_TIMEOUT (3000): STUB
fixme:actctx:CreateActCtxW 0x34f7d4 00000088
fixme:actctx:ActivateActCtx 0xf00baa 0x34fe64
fixme:actctx:DeactivateActCtx 00000000 00f00bad
fixme:actctx:ReleaseActCtx 0xf00baa
fixme:actctx:CreateActCtxW 0x34f7d4 00000088
fixme:actctx:ReleaseActCtx 0xf00baa
wine: Unhandled page fault on execute access to 0x00358be7 at address 0x358be7 (thread 001c), starting debugger...
err:seh:raise_exception Unhandled exception code c0000005 flags 0 addr 0x358be7
fixme:ddraw:IDirectDrawImpl_SetCooperativeLevel (0x17e9e0)->((nil),00000008)
fixme:d3d:IWineD3DStateBlockImpl_Release Releasing primary stateblock
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anton_kg
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Feb 2007
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

any luck with 0.9.37? It should be possible because it was working with git before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no luck with 0.9.37 nor 0.9.38.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dr_nailz
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jul 2005
Posts: 43
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get a VC++ window with the error:
Code:
R6031
- Attempt to initialize the CRT more than once.
This indicates a bug in your application

This happens both when ticking the box to run the application after install, and when running:
Code:
wine xulrunner/tvprunner.exe application.ini
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pijalu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Oct 2004
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dr_nailz wrote:
I get a VC++ window with the error:
Code:
R6031
- Attempt to initialize the CRT more than once.
This indicates a bug in your application

This happens both when ticking the box to run the application after install, and when running:
Code:
wine xulrunner/tvprunner.exe application.ini


I think you are using the "original" wine since I got same issue with it...
maybe give a shoot to the tarball I upped :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RollsAppleTree
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Feb 2005
Posts: 340
Location: Sicilia - Catania

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this error:
Code:
wine ./xulrunner/tvprunner.exe application.ini
wine: Unhandled page fault on execute access to 0x00348997 at address 0x348997 (thread 0009), starting debugger...
err:seh:raise_exception Unhandled exception code c0000005 flags 0 addr 0x348997

...
some help?
_________________
RollsAppleTree BLOG !!!
Documentazione in Italiano su Gentoo
F.A.Q. in Italiano su Gentoo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aVirulence
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2006
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RollsAppleTree wrote:
I have this error:
Code:
wine ./xulrunner/tvprunner.exe application.ini
wine: Unhandled page fault on execute access to 0x00348997 at address 0x348997 (thread 0009), starting debugger...
err:seh:raise_exception Unhandled exception code c0000005 flags 0 addr 0x348997

...
some help?


I'm getting the same error message.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elleni
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 1268

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, great howto !

Tried normal wine installation first, and as it did not start joost I went through your howto, and now it works fine !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PARENA
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2003
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2007 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guess I'm not the only one:

Code:
$ wine ./xulrunner/tvprunner.exe application.ini
wine: Unhandled page fault on execute access to 0x00358be7 at address 0x358be7 (thread 0009), starting debugger...
err:seh:raise_exception Unhandled exception code c0000005 flags 0 addr 0x358be7

_________________
AMD64 X2 3800+ | ASUS M2N-E | 3G Kingston DDR2 | 1T Maxtor SATA | 250G Maxtor IDE | 250G Maxtor SATA | ASUS EN7800GT silent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum