Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Will you ever use the Gentoo Installer?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Will you ever use any type of installer?
No
78%
 78%  [ 190 ]
Yes
21%
 21%  [ 51 ]
Total Votes : 241

richard.scott
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 6:23 am    Post subject: Will you ever use the Gentoo Installer? Reply with quote

Hi,

I've been using Gentoo now for over 4 years and I have to say I love it.

Yes it has its little quirks just like any other OS does, but it still rocks!

I've been reading this thread, and feel that the resources of the developers would be better spent on the basics of Gentoo rather than any type of Installer.

Don't get me wrong, the installer is a nice idea, but not at the expense of doing things by hand!

It seems that Gentoo are taking away our choice of how we install Gentoo and forcing us to use an installer.
heavenscent
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2007 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I first installed gentoo 1.2 in early 2002 via command line which hooked me on Linux and in particular Gentoo. I had never known such a thing. I was actually completely in control of what went on my computer. I agree with the author of this poll in that the command line install made gentoo unique. It actually taught me things where as looking dumbly at a largely automatic pretty gui teaches nothing. Keep Gentoo unique! It is not a mainstream distro and shouldn't be. Of course we should have the choice of install methods but I believe the focus should remain on the command line.

Perhaps we could ask for drobbins' opinion. I for one would love to hear his thoughts on the matter. Why he defected would also be good reading. Hey Daniel, if you're reading this how about your thoughts?
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva