Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
"Netmount" can't get the network to start at all -
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
linear
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Sat Jul 29, 2006 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RedSamurai wrote:
Ok I just installed Gentoo with GNOME and my nic is not working i do have an eth0 so i tryed the cd /usr/src/linux there is nothing there i tryed it in the termanal and i tryed going there manually theres nothing in src i also tryed going to make menuconfig and it said there was not command for menuconfig can someone help me get internet working?


If there is nothing in your system's /usr/src (e.g. no "linux" or "linux-2.6.16-gentoo-r6" or anything like that), then you probably have a genkernel installation. In other words, what you installed was a pre-compiled generic kernel, so you don't have any of the kernel source code.

What you need to do is boot to the CD, and from the command line, do:
Code:
$ net-setup eth0

and get your network interface running... then, to make sure it is running and you have connectivity, do:
Code:
$ ping www.yahoo.com

and if you don't get any response, let us know what it *does* say.

If you *do* get the packets back, do:
Code:
$ lspci

and then do
Code:
$ lsmod

and post the results up here so we can see what kind of network interface you have and what driver it uses. Then we can help you get it running in your regular installation.


/bk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shabutie
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jul 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 30, 2006 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I've been having the same problems as everyone else, but I do have some unique questions. After much tinkering I was able to load the correct module to get eth0 up and running on start up. BUT then it gave a conficting IP to my laptop (which is on the wireless network). Great.... so this might be a problem later on. If anyone knows anything about how to remedy this, that would be appreciated.

So I got to thinking and took out my wireless card and booted up the live cd. This time when i did ifconfig, it showed up as eth1. whats up with that? so I thought, there was my problem and proceded to boot back off the hd so that it loaded eth1 instead of eth0. But, when i rebooted, everything workd. ifconfig came up and eth0 was there, and recieving packets... ping confimed this. So now that I've actually got a working connection, I decided to start emerging things. But when all is said and done I'm pretty sure I'm going to have problems when I insert my wireless card back in. Anyone got a suggestion??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
linear
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2006 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Shabutie wrote:
So I got to thinking and took out my wireless card and booted up the live cd. This time when i did ifconfig, it showed up as eth1. whats up with that? so I thought, there was my problem and proceded to boot back off the hd so that it loaded eth1 instead of eth0. But, when i rebooted, everything workd. ifconfig came up and eth0 was there, and recieving packets... ping confimed this. So now that I've actually got a working connection, I decided to start emerging things. But when all is said and done I'm pretty sure I'm going to have problems when I insert my wireless card back in. Anyone got a suggestion??


Well, are you using dhcp or static IP addresses and, have you taken a look at what /etc/conf.d/net.example says about configuring for wireless network interfaces?

HTH.


/bk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codyzapp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Location: Cypress, Texas

PostPosted: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:53 pm    Post subject: netmount fix Reply with quote

I just :
Code:
rc-update del netmount default boot

that got rid of the error all together but maybe yall have to use it. I had no use for it.

Quote:
Microsoft Has Windows, Linux Has The Whole House!

codyzapp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
codyzapp
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Location: Cypress, Texas

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 1:12 am    Post subject: meh :( Reply with quote

ok that only masked the issue :( when i try /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start it just hangs there :-(.
i reported a bug!
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=148751
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paaghi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Dec 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:08 pm    Post subject: Pooya Afaghi Reply with quote

thanks linear
_________________
Pooya Afaghi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G2k
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Mar 2004
Posts: 672
Location: Rome, Italy

PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

guys I just did a full stage3 install from the liveCD through the GTK installer. It all went smoothly and I was really surprised as to how easy it was. However, although I am able to get a network connection when in the livecd, I am not getting access to the net once booted into linux and after starting /etc/init.d/net.eth0. It seems that I get an IP address, but then if I try to emerge something or ping a website it's as if I have no internet connection. Any suggestions?
_________________
Animula vagula blandula,
Hospes comesque corporis,
Quae nunc abibis in loca
Pallidula rigida nudula,
Nec ut soles dabis iocos...
- Imp. Caesar Hadrianus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GrepingGrok
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I have a the same prob as everybody else. I've read somewhere that netmount was not needed so I disabled that (so that I have 1 problem instead of 2 :) ). I looked at lsmod and lspci on the livecd and found the modules thats needed. So I compiled them into the kernel with no luck, then I tried compiling them as modules and putting them in /etc/modules.autoload.d/* still no luck. I then tried to modprobe them and it says something about modules being in incorrect format (working from memory here as I'm on my brothers pc which is in a different building). So I then try to copy the modules from the livecd (been thinking about this for sometime now but haven't been able to do this as I have no way of searching on the livecd ) and boot again no luck tried modprobe again but it gave me the same problem about being in an incorrect format.

So my question is this how can it be in an incorrect format I'm pretty sure that if thats fixed that I'll have my net up unless there's some thing that I'm missing or that I don't know. Thanx


PS Please excuse my writing English isn't my native language and I'm a rather bad writer, so if theres something thats not understood please ask and I'll try to clear it up. Also on a totally unrelated topic where can I find out how to use find, not being able to search is driving my crazy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blackmail
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Location: Troy, TURKEY

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
i had the same problem when i had installed gentoo from GTK+. i couldn't get an ip address. then i wrote

Code:
lsmod

on terminal and i couldn't see my ethernet module (8139too). because of cannot loading 8139too at startup, i couldn't have an ip.
i solved my problem like this.

1- open your computer with minimal cd
2-
Code:
mount /dev/hda?  /mnt/gentoo/

3-
Code:
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash

4-
Code:
cd /etc/modules.autoload.d/

5-
Code:
nano kernel-2.6

6- add
Quote:
8139too
in this file
7-
Code:
modules-update

8- restart your computer normally. you will see that is loading 8139too module at screen. then you will really get an ip.

i hope i could explain what i did.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reddeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ARGH!!!!
3 days at this now
Tried so hard to read through everyones post for a solution, but just going round in circles
I used genkernel, but have also gone through the
Code:
# make menuconfig
and followed instructions and copied screen shot
Also tried the above post editing /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel 2.6 but still fails to load requested modules

So when i boot into gentoo,everything seems good,then the following:

Code:
using /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 as config:
Loading module natsemi
Loading module 8139too
failed to load 8139too
Loading module mii
failed to load mii
Loading tulip
Autoloaded 2 module(s)
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
starting eth0
configuration not set for eth0 - assumind dhcp
bringing up eth0
dhcp
network interface eth0 does not exist
please verify hardware or kernel module (driver)
ERROR: problem starting needed service net.eth0
netmount was not started




My LSMOD
Code:
#lsmod

rtc
tulip
natsemi
tg3
e1000
nfs
lockd
sunrpc
jfs
raid10
raid1
raid0
dm_mirror
dm_mod
sbp2
ohci1394
ieee1394
sll811_hcd
usbhid
ohci_hcd
uhci_hcd
usb_storage
ehci_hcd
usbcore


My LSPCI

Code:
#lspci
.
.
.
.
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: realtek semiconductor Co. , Ltd RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev10)



Code:
# rc-update add net.eth0 default
net.eth0 already installed in runlevel `default` ; skipping


Code:
#ifconfig -a

No eth0 displayed

Also emerged dhcp and baselayout


Any ideas ?
What other info can i provide

Cheers for your time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2416
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reddeath: there are (IMHO) three reasons for "network interface eth0 does not exist".

The first, that eth1394 has taken eth0 doesn't appear to be the case as your lsmod shows no sign of it.

The second, "missing driver" is possible; the third to do with /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules doesn't seem likely.

You certainly seem to have a fine array of Ethernet drivers tulip, natsemi, tg3, e1000 but 8139too is missing — may be needed, may not: we'll see.

Please post the output of
Code:
ifconfig -a
lspci

_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reddeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
#ifconfig -a
lo  Linkencap:Local loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0b)




how much details of lspci do you need,its alot to type :D
[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2416
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reddeath wrote:
Code:
#ifconfig -a
lo  Linkencap:Local loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0b)
Thanks

reddeath wrote:
how much details of lspci do you need,its alot to type :D
Oops, sorry, didn't think. Didn't even look. :oops:

You've already typed out
Code:
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: realtek semiconductor Co. , Ltd RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev10)
and I missed it.

It's the missing 8139too driver that's the problem. You need to enable it in the kernel config
Code:
-> Device Drivers
  -> Network device support
    -> Network device support
      -> Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)
        -> EISA, VLB, PCI and on board controllers
<M> RealTek RTL-8129/8130/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support
should be the right one.

There is also
Code:
<M> RealTek RTL-8139 C+ PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support
but this driver, 8139cp, is apparently only for rev > 0x20 and the rev you have is 10.
_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reddeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just checked and i already have in the kernel

<*> RealTek RTL-8129/8130/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support
<M> RealTek RTL-8139 C+ PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support

do the both need to be modules?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2416
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reddeath wrote:
just checked and i already have in the kernel

<*> RealTek RTL-8129/8130/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support
<M> RealTek RTL-8139 C+ PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter support

do the both need to be modules?
No, you're probably better off like that as the 8139cp doesn't interfere — 8139too will be used by the kernel for the controller.

But why isn't it setting up eth0? The driver is in the kernel, you have typed out all the contents of "ifconfig -a" and only lo shows up. The only thing I can think of is that the kernel you are running isn't the one that the .config belongs to.

Can you check (you don't need to type it out, just report) whether there is any mention of "eth0" in dmesg
Code:
grep 'eth[0-9]' /var/log/dmesg
you can expect something like
Code:
eth0: RTL8169s/8110s at 0xf880c000, 00:50:8d:ed:9f:96, IRQ 16
and whether you have it configured into the running kernel
Code:
zgrep 8139 /proc/config.gz
you should get
Code:
CONFIG_8139TOO=y
CONFIG_8139CP=m

_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reddeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well unfotunatly they are now both modules,recompiled before read your reply (it was 4:30am)

Code:
grep 'eth[0-9]' /var/log/dmesg


answer depending on quote directions is nothing or

Code:
-bash: eth[0-9]: command not found


AND

Code:
zgrep 8139 /proc/config.gz


reports

Code:
 
CONFIG_8139CP=m
CONFIG_8139TOO=m
#CONFIG 8139TOO_PIO is not set
CONFIG_8139TOO_TUNE_TWISTER=y
CONFIG_8139TOO_8129=y
#CONFIG_8139_OLD_RX_RESET is not set



lsmod not reporting 8139too

Code:
rtc
tg3
e1000
nfs
lockd
sunrpc
jfs
raid10
raid1
raid0
dm_mirror
dm_mod
sbp2
ohci1394
ieee1394
sll811_hcd
usbhid
ohci_hcd
uhci_hcd
usb_storage
ehci_hcd
usbcore



and still only lo after IFCONFIG
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2416
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

reddeath wrote:
Well unfotunatly they are now both modules,recompiled before read your reply (it was 4:30am)
Code:
grep 'eth[0-9]' /var/log/dmesg
answer depending on quote directions is nothing or
Code:
-bash: eth[0-9]: command not found
Sorry, I should have thought to put
Code:
grep "eth[0-9]" /var/log/dmesg
then it would have been obvious. Sometimes there are things in the regexp which, in quotes, bash tries to interpret, so I have fallen into the habit of using single quotes.
reddeath wrote:
Code:
zgrep 8139 /proc/config.gz
reports
Code:
CONFIG_8139CP=m
CONFIG_8139TOO=m
#CONFIG 8139TOO_PIO is not set
CONFIG_8139TOO_TUNE_TWISTER=y
CONFIG_8139TOO_8129=y
#CONFIG_8139_OLD_RX_RESET is not set
That's encouraging, though lsmod not reporting it and nothing in dmesg is a blow.

However, please try
Code:
modprobe -vv 8139too
and see if eth0 (or any other ethN) turns up in "ifconfig -a".

Do you have "Automatic kernel module loading" enabled in your kernel?
Code:
zgrep CONFIG_KMOD /proc/config.gz
If you haven't then that might explain the lack of any "eth[0-9]" in dmesg.
_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reddeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After
Code:
modprobe -vv 8139too


got the following
Code:

insmod/lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/kernel/drivers/net/8139too.ko
FATAL : Error inserting 8139too (/lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/kernel/drivers/net/8139too.ko) : Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)



So i then
Code:
dmesg


Code:

EXT3 FS on hda8, internal journal
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_ethtool_sset
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_link_ok
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_check_media
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_nway_restart
8139too: Unknown symbol generic_mii_ioctl
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_ethtool_gset
Adding 987956k on swap on /dev/hda7. Priority:-1 extents:1 across:987956k
Real Time Clock Driver v1.12ac
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_ethtool_sset
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_link_ok
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_check_media
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_nway_restart
8139too: Unknown symbol generic_mii_ioctl
8139too: Unknown symbol mii_ethtool_gset


Guessing this is the important bit.

And also with
Code:

zgrep CONFIG_KMOD /proc/config.gz
CONFIG_MOD=y



and still nothing with eth[0-9]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2416
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At last we're getting to the core of the problem, it looks as though you need
Code:
    -> Device Drivers
      -> Network device support
        -> Network device support
          -> Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)
            -> Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)
<*>   Generic Media Independent Interface device support (NEW)
As 8139too is a module, this could be a module too, if you like.

You can check that you haven't got it yet by the old, familiar
Code:
zgrep CONFIG_MII /proc/config.gz

_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reddeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
 
zgrep CONFIG_MII /proc/config.gz



seems its already there

Code:
CONFIG_MII=m



in menuconfig

Code:
<*>   Generic Media Independent Interface device support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2416
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2007 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's hard to understand, modprobe is supposed to pick up any other modules with symbols required by 8139too.

So it casts doubt on /lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/modules.dep which should have all the dependencies.

Could you check this file
Code:
$ grep 8139 /lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/modules.dep
/lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/kernel/drivers/net/8139too.ko: /lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/kernel/drivers/net/mii.ko
with 8139too and mii as modules, the second line is what appears here.

If it doesn't, could you run
Code:
depmod -a
and see if it changes?
_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reddeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
$ grep 8139 /lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/modules.dep

/lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/kernel/drivers/net/8139too.ko:
/lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/kernel/drivers/net/8139cp.ko


no mention of mii

and no change after

Code:

depmod -a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2416
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Beginning to run out of suggestions here :(

Could you look and see if the module you have configured into your kernel, mii.ko, is, in fact, there?
Code:
ls -l /lib/modules/2.6.20-gentoo-r7/kernel/drivers/net/mii.ko
If it isn't, and, as running depmod hasn't made it appear, did you run "make modules_install" after the last kernel compilation?

Perhaps, to cut the Gordian knot, you can save your .config and run "make clean" in /usr/src/linux-2.6.20-gentoo-r7 and then recompile with
Code:
make && make modules_install
and reinstall your kernel after that.

Rationale: just running "make && make modules_install" without removing the old compilation can sometimes leave things out.

You can check the kernel source for mii.ko
Code:
ls -l /usr/src/linux-2.6.20-gentoo-r7/drivers/net/mii.*

_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reddeath
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

After last menuconfig i did i
Code:
cp .config config
make mrproper
cp config .config
make oldconfig
make
mount /boot
make install && make modules_install



So i have now

Quote:
Perhaps, to cut the Gordian knot, you can save your .config and run "make clean" in /usr/src/linux-2.6.20-gentoo-r7 and then recompile withCode:
make && make modules_install
and reinstall your kernel after that.



apart from the reinstall part

been several years since i used linux and just starting to get the hang of it again, but do you meen back to the emerge gentoo-sources and genkernel part again ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wynn
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Apr 2005
Posts: 2416
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

reddeath wrote:
Quote:
Perhaps, to cut the Gordian knot, you can save your .config and run "make clean" in /usr/src/linux-2.6.20-gentoo-r7 and then recompile with
Code:
make && make modules_install
and reinstall your kernel after that.
apart from the reinstall part
been several years since i used linux and just starting to get the hang of it again, but do you meen back to the emerge gentoo-sources and genkernel part again ?
No, no, just reinstalling the kernel which has been done by "make install".

But could you check that the kernel you are booting, the one with the same name as you have on your "kernel" line in grub.conf, is the one you have just compiled. The timestamp on /usr/src/linux-2.6.20-gentoo-r7/arch/i386/boot/bzImage should be close to that of the file in /boot with the name on the "kernel" line in grub.conf.

I'm not quite sure how "make install" works, it seems to call /sbin/installkernel which copies the .config, System.map and bzImage to /boot but appears to call the image "vmlinuz" with a symlink to vmlinuz-2.6.20-gentoo-r7.

It also appears to call /usr/sbin/mkboot which modifies grub.conf and, if I have read it right, adds another boot group and may need the "default=" line changing to get the just-installed kernel to be the one booted by default.

So you could also check grub.conf to see that the kernel you have just compiled is the one booted by default.
_________________
The avatar is jorma, a "duck" from "Elephants Dream": the film and all the production materials have been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License, see orange.blender.org for details.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum