Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
"emerge gnome" fails on x11-libs/gtk+
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
uagolfer05
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 10:27 pm    Post subject: "emerge gnome" fails on x11-libs/gtk+ Reply with quote

Trying to emerge gnome to my computer after a successful "emerge system". However it stops on "x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.11". the error message is:

Please re-emerge x11-libs/cairo with the X USE flag set
!!! cairo needs the X flag set.

I couldn't find a solution on the forums for my particular situation. I do have " X " under my use flags in the /etc/make.conf file.
Assistance would be appreciative. thank you
_________________
In college there are three different paths to take; academics, social life, sleep. The downside is, you can only pick two.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lasneyx Iliah
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jul 2006
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Post the output of emerge --info, emerge -pv cairo, a few more lines from the failure with emerging gtk+ ... and finally the content of your /etc/portage/package.use if it exists at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uagolfer05
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 May 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Tucson, AZ

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i figured it out. i added the X use flag to the package.use file. thank you though
_________________
In college there are three different paths to take; academics, social life, sleep. The downside is, you can only pick two.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hemansan
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 May 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 4:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am facing the same problem.
But in my case package.use is a directory.
What shall I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genestyler
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Dec 2003
Posts: 155
Location: CHATEAUDUN, Eure et loir

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2007 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nano /etc/portage/package.use/file

replace "file" with the name you would like

then in the file put :

Code:

x11-libs/gtk+-2.10.11 X


it have to work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
desultory
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 8290

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Portage & Programming to Duplicate Threads, refer to topic "Please re-emerge [solved]".

As noted in the handbook USE flags specified via environment variables are not retained as persistent settings so, aside from when a given USE flag setting is itself transient in nature, use one of the persistent USE flag setting methods (/etc/make.conf, /etc/portage/package.use). Also, note that USE flags are case sensitive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Duplicate Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum