56K Modem Installation Questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
neoslimdog
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 6:09 am    Post subject: 56K Modem Installation Questions Reply with quote

Hello, I have been using Linux for over 3 months now. I first tried SuSE, then I tried Mandrake, then I tried Lycoris, but now I am using Redhat, which runs the fastest on my system so far. I need to ask some questions.

I've got a 56K Modem. It is pretty much stable, and I have downloaded complete iso's without corruption. I wish to try out Gentoo some time or another. Which CD should I choose? If I choose the more 'complete' CD, it means I can download it in many sessions, and it means less pressure on my ISP (I'm in New Zealand). But the main thing I want is speed, speed, and more speed. So, does getting the 'pre-compiled' version make my system significantly slower than the one with just 16 MB in which I compile everything myself? Also, how fast IS Gentoo? I have a Pentium II with 320MB of RAM, and SuSE was SOOO sluggish, and even Mandrake was to slow, so I want a simple system that is fast and stable. Currently, Redhat is running at a comfortable speed, but I am looking for something that will blow away the competition. So how is Gentoo? Is it stable? Is it fast in terms of responsiveness?

Thanks,
neoslimdog
klieber
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2002 12:37 pm    Post subject: Re: 56K Modem Installation Questions Reply with quote

"How fast" is a very subjective term. It's impossible for anyone to quantify exactly how fast you will perceive Gentoo to be on your machine. I've recently built Gentoo on an older PIII 500/128 and find it to be faster than the Debian sid installation that was on there previously.